We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The hotel is located just on Hight Street, close to all tourist attractions and the bus stop to go to London. The single room I booked was tiny but clean. The rooms in the third floor can only be accessed by stairs. I did not mind but for me people it can be relevant. The air conditioner worked pretty well. I really have no complaints about this hotel. Just what I was looking for.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliobsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel is near all the historic buildings, and also near the river and meadows.

Breakfast was relatively simple, yet very good and we liked the restaurant staff.

On the other hand, our room (212) was small, the reception staff were sometimes good sometimes not, parking was expensive and charging for WiFi is plain mean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northern_fellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Had a very good stay with family. Hotel ideally situated for the Sheldonian (graduation ceremony) and most colleges. Convenient parking for the weekend.
Service in breakfast let the hotel down a bit - staff not very attentive. Receptionists top class, though.
Bathroom huge and clean.
Ask for a street view if you want to see the exam candidates being "trashed"!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seefelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Staff very helpful, rooms are very clean, no complaints about breakfast.
Situated in the centre of the city.
Price for private parking is high.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravenwood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Overall pleased, nice room, quiet street (we did not face the High Street), good bathroom with towel warmer. Yum. But really, £4 per hour for wireless? That's ridiculous.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lookingforlunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are currently reviewing our WiFi charges in line with our competitors.
Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Location - fantastic, central, walking distance to city centre
Room - small and bed was too soft
Amenities - no free tooth brush sets in room nor at reception
Staff - indifferent and not helpful
Overall - too pricey for what you get

Room Tip: There are rooms at the back with no lift access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussierulesHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your reveiw on TripAdvisor.
Sorry you found the bed too soft, we do have firmer beds which can be allocated on request.
It is regretted that you found the staff unhelpful, this is currently being rectified through our Passion for Service programme.
Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

At the end of our UK trip, we decided to overnight in Oxford rather than stay at an airport hotel at Heathrow. I had only been to Oxford once before and it was many years before. We didn't really want to do the touristy thing, just be in the city.

Firstly, the location. On foot, you are very close to town. Within ten minutes you are able to get to everything you would want to see in Oxford. The negative of this location is that it is hard to get to by road. The road signs are not clear, many obvious access roads to the property are blocked to traffic during the day and although the address is High Street, the frontage (Shown in the main picture on the hotel's website and Tripadvisor) is actually on a sidestreet, so we drove past twice.

Once you get to the hotel, if you are parking, good luck. The access road to the rear of the property is NARROW. Obviously, in Oxford, the age of the buildings is an issue for such things, but you should be aware. I was driving a small car and still managed to scrape my alloy wheels on the kerb (Which resulted in a nice payment to Hertz). There is also a charge for parking. Teh parking is also a little awkward, due to space constraints, you will be blocked in by other vehicles... if you need to leave in a hurry in the morning, give yourself time, Reception keeps the keys of all cars, but there is little room for all the vehicles.

The room was nice, exactly as depicted in the brochure and the bed was delightfully comfortable.

One hour of free wifi was given, more could be purchased at reception.

We didn't eat in the bistro attached to the hotel but it did look nice... it did look like it was used by tour groups during the day.

The problem we had - which was never really resolved to our satisfaction, was the hot water. After driving from the East Midlands to Oxford, we parked the car and explored. Coming back to show and dress for dinner. However, there was NO hot water whatsoever. We were in a rush, so we washed up as best we could and headed out, informing reception on our way out.

The following morning we had to leave early for the drive to Heathrow, still no hot water. I called reception, the night reception said he was aware of the issue but it should have been resolved. Eventually he gave us a key for an empty room in another part of the hotel to shower in. At this point in time it was too late. I managed a VERY quick shower, my partner wasn't able to have one and boarded a 9 hour flight without showering since the morning before in Leicester.

I did receive an email from Mercure afterwards explaining that a boiler had gone out and caused the issue and an apology was offered.

Due to the issue and the way it was handled, I do not think I would chose to stay at this property again, which is a shame, as it is charming and well located.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oceanmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
720 reviews
2.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $175 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing