We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great position and staff and breakfast are not quite enough.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great position and staff and breakfast are not quite enough.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

As many reviewers mention the High Street position is very convenient. Our room had good views of the historic examination rooms opposite. The private secure car park is a bonus- once one has negotiated the narrow entrance. Staff will retrieve cars if asked.
The hotel has history and a sense of it but is also slightly tired in decoration and furnishing. Our room/suite size was more than adequate.
The staff were friendly yet obviously professional. We booked B.B. and evening meal and at a most reasonable rate. Unfortunately the food was of mixed quality some good and some not well prepared. The staff were caring and responsive but very fatty lamb and warm salty ice cream could have ruined an evening. The restaurant manager was perfect in his response of apology and free drinks but the food should not have left the kitchen. Breakfast was much better and perfectly presented with an excellent choice.
We would stay again for the position and staff and in the belief that the kitchen situation was to be resolved.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianeustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Brianeustice
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us.
I was sorry to learn of your poor dining experience and I will address this with the Kitchen team.
Thank you for your positve feedback on all other aspects of your stay.

Kind tregards

Iain Waite GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    429
    263
    78
    44
See reviews for
171
425
103
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bovingdon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We chose this hotel for its fantastic location right in the centre of Oxford near to absolutely everything. The room was clean, well-appointed and large (we went for one of the executive rooms) we also ate in the restaurant - food great and service good.The only slight gripe - they closed the bar really early and were looking to get packed away even though there were still people in the bar. Only 11ish - hardly late for a hotel bar. I also think the hotel was just a little over-priced - but then again one has to pay for such a great location.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view and a larger space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsWBovingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear MrandMrsWBovin.
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us.
I note your comments on the operation of the Bar and I will review our operataing procedures.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Iain Waite GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

You can't really beat this location. Right on the high street.
Our room was at the front of the hotel, so lovely view of the high street if a little noisy early morning. The room was an upgraded one, not sure of the name, but was very clean.
We were given a free glass of wine and canapés during the evening which was a nice touch. The deputy manager Karen was very pleasant and went out of her way, unprompted, to find a map and the name of a local Chinese restaurant for us.
The only downside was the cost of the room, but given we booked this as an impromptu trip the day before, and looking at the market rates in general for oxford, I think it was the going rate. We would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Kayrich8

Thank you for your positive feedback following your stay at the Mercure Eastgate Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

iain Waite GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The reason we chose this hotel was due to the location. It is centrally situated on the High Street. It is within walking distance of the station ( even with luggage). Our room was comfortable with kettle, hair drier, bathroom sundries ie shampoo, shower gel and lotion. We took advantage of the early evening dinner of £9.95 for 2 courses, served between 6 and 7pm. The meals were adequate, although my husband felt his helping of chips with his fish was somewhat meagre! There was also an offer of a complimentary glass of wine if the reservation for our table was made by reception......we took this as well.
Oxford of course is full of history , impressive architecture etc. Our visit was for a personal reason, and the hotel was ideal for our needs. We will not hesitate to book here again when we visit again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Jean M

Thank you for your positive feedback following your stay with us.
I will review your comments in relation to the size of the main dish served.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Eastgate Hotel.

Kind regards

Iain Waite GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Family booked three Executive Rooms for our stay. Two rooms were ok but third was not executive. The hotel is very central and is ideally located for exploring Oxford. The bar, restaurant are all pleasant and airy. The service and food quality in both is above average with a good quality breakfast. The rooms are very average and could do with a refurb. Good service from the pleasant staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owainsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Owainsworld,

Thank you for your positive feedback following your stay with us.
I was sorry to learn that one room did not meet your expextations.In general all other aspects of your visit were good and thank you for your kind comments about the staff.

Kind Regards

Iain Waite GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#10 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Property: Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing