We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took three meals here in two days - all OK”
Review of Patisserie Valerie

Patisserie Valerie
Ranked #18 of 20 Dessert in Oxford
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Lovingly handmade cakes
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Took three meals here in two days - all OK”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I spent three days in Oxford. This shop/restaurant is easily found, having a prominent location in "The High". Good food. Pleasant atmosphere. Some staff were young and inexperienced, but tried hard to provide good service. I recommend a table away from the main street door if the weather is at all cold - the door has no self-closing device and there is a steady flow of customers buying take-away.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S-Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    91
    63
    35
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“This branch is not impressive”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We really like the food in the Patisserie Valerie cafe's but this branch has some faults. Although the place was only half full when we arrived we were ignored by the 2 male staff for sometime. When we were seated it was a full 10 minutes and 2 visits to ask politely for service before our order was taken. There was only 1 waiter and the other man behind the counter seemed more interested in counting money and cleaning the counter than helping serve. Our food was fine although the cakes had a slight crust but it was evening so perhaps they had been out all day. Other customers were restless too and it was irritating when we had to play hunt the waiter each time we needed something. Our table was then cleared before we had finished and we had to request our half finished drink back! I usually leave a tip but did not do so here as it was not earned. It was also very draughty and we will not rush back here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judge80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good location and service”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Quaint place with tasty desert. Good for people watching, service was great and friendly. Went there for a quick coffee while exploring the town. Only had dessert but you can also have a meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khiajosina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good for high tea”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was cold today and raining. Two experiences that I don't like together. So, my wife and I ducked in for some tea and scones. It hit the spot. Despite how busy they were, we were attended to fairly quickly. Both of us felt better. We did notice that the couple next to us did not leave a tip. I have asked a few of my English friends about this, and the consensus is that we should leave 10 percent. The people wpok hard and deserve the tip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Maybe we just came on an 'off day', but it was a little disappointing. There was no one to greet customers at the door, so despite waiting patiently for a table, when one became available it was given to customers who had just walked in straight past the queue. No bacon available: disappointing on a sunday morning, especially when it's on several of the menu options. I think they must have been a little understaffed as service was slow, we waited a long time for a bill before someone came with the card machine and had to disappear to find how much we owed. However, despite poor service the food was good (although pretty expensive for what it is), lovely fresh juice and nicely presented pot of tea. There are better places nearby to go...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Valerie also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Patisserie Valerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing