We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Brasenose College
from $21.19
More Info
from $19.86
More Info
from $33.09
More Info
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
15
11
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
11
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining hall quad century college library
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 32 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2017

Yet another fabulous college of the university.
This is not a large college but has produced some very important people in its history.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Adventurers049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here last week for Oxford UNIQ's summer school, sleeping in the Frewin annexe and eating in the main Brasenose dining hall. Our rooms were reasonably sized and cleaned regularly. Some had en suites, but even those that did not only had to share a bathroom between a maximum of 4 people. Plus, every room had a little personal sink tucked behind a cupboard door.
The food became a little monotonous: every morning the breakfast included scrambled eggs, american bacon/sausage, a tomato and some variant of potato. Basic options like toast also did not seem available. Dinner, however, was usually a lot more enjoyable and varied.
The JCR is lovely, if a little bit cramped, and there are plenty of activities to keep you busy.
All staff I encountered were friendly and professional, striving to make our stay the best. My only issue, which may not be resolvable due to the nature of the buildings, is that staircases and other steps were not always highlighted, making navigation as a partially sighted person quite difficult. Also, when sleeping in the Frewin annex, be aware that many of the rooms overlook one of the backstreets of Oxford, so you are likely to experience shouting and other street noise throughout the night.
Overall, though, a lovely college that I would definitely consider returning to.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank rachelc673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

This place is unbelievable, right out of a storybook. The college functions as a B&B during the summer months, and the price and location and friendly staff and VIEW can’t be beat. As I sat in my student room on the old quad, a young Chinese couple arrived with their photographers for their wedding photos, it’s that gorgeous. It’s something you really have to see to believe. Sure, there must be great hotels in Oxford, but none has this experience, and for my teenager, who is considering applying to Oxford, the chance to stay in an actual student room is priceless. Highly highly recommend.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Paigeturner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017 via mobile

Founded in 1509 Brasenose College takes its name from a brass or bronze doorknob adorning the front door. A college library and chapel were added in the mid 17th century when the dining hall was also renovated to accommodate a wine cellar below. The New Quad dates from the late 19th and early 20th centuries. In 2010 a major refurbishment project began which has included restoring medieval kitchens dating from the 15th century which now serve as an additional dining space. Law is a particularly strong subject as is P.P.E. studied here by the former U.K. PM David Cameron and current Australian PM Malcolm Turnbull. Another famous alumni is Michael Palin.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank futtock21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2017

Founded in 1509, Brasenose College is one of the many beautiful colleges that comprise the University of Oxford.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank RLWOrangePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews