We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bad Value for money”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

There were cobwebs across the ceiling of our room and sheets and pillows weren't of a very nice quality. Judging by the number of cars in the car park there weren't many people staying in the hotel the night we visited but we were placed next door to another couple. This wouldn't have been a problem but for the fact that the walls were so thin that we ended up hearing everything that was going on next door. This made sleeping quite difficult. We were very happy with the complementary hot chocolates and flapjacks, and all the bath products. And the bathroom was very clean as was the bed. I would have been happy with this hotel if i had spent a lot less on it I think. However I can't fault the location, for a hotel as close to the city centre as it was, it was a lot less expensive than some of the other options and enabled us to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The staff were friendly and there were lots of lovely restaurants to eat at near by. Overall I did enjoy my stay, but I think we probably ought to have asked to move rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jaffacakeface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    432
    264
    79
    44
See reviews for
172
426
104
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in March.

The location is excellent and easy to find. Staff seemed all very friendly, the room was small, however, was clean and had adequate facilities. TV good, iron, tea and coffee making etc. Heating worked really well, which was needed given the weather! Bathroom was the best part of the room, very spacious.

We also ate in the restaurant connected to the hotel, The High Table. Was very impressed with food / service.

All in all a deserved 4 out of 5. Some of the negative comments on here have surprised me somewhat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear united kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Well, it was hard to find this hotel on foot as its not well signposted and a fellow traveller in a car never found it, had to park elsewhere and walk to the hotel. They charge fifteen quid a night for parking mind! Its next to Magdalen College and steeped in history. Rooms are small but comfortable, but heating requires some ingenuity to work it out. The room was a little shabby in places, around the bath etc, near window sills, needs to be refreshed. The kettle looked rather knackered too! The lounge area has lovely chairs and prints on the wall, but please replace that awful fake bookcase wallpaper with real books. Breakfast- plenty of choice. Scrambled eggs more like an omelette but I will praise the eggs benedict which were perfect. Staff are friendly and helpful and there is free wifi too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thequiettraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

That the hotel is convenient is certainly true, but at £170 a night without breakfast you want a bit more than simple convenience. The room was fine, the bed comfortable, but at £170 you want it to be more than fine. No bathrobe, pubic hair in the bath, a completely empty mini-bar - not even a bottle of water. If you want such fripperies you have to buy one of the hotel's 'mini-bar packages', there's an obligatory £5-tray charge for room service, which seems particularly extortionate when the breakfast tray arrives with no cutler and no butter. No should the response when this is queried be 'I'll check with the kitchen.' The right response is 'I'll send them up straightaway.' Perhaps spend a little more money on staff training and less on swishy orchids in reception.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelsarelovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

London, England
Level Contributor
234 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location for all the sites but all-in-all just a little dull! Small rooms and top floor up a steep and narrow flight of steps . OK but best on a deal! Restaurant chaotically busy in morning with a long wait whilst empty in evenings.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yanhLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

An overnight stay. £175 for dinner b&b not good value at all. A little tricky to find by car but there is parking. However you will be charged £15 as if you haven't paid enough. A fine historical building but is now in need of a major refit if the hotel is to compete or maintain its claimed 4*. Everything was very average and the bathroom grubby. Food ok.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndiB796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear AndiB796,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Mercure Eastgate Hotel.
I am dissappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations.
We appreciate any feedback, to ensure we always improve our service to exceed our guest's expectations and I will share your comments with the management team.

Kind Regards,

Karin Snoek
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights at the Eastgate, as its known locally. No one had any idea what we were talking about when we said the mercure. Anyway, we arrived early (flight from the us) and while fully booked the night before the staff did their best to get us in our rooms early. My mother stayed in a single, fine, but small. Our double was good. Have to agree with other reviewers, rooms need some sprucing up/modernizing. The lobby is nice, good for a tea in the afternoon or a nightcap in the evening (try the Monkey Shoulder). We liked the breakfast, lots of choice and good quality. Excellent location for exploring Oxford.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyDCandBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Ashley DC
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Guest feedback is important to us and allows us to the opportunity to improve the service for our guests.
Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,738 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Property: Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing