We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, gets the job done”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night in October.
Pros:
Great location near the High Street and the University
Helpful staff (the front desk girl actually parked our car for us when we had apprehensions about getting our somewhat large rental car through the car park entrance!)
Good breakfast for 8 pounds
Cons:
TV was difficult to work
Room was small, although for one night it didn’t matter that much

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cew5x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,104 reviews

An Accor traveler
3
Reviewed November 3, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A lovely hotel right in the centre of oxford. Conveniently located for all the colleges. The rooms were a little small for 3, but very clean and comfortable. However more staff are needed in reception. The hotel runs a valet carpark service and the poor people on reception are expected to do this too. You really need a full time member of staff doing this job; allocating spaces upon arrival and moving cars around. Parking is £15 per day stay, this sounds a lot but to be honest isn't when you see the lack of parking in oxford. Would stay here again though.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank elaine61gcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tidda
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Excellent location, right in the heart of 'old' oxford within easy walking distance of the key attractions. The lobby and bar are attractive and give a very good first impression, but the reception staff were, quite frankly, a bit snooty. A colleague stayed on the first floor and said her room was great. Our room was a twin at the ground floor with views over the car park, and was very tired and in need of a refurb. The electricity switched off in the night and when I reported it on checkout, I was chastised for not having reported it sooner!

Fine for business but I would have been disappointed if I had paid these rates for a leisure stay. It is a shame as with a relatively small effort, this could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welsh_Canucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Small and pokey rooms that were a bit dirty around the edges. Small and uncomfortable beds that left me with a sore back. Not worth the £135 i paid and that didn't even include breakfast. Not value for money. Only positive that it is a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inhove01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for sparing the time to complete a review. I am sorry the single room booked did not meet your expectations, we do try to accurately describe our smaller rooms as cosy though, we do have larger rooms which command a higher rate. We believe we campare favourably with the other city centre hotel on price.The hotel generally scores highly for cleanliness of bedrooms, 98.6% in the latest un-announced AA bedroom audit but we shall correct this lapse.
Yours sincerely
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I spent at this hotel 2 days and everything, from the rooms to the breakfast, was utterly unimpeachable. However, I had a pretty bad experience which makes me feel not coming back ever again. The lady from the Reception (I only know her first name, Carmen), who was always bothered and irritated towards me, did not pay attention to my voucher at the check-in and I found myself nearly thrown out of my room, because she thought I only had 1 night paid. In front of the room there were already new customers who did not know what to do. Luckily, my agency was able to send an email and to find a solution to this situation. I personally believe that unless some measures are being taken, the hotel will have to suffer, despite its great services.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Anca M

Thank you for completing a review and while pleased that the services provided were unimpeachable, I was disappointed that my staff came across as uncaring. I assure you we will take steps to correct this.
Sincerely
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
722 reviews
2.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $156 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing