We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveler rating
223
375
130
27
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
375
130
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift train station biscuits korean restaurant complimentary fruit bottled water said business school city centre street noise convenient location beds were very comfortable first floor good size large bathroom decent hotel few minutes walk air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 772 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2017

Useful location. Mostly friendly staff. Small, but tastefully decorated, clean room with good tea/coffee making facilities and fresh fruit.

However...

Soundproofing isn't the best. You can clearly hear people's conversations next door. We also had a massive issue with the shower: You need a Phd to operate the damn thing and we couldn't get it to stay warm for love nor money. The night staff weren't helpful on this matter. So we had cold showers during our thankfully short stay! The woman we spoke to on checkout seemed fully aware of the shower problems and was very apologetic. But this was all too late. The hotel seriously needs a shower upgrade!!

No lifts may be an issue for disabled guests.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

Visited the Royal Oxford Hotel was a nice enough place - not anything fancy by all means - the room was small - just a twin bed - the bathroom was large (almost larger than the room itself)
The wifi was great - could stream Netflix which is always a nice thing while traveling.

The hotel is very close to the train station which served me well - also close to many bars and restaurants in the area - always fun to walk around the historic city around the university.

The breakfast is across the street - simple fare enough to get a jump start on the day.

Would I stay again? If I need to for work - if visiting with family I probably wouldn't.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the plaza to the front of the hotel - great for people watching
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boss75, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

Dear Jake W
Thank you for your review.
I am glad that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the speed of the wireless, which is so important nowadays. In terms of room sizes, we also cater for families and offer family rooms which are 30m² large with corridor and a bathroom. Those rooms are in high demand especially over weekends therefore advance booking is advisable. You can view the rooms via our virtual tour accessible on the hotel’s website.
Hope to be of service to you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Marzena James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

We just stayed for one night and it was perfect for our needs. It isn't glamorous, but it was very clean and perfectly comfortable. The staff were very helpful, and very happy to help. We'll be back.

Also, although we didn't venture very far, it seems perfectly placed for a visit to Oxford.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boss75, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

Dear Ronnie B
Thank you very much for your review and I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to be of service to you again in the very near future.
Yours sincerely
Marzena James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

Stayed for just one night. Reception staff very helpful, looking after luggage before we could check in and after we checked out! Gave us a map of Oxford and helped out with directions. Rooms clean, warm, not huge but perfectly adequate for requirements. Bathroom was larger than expected and shower was powerful. Fresh fruit and biscuits in room with usual array of hot drinks. Crisp sheets on a comfortable bed with two soft but chunky pillows each to choose from. We paid £5 to park on Staples office outlet carpark round corner from hotel. Locked at night and under cover so secure. Hotel is within easy access of all attractions. We paid for tour bus not realising how close everything was. Did not have breakfast as we had brunch booked elsewhere but this was available and offered to us at extra cost. We would stay again without hesitation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank jay68680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boss75, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Dear Jay68680
Thank you very much for your kind review and I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to be of service to you in the very near future.
Kind regards
Marzena James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile

Great hotel, perfect location and seriously helpful staff. Even let us use the staff kitchen to put milk for our toddler and went upstairs to take it, downstairs to warm it up and back upstairs to bring it to our door twice a day. Helpful with my mum who doesn't speak English. Location is amazing. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Enrica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boss75, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Dear Enrica F
Thank you very much for your review and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to be of service to you again in the very near future.
Kind regards
Marzena James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews