We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed November 26, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank aclubmember
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Expensive, but good value given the location, an easy stroll down to Broad Street etc. Very courteous service and nice room. En suite beautiful but let down by Travel Lodge quality toilet paper.
English breakfast not cheap at nearly £16 per person, but very nicely cooked. Slightly taken aback by the tiny amount of butter we received on request, as only Flora available by the toasting station. We were on holiday after all, and everyone deserves a decent amount of butter on their toast as an occasional treat!
Valet car parking good and, for Oxford, reasonable rates.
We didn't eat in the hotel as we were going to New Theatre and decided to go to Ask which is just across the road, so cannot comment about quality of food other than brekks.
Maybe it needs to change its address to Merton Street as this is where the entrance to hotel and car park is situated. I'm just glad I google mapped at street level otherwise we'd have been completely lost.
Overall, a very nice trip and stay at the Eastgate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Yvonne C

Thank you for your positive feedback following your stay with us at the Mercure Eastgate Hotel.

Thank you also for your constructive comments and suggestions.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Iain Waite GM

Iain Waite GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I think this hotel is probably existing on its past reputation - which used to be very good indeed - and on the presence of a restaurant which from the street virtually masks the hotel. Although the room was reasonably well-appointed and reasonably clean, the general decor definitely needed refreshing. And at £113 per night for a small single room, I would not expect to have to pay £15.95 extra for my breakfast. A real mistake to make this charge, when there are so many excellent coffee shops within 2 minutes' walk!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dera Jbl R

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel.
I was glad to read that you found your room well appointed and clean.We believe that we charge a fair rate in line with most hotels in the city. Like many hotels our rates are quoted exclusive of breakfast. However should you be visiting us again , a pre- booked breakfast can be purchased for £10.00pp.
Thank you for your comments

kind regards

Iain Waite GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

It took a couple of walks up and down the street to notice it wasn't a restaurant but indeed the hotel! So please take the street around the corner, a couple of doors further and you're there. The staff was quick to do the check-in, and very friendly. It is an old building (historic center of Oxford) so stairs and hallways are bit old. But the room was nice and clean with a good size bathroom. Free wifi is a plus, just as the nice breakfast buffet. Location is splendid, everything in walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear NL cycle

Thank you for your positive feedback following your visit to the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Iain Waite GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We may have been VERY UNLUCKY because although we reserved 2 months in advance through Accor International site we were given 2 terrible rooms in the third floor which we reached climbing a steep flight of stairs after the lift on the second floor. We were a group of 4 people over 70 but this didn't deter the reception in giving us rooms on the third floor. When I complained about climbing the stairs the lady at reception argued that I should have written it as a special requirement when booking. But, the description of the hotel says it has a lift so I couldn't possible imagine climbing stairs to reach my room. Besides, to be truthful, then I should have required also not to have a room in the attic to bump my head on the ceiling several times during my 2 day stay, not to have a room with dirty and smelly carpets, not to have a badly appointed old bathroom with a flush that didn't work properly. In fact I should have required not to have the worst rooms in the hotel and the worst room I have ever stayed in my life. When asked to change the rooms the lady at the reception told us the hotel was full! What is the point then to book 2 months in advance? To my surprise a group of young people arrived on the second day of my stay and were given rooms on the second floor. I don't know why we were chosen to be the unlucky ones but from now on I will doubt when booking a Mercure hotel if it will meet Mercure standards. This one, because the rooms given to us, didn't meet any standard even the lowest one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMXS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear MMXS

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Mercure Eastgate Hotel.
At the outset ,please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you experienced in relation to the location of your bedrooms.
A number of factors influence the allocation of rooms, ie: room type, guest requirement/ requests,lenghth of stay etc, On reading your feedback I regret that you were allocated 3 rd floor rooms, whilst it was not possible to move you on this occassion the matter should have been handled more sympathetically by the receptionist.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies for the aforementioned and should you be visting Oxford in the future ,please contact me directly and I will personally ensure that you have a much improved visit.

Kind Regards

Iain Waite GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank EricBrisley
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We may have been lucky. We were given two rooms on the second floor. One was good (spacious and overlooking a college) and the other was acceptable (a little cramped and overlooking some large ventilation equipment and a small car park).

Both were well equipped, clean and in good condition for rooms in a building of this age. It would be possible to pick fault but at the rate we got and with the excellent service at reception and in the lounge, it would be unfair. This hotel proved to be a very good choice particularly given the ideal location for exploring Oxford.

The hotel car park is reached by turning into a side road just before the menacing car restrictions prominent in this area of Oxford. Miss the turning and if you are too early in the day, you’ll be driving on roads that don’t welcome you and probably hemmed in by buses, bicycles and police cars. Once parked (at £15 per 24 hours), you are well located. You leave your car keys at reception and at busy times I envisage they have all sorts of fun maximising the use of the available space. During our trip, the car park was reasonably uncluttered.

Complimentary WiFi was unexpected and welcome. Bar service was good and prices reasonable but if the hotel catering doesn't tempt you, it is rare to have so many good alternatives within easy walking distance. This will be the hotel we check first for availability and price for future visits.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItsJustMyOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear ItsjustMyOpinion

Thank you for your positive feedback following your visit to the Mercure Eastgate Hotel.

Your comments are most valuable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Iain Waite GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
2.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,215 reviews
2.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
736 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $156 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing