We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting the dreaming spires”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Visiting the dreaming spires”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good position for visiting Oxford, walking distance of all landmarks. Very expensive parking.
Room adequate but small. Nice lounge area and helpful staff. Stairs very steep if you are not very physically able as lift only goes to second floor. Generally a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco6543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    431
    264
    79
    44
See reviews for
172
425
104
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked this hotel primarily because of a combination of location and price and we were not disappointed. On the high street it is very well placed for most of what Oxford has to offer, being with 10 minutes walk of most places of interest. The room was spacious - enough room to sit comfortably around a small table and equipped as you'd expect for a Mercure hotel. The bathroom was a good combination of 'old' (black and white tiles & 'Edwardian' sink) and 'new' - a decent shower over the bath. The window sill was a bit worse for wear and in need of a repaint, though. Hanging room and drawer space was good enough for a short stay (2-4 days), though for longer stays could be. problematic. One improvement could be the addition of coat hooks by the door - nowhere to hang wet clothes other than in the wardrobe. We liked the bar area which had a good, but limited selection of drinks - but don't expect too much from the restaurant (see separate review). Though for some a bit expensive the fact that there is a car park on site - even at £15 a day - is a bonus I think, but be prepared to leave your keys & for your car to be moved around as they really do maximise the space available. Overall we are already thinking of a return trip (perhaps when the weather is a little bit warmer) and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My daughters and I have just returned after a one night stay at The Mecure and it was very enjoyable. It was a little tricky to find, but once there the reception staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. The guy behind the bar and the breakfast waiting staff were equally pleasant. The location is within easy walking distance of the city centre, in a quiet side street. The only niggle would be that the radiators in the rooms (we had 3 singles on the top floor) gurgled and dripped internally all night and the mattresses were covered with plastic backed protectors - not good for a comfortable nights sleep. All that said, I would recommend The Meure to anyone staying in Oxford as a middle priced, good 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddycat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Teddycat2
Thank you for writing a review. Delighted you found my staff helpful and friendly. Sorry about the radiators which my engineer is checking out.
best Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Small hotel with central location.

I had a well proportioned double room with ensuite. Free Wife. Room was at the back of the hotel with the view of an aluminium air duct blocking any rear view.

I would go back if I was in town on business.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZZHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had stayed at the Eastgate before and had a nice time, but the last trip? The service was so bad and the room unclean and unfinished that I decided this was no longer a hotel, but a front for money-laundering or something. I mentioned this to a girl at the Front Desk and she began a sob story about how over worked she was, how bad her week had been, and lots of other very inappropriate conversation. I visit Oxford fairly frequently but will not stay here again despite its history and great location.

Room Tip: Choose a good room? Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatwardgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The location is really plus for this hotel. Otherwise we did not like the room. Being on Friday, there was lot of noise outside and windows are not noise proof. We could hear in the room what the people on road are discussing. Needless to say that our sleep was not good that night. After staying in so many other hotels, this hotel did not impress us from room appearance and comfort. The staff is nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edin_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel for one night last weekend.
It was in a great location only minutes for the centre of town by foot.
It has a main bus route just a few steps away and the buses are cheap and frequent.
The room was clean and warm and the staff were friendly and helpful.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for its ideal location and in my opinion great value for money. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaK186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
672 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
683 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Property: Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing