We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel in Oxford” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel in Oxford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Great hotel in centre. Lowly breakfast. Really great service and so friendly. We decided to have a bite to eat in the hotel bar but had just missed lunch, and the waitress went out her way to get some food for us.
We had the room at a cheap rate for a wedding that was happening there. Checking the 'real' rate once we were checking out it did seem quite high. but you do get what you pay for.

Oh - and very comfy bed!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arch_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Eastgate Townhouse when you next visit Oxford.

Best Wishes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    419
    258
    76
    43
See reviews for
167
417
102
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

The location of this hotel is excellent for exploring Oxford on foot. It is, however, a slight pain to get to mainly due to Oxford's pathological hatred of all motor vehicles except buses and the directions on the hotel website could do with more detail. Also please note that parts of the High Street are closed to cars during most of the day so make sure you plan your route accordingly - there is a back way along Merton Road to use rather than the High St. The hotel itself is clean and the bar and breakfast areas are nicely designed. The rooms are of a reasonable size without being particularly memorable - you could be in a hotel anywhere - there were in places some signs of paint flaking and some areas perhaps due a refresh. The staff especially at breakfast were polite and efficient. However, the hotel is not that cheap - I think Oxford as a whole is expensive - and there are some nasty extras - the website is very vague about parking - there is a car park with valet service which costs an additional £14 per night! I don't think we were aware of this at all until we actually arrived at the hotel. Breakfast is quite pricey unless you get it as part of your deal but had a nice selection. Overall this is a decent but not particularly exciting hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jethroxUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Mercure Eastgate Townhouse.
We are sorry that you found it difficult to find us. We do try to publicise a fee for secure parking at the hotel. As you can appreciate, parking facilities are limited in the Oxford city centre and we try to remain competitive against other parking facilities.

Best Regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

This hotel was located on a quiet street just off the main street of downtown Oxford. Directly across from the Testing College and a 10minute walk to Christ Church College---it is ideally located. Good friendly staff, nice room, excellent Breakfast (if that's part of your program). The Prix fix lunch was a bit up-scale and expensive. There is a nice sitting room and bar area. The adult beverages, are of course expensive in keeping with most full service hotels, these days.

The hotel room cost was expensive, but not more outlandish than others nearby. The hotel has an elevator, which is welcome for travelers like us with too much luggage. Within one block of the hotel are the bus stops---that included the Hop-On, Hop-Off bus as well as the direct bus to Heathrow Airport, that we used. Great sandwich shops and restaurants in the area. No need for a car here---but there is an auto park just behind the hotel. Easy access to many colleges, this was a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks onto the auto-park if you are seeking the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthBay_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Dear Guest
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Townhouse. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

This hotel, was not the worst hotel I've stayed in, but for what you get for the price it is the worst value for money hotel I have ever been.
Firstly I was disappointed we weren't treated the same as the couple in front of us, who were asked if they wanted newspaper, wake up call etc... I thought nothing of it and checked in to the room but had a feeling we were given the wrong room. I'm not a smoker myself, but I bought a smoking room and this was non-smoking - and nothing remotely like the pictures (please see my pictures of the room).

The room and hotel were a massive let down. Firstly the room - was a basic a travel lodge, which is fine, but we paid 2-3 times the price, and it wasn't any better looking in fact it was worse - again you see my pictures for the proof. It didn't even have a safe, and whats more nothing was included in the price, want wifi? Need to pay. breakfast? Need to pay. Car parking? Need to pay.

Aside from that the room was badly decorated, re-plastered, stains on the carpet, on the wardrobe, on the skirting boards, the windows were filthy and the aircon was listening to a car engine. Not to mention that anytime someone flushed the toilet in our room or next door it sounded like someone was knocking very loudly on the door.

I've stayed in Oxford before, and would advise anyone to either pay a bit more for something special like Mal Maison, or to spend less book the holiday inn and you'll have money left for taxi/bus rides.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Dear Guest
Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced during your stay with us. At the Eastgate Hotel we pride ourselves on quality and excellent customer service. As per the many other reviews you will see that this is an isolated incident as we score highly in the estimations of other guests.

I would appreciate it if you could contact me at your convenience to discuss the shortfalls and would welcome the oppurtunity to rectify the situation.

Kind Regards
Rooms Division Manager
h6668-fo@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We had no troubles or complaints – our room was not huge, but adequately sized, attractively furnished, quiet for sleeping with a comfortable bed and a good-sized bathroom. The location was brilliant, got parking in the rear lot and it was a short walk to decent restaurants and breakfast spots (the hotel breakfast was a bit dear so we went elsewhere).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan from Taranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We are glad you had a pleasant stay in Oxford and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Pash Naidoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Booked two rooms for last weekend. The rooms are compact but have everything one needs,
Reception team were very helpful with local information and we got our rooms straight away (12 noon check-in). Wonderful to be able to walk everywhere from the Hotel as the one way Oxford streets can be challenging for visitors. The Lobby Lounge and The Restaurant look nice but are soulless. Lots of outside choices in Oxford - try Gee's and restaurant on the roof at The Ashmolean Museum.

Room Tip: Have lunch at nearby Ashmolean Museum
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VLO99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent review and positive feedback on my staff.
We are glad you found our location suitable as this is definately our greatest asset. I was disappointed to read your feedback on the lounge and High Table restaurant, and hope, you get the oppurtunity to try it on your next visit as I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Kind Regards
Pash Naidoo
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Hotels in central Oxford are very limited and expensive this is really good value, with well ordered, comfortable rooms and spacious fine bathrooms. The staff are great, there is an immediately handy car park, a large lounge and bar, all in a quiet street which gives a real feel of historic Oxford right in the heart of town. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catrionascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Property: Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing