We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Nearby Hotels
$299
$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$318
$310
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$234
$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$112
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$173
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
$96
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$105
$99
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,172)
Filter reviews
1,172 results
Traveler rating
281
469
285
89
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
469
285
89
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh streetcar parkprivilege roomexamination schoolsmarco pierre whitemerton collegeold buildingcentral locationthird floorper dayexcellent locationeggs benedictwithin easy walking distanceon site parkingbreakfast was excellenttwo night stayno lift
Filter
Updating list...
732 - 737 of 1,172 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed Christmas eve, and Christmas night. Sleep quality i.e linens, pillows, mattress all excellent. Our room on the third floor at the very far end over looked the High Street and was larger than we had expected. The bathroom was twee - patterned tiles, but the water pressure from shower, disappointing. Had we stayed longer we might have complained or asked to move.
Staff were efficient, and pleasant enough, breakfast included freshly cooked hot options - eggs benedict - were excellent, and fresh fruit nice. If breakfast isn't included if you reserve the day before its £10 for a four star hotel which isn't bad. Overnight parking at £15 is convenient if not particularly cheap.
We were visiting family and I grew up in Oxford but the short stay tourist couldn't wish for a more historic building and central location for all the sights.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you are able to get a discount rate then this hotel represents good value for a stay in Oxford. The location is fantatstic, on the High Street but not too close to noisy bars and clubs. The bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. Staff are efficient and helpful if not exactly warm and friendly.

However, If I had paid full rate for this hotel I would have been very disappointed. We stayed in a standard double on the top floor. The room was smaller than an average hotel double room but it is an old hotel and the rooms seem to be all differing sizes. The problems were all with the bathroom. The paint was peeling off the walls, there was no shower just an attachment that you had to hold over your head and very erratic plumbing with the water changing from scalding hot to freezing cold while you are in the shower. Other little problems included undrinkable water in the bathroom as it is an old building with old plumbing, the water was so horrible that it made the tea and coffee undrinkable. I then had to pay £3 for drinking water which should really have been provided for free. The pillows and duvet were old fashioned feather filled ones which the staff did kindly change for modern, synthetic ones when I explained that my partner was allergic. this must be a fairly common problem but it did take the staff almost an hour to locate replacement bedding.

the hotel charges £15 a day for parking and £12 a day for Internet access. So, if you can get a discount rate, arrive by public transport, live without wi fi for a night and stock up on drinking water at Tesco then this hotel represents decent value for money. We would think about returning next time we visit Oxford.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ali3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Ali 3240
Thank you for completing a review. My apologies for the plumbing shortcomings which have been attended by our plumber.Sadly there are a few rooms with bath only and these will be changed when we commence our refurbishment later in the year. Although the hotel is old none of the plumbing is more than 20 years and several floors were totally replaced in the last refurbishement 6 years ago. We are happy to provide fresh mains water on reguest at no cost. At the time of your stay standard rooms came with 10 hours free wifi and as of 1st January all wifi charges have been scrapped. Carparking in Oxford is difficult to find and overnight parking can cost up to £33. Demand for car parking at the hotel outstrips supply and we do charge for secure parking.Feather pillows have been a feature of this hotel though we do place 2 fibre pillows in the wardobes. Most rooms have fibre duvets and I am sorry for any delay in exchanging your duvet.
I do hope we will see you again when you next visit Oxford.
Best Wishes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

A nice and cozy hotel. Quite simple but what else do you need - a good bed in a warm room, right?) if yes, then this is the right place for you. It's close to Main Street with various sights and shops. Easy to get to by bus No5 from train station. Get off at Queens Lane and wall straight ahead for about 50 meters cross the street and then turn right. The hotel is is 4th or 5th bld. Enjoy!:)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Helenroze
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the Eastgate most convenient for those travelling to Oxford from London or Heathrow.Both services are excellent and close to the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming back to the Eastgate when you next visit Oxford
Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Mercure is very centrally located in Oxford, down the High Street, close to the Botanical Gardens and some very nice cafes and restaurants. The hotel entrance is not actually on the High Street, but just back along one of the side streets. The bedroom was small - that's not uncommon in many British hotels - but very well designed and comfortable, and cosy and warm on what was a very cold night. Check in service was slow (there was only one member of staff on duty on the Saturday afternoon), but that wasn't a problem when I checked out the next day. The bar staff serving afternoon tea could not have been more helpful. I travel regularly to Oxford and this was my first time at the Mercure - I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZetaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Zeta London
Many thanks for your review and for the detail contain therein which was a great help to us. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Eastgate when you next have occasion to visit Oxford.
Best Wishes for the Festive Season
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed two nights. Reception staff helpful, informative and friendly. Location is ideal if arriving from London by car. Parking is £15 per night, but in this city, that is worth the money. Room was a good size. Bed comfortable. Shower was hot. Bathroom modern and in good condtion. Room spotless. Hotel lounge is a good size but nowhere is there a seat with a good enough light to read a book.. Arrived for breakfast within 30 minutes of published 9.30 a.m. closing time, but staff obviously wanted to clear up and go, so recommend either go down earlier or eat out. Accor policy of charging heavily for Wifi is a PR own-goal and will drive away repeat business to the many other premises that offer it free. This is an old-fashioned hotel that has no special charm or attraction apart from its location. It's expensive for what it offers.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel risk early morning disturbance from passing traffic including heavy vehicles.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S-Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear SylviaMilan
Thank you for your review and the detail contained therein.I have asked that in future lighting is increased to allow guests to read in comfort. 10 hours of free wifi is currently available but as a group all wifi will be complimentary.Breakfast hours at weekends are extended but I shall review our current times. I hope that you will return to the eastgate when the occasion arises.
Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews