We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/04/21
Booking.com
$121
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/04/21
Trip.com
$111
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/01/21
Mercure$134
Hotels.com$134
Destinia.com$141
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,537)
Filter reviews
1,537 results
Traveler rating
448
568
342
114
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
448
568
342
114
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high street privilege room car park merton college old building central location excellent location eggs benedict within easy walking distance comfortable hotel centre of town cooked breakfast examination england pubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 1,537 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel many times before as both our children were studying at Oxford. This time we were visiting for my son’s graduation and also my birthday. We have always been pleased with the hotel and this time was no exception. We were pleasantly surprised to have received an upgrade to the Ruskin suite, which was fabulous - very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and large room. The room was very beautiful. The location is excellent - it’s right off the High Street. They have their own car park or it is under 10 minutes from the station by car. All the sites of Oxford are on the doorstep. The hotel is always clean and comfortable and the staff are always welcoming and very professional.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank 13lizw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWatt, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Dear 13Lizw

Thank you very much for your kind review following your recent stay at the hotel.

I trust you had an enjoyable birthday and a great day celebraing your son's graduation, a brilliant achievement. Please do pass on our warmest congratulations.

Oxford is a beautiful city and we are ideally located in the centre and surrounded by the wonderful of Oxfer University and its various colleges.

The Ruskin Suite is a lovely suite based on a DON's Study with all the nostalia of the city and the university.

Thank you again for your kind words, a great morale boost for the team and really appreciated

Kind regards

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019

Elegance when function and shape work well together!
This is in short what I can say about your hotel. My family and I are having a great time in Oxford and staying @Mercure made it unforgettable experience. Staff, food and location are spot on!

Highly recommended

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Amer_3420
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWatt, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2019

Dear Amer K,
Thank you for your kind review, really appreciated and a huge morale boost to the team.
I was pleased to note that you and your family have enjoyed your time in Oxford and the hotel, and that the team have assisted as much as possible in making your stay enjoyable.
Our new restaurant - Keepers Kitchen and Bar, which is totally different from before, and we are enjoying the new environment along with the challenges of a new layout.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we trust you had a safe journey home
Kind regards
Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

We just wanted to get away from London at least for couple of days. What a big surprise! This hotel is very cosy and more than that it has an amazing location, lovely bar/restaurant and very friendly staff. All I can say is come to visit them as mush as possible! 10/10! Well done guys!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 1Robertox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWatt, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2019

Dear 1Robertox

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel.

Oxford is a busy and vibrant city and we are at present very lucky to have parking on site, it is an added bonus for the hotel.

We have now moved into our new restaurant - Keepers Kitchen and Bar, which is totally different from before and we are enjoying the new environment along with the challenges of a new layout.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we trust you had a safe journey home

Kind regards

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2019 via mobile

We were in oxford for university open days....this hotel was very centrally located and walking distance to most colleges and the city centre.

Staff were very helpful and always smiling.

Breakfast was great.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank ShenrekaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWatt, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2019

Dear SkenrekaP

Thank you for your kind, really appreciated and a huge morale boost for the team.

Oxford is a beautiful and historic city and we are located in the centre directly opposite the main examination hall and surrounded by a number of various colleges for Oxford university.

We have now moved into our new restaurant - Keepers Kitchen and Bar, which is totally different from before and we are enjoying the new environment along with the challenges of a new layout.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we trust you had a safe journey home

Kind regards

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019 via mobile

Great little hotel, very friendly staff and good food. Parking not ideal and £20 per night parking fee that we were not aware of.
Loved Oxford, a small compact Cambridge.
Defiantly worth a visit.
It was final exam week when we went and boy there was some fun had.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWatt, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2019

Dear Diane,
Thank you for your kind review, I was pleased to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that the team had been very friendly and helpful.
Oxford is a busy and vibrant city and we are at present very lucky to have parking on site, it is an added bonus for the hotel.
We have now moved into our new restaurant - Keepers Kitchen and Bar, which is totally different from before and we are enjoying the new environment along with the challenges of a new layout.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we trust you had a safe journey home
Kind regards
Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews