We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated for visiting colleges and other places of interest and this is reflected in the price. In June it was quiet and the service was efficient. The room was on the 3rd floor which is not serviced by the lift beyond the 2nd floor. As a single room it was compact but clean and well equipped, even down to a Nespresso coffee machine.The public areas were attractively furnished and included a lounge and a restaurant.
The early evening meal was good and excellent value for money. Overall it was a good experience and I would return.

Room Tip: Looking out on Mercure Street was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    428
    263
    78
    44
See reviews for
171
425
103
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in 2 Executive Twin rooms with another couple at the start of our visit to England. The hotel's location just off Oxford's High Street meant that we could walk to anywhere in the center of Oxford in just a few minutes. The rooms were large, clean, bright, with huge bay windows with 2 comfortable chairs for relaxing. Because my husband is a member of Accor's frequent traveler club our room was equipped with free bottled water, bathrobes and WiFi. . .everyone should join hotels frequent traveler clubs since you reap so many extra benefits. . . The beds were a little on the soft side but the linens were good with light duvets and both feather and foam pillows. The bathrooms are huge. The public areas of the hotel are modern and appeared to be recently renovated. Tea, served in the lobby area, was quite good. Breakfast offers cooked to order hot items as well as a continental buffet. There are a large number of restaurants, pubs, and cafes nearby serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff of the hotel is very friendly and very helpful. This hotel is quite a bargain when you take advantage of one of their pay in advance packages.
Just on caveat for people staying in late May and early June . . . the hotel is across the street from the Examination Halls used by Oxford colleges. . . the tradition is for students to celebrate quite loudly after completing an exam . . . which flowers, confetti, champagne and a bottle or two of beer or ale . . .it can get a little loud and a little rowdy . . . we generally found it charming . . .but others might just find it noisy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank azone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed at the Mercure Oxford before about four months ago, it is a lovely hotel in an old building, rooms are very nice and they have a very comfortable bar. On top of that it is in a wonderful spot to see Oxford, just off of the High Street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Eastgate is a touch of he old world, with wonderful, modern people and services. The reception staff is incredibly helpful, in every way. The restaurant is excellent. Thank you for making my stay an unfortgetable experience. I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank stalcuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel is down a side street overlooking the College where the students perform all their exams for Oxford Uni. It was fascinating to see them dressed up and all cramming before going in. The hotel itself was great, the rooms were a good size and it was conveniently located to walk to around and see the sites of Oxford. Whilst breakfast was included, the service was a slightly disjointed it was difficult to establish who was in charge and therefore orders was mixed up and service was slow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTS_29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The location of the hotel was the main attraction with it being in the heart of Oxford city centre; the car park too was a rare find in such a 'anti car' city. Booking two rooms well in advance for pre graduation we were offered a good deal if we paid up front. Checking in to reception after a lengthy drive we were keen to unpack and relax, but this was delayed as the receptionist would rather tidy her desk than acknowledge us. No smile and answering the phone mid check in is not customer service and first impressions count for everything. Rooms were large and had great bathrooms. Sleep was made restless with a picture falling off the wall and my partner being bitten by an insect in the night! For what we needed, a sleep and a place to get changed, it was ideal.
The hotel keeps hold of your car keys so when you get into your car the next day - before setting off be sure to check the seat and mirror positioning as they don't readjust it!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysEatYourGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
219 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked two rooms for our family travelling, this hotel is in a great location with a great Lounge bar. We returned late after a night out and enjoyed the friendliness of the bar staff. The rooms were compact but comfortable. The car park is a tight squeeze to get into but for £15 it is worth it for convenience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank kiwiguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Property: Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing