We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK place to stay, but be aware of there is no elevator.”
Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Oxford Hotel
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OK place to stay, but be aware of there is no elevator.”
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour. I don't know what the prices would be if booked by yourself.

This hotel was fine. I would warn people that there is no elevator and no bag handlers so those who have transportation issues would find this hotel difficult as it appeared to have no rooms on the first floor.

The rooms were nice enough. Clean and quiet. We did not face the street so I can't comment on noise one might hear from the street. It is a busy area though. The rooms were typical small European style. There is no air conditioning. If that is important to you, I would not recommend staying here.

The beds were comfortable and we slept well.

The hotel is in an ok area but is off the beaten path a bit. It is however, located right near the train station which could be appealing if traveling by train. There are some places to eat around the hotel and the hotel itself has a restaurant. We did not eat there except for breakfast.

Breakfast was included with our package and was tasty. You could choose the hot breakfast cooked for you or the cold breakfast bar. Food was good and plentiful if not a large variety.

Overall I would say this was a reasonable hotel but nothing outstanding. I would probably look for a hotel a bit closer to the tourist area if I were to stay in Oxford again.

  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anotherlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    311
    101
    23
    12
See reviews for
126
196
68
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Just come back from staying at this hotel for 1 night on a Saturday and had a very pleasant experience. Good, clean, modern rooms with air conditioning and the room had a new powerful shower which was perfect (maybe this was standard throughout?) . I've read all the reviews, the good and not so good and in my opinion this hotel is up there with some of the best ones I've stayed at. I was on the first floor and heard no noise from the bar on ground floor and the only minor points I can think of with this hotel is the lack of parking due to it's central location. The hotel has 3 spaces currently which it rents out to guest for £10 per night per space. I hired one of these which I found very convenient and a safe place to leave your car. The other thing is the price of the breakfast in the morning which I think was £11 each. I went for breakfast in a restaurant nearby as this hotel is so central, but if they made it a bit cheaper I would have been happy to eat at the hotel. On the whole I'd be more than happy to stay there again.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMuppetshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

close to oxford high street and plenty of eating places locally including a quality grill bar within the hotel. Rooms were spotless and as requested, our room was quiet - but without a view (i'd rather that than the traffic). Breakfast let the hotel down. plenty on the plate and a good choice but not very hot. we wrote this in our feedback and i hope they try to improve it.
where ever you stay in Oxford, try a meal at 'Big Bang' - it's a very popular bangers & mash (only) restaurant

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank whereyougoingnext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2007

I stayed in this hotel twice over a 1 month period. The first room i had was unbearably hot and had a very clunky pipe in it. Other than that the room was fine and spacious. The second room again was very warm, but its outlook on to the main road made opening the window impossible if we wanted peace! Neither room gave us the 'luxury' the hotel website promises.

The location of the hotel is excellent if, like us, being close to the station is a priority, otherwise I'm sure better hotels would be available in the price range.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trinaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress31, Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2007
Thank you for the comments and I would like to offer the following feedback.
Having checked with the Front of House and the Housekeeping departments if any complaints were received in the past few weeks regarding a room being too hot, I have been informed that there wasn't any. Furthermore, if only the customer had mentioned that the room was too hot to any of the hotel's employee, we would have had the chance to politely point out that there is air-conditioning available in every hotel bedroom, which very effectively cools the rooms down. The air-conditioning units are clearly visible above the windows and the remote controls are positioned conveniently above the writing desk with simple instructions on how to operate the system.

It is our standard procedure to ask every guest at the check out about the satisfaction of her/his stay and again there are no records of a guest complaining about a room being too hot or that a pipe was clunky. The only explanation to the noise in the pipes would be a low water pressure, which we now monitor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opole
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2007

Very polite and welcoming receptionist. I thought that the room was outstanding it terms of its size as you can't get anything like this in London for this kind of price. So next time I come to England I might stay in Oxford instead of London.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerOpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Property: Royal Oxford Hotel
Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#12 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing