We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what I needed and at a decent price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Oxford Hotel
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what I needed and at a decent price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night. Check-in was quick and efficient, reception staff were all helpful and friendly. As a single traveler the double room I stayed in was spacious enough, it would have been a bit cramped for 2 people on a longer stay. There was only 1 easy chair. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable and warm, though quite high off the ground and the corners are sharp - ow! The supplies (coffee, tea, biscuits, fruit etc.) were plentiful. The shower was hot enough (and I like a hot shower). On the down side the hotel is by a major junction, so there was quite a lot of traffic noise, even with the double glazing. Worth what I paid for it.

Room Tip: Mind the corners of the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Madam
Thank you for finding the time to comment on your stay and I am very pleased that you have enjoyed it. In replay to your feedback I would like to offer the following explanation: the purpose of the beds being higher than average is to allow storing of luggage, bags etc. and I will investigate what can be done to improve the beds edges. Being a city centre hotel, unfortunately the traffic noise is unavoidable, however we have a few rooms facing the back of the hotel away from the road, so next time you come to stay with us request one of them but they are subject to availability.
Looking forward to be of service to you in the future.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    304
    99
    22
    12
See reviews for
124
190
68
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbra, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Staff very helpful and friendly (five stars). The bed and pillows were very confortable. Everything was very clean. The hotel is near the Central bus station of Oxford and 5 minutes walk from the city central point. If I return to Oxford, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Madam
I would like to thank you for finding the time to write about your stay and I am pleased that you have enjoyed it. We provide the best customer service possible and you have rated our service at 5 Stars which is exactly what we aim for.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stay at this hotel often as it's a good value for the money. It's in a great location (right next to the train and coach stations, and a quick walk to the city centre) and the rooms are very comfortable. Their bed are VERY comfortable and I sleep well in this hotel. It is very charming, highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hellotmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Customer
Thank you very much for your great review and we are very pleased that you continue on choosing to stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Marzena James
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean and well equiped, bed was wonderful. If I may suggest one thing that would be a more inexpensive option for breakfast in the line of tea and toast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerhard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Sir
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to be of service to you in the future.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Oxford is not a cheap place to stay, so by Oxford standards I thought the hotel was good value for money. The location is ideal, just a couple of hundred yards from the station and a short walk from the city centre. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, and I really can't fault the service. The room was very smart and clean, and I found the bed comfortable and warm. There were some very nice additional touches, including complementary fruit and bottled water in the room - a small thing but rarely offered and very welcome at the end of a journey. My room overlooked the busy junction at the front of the hotel, but traffic noise was not really a problem. It might be if you are a very light sleeper, but I'm normally quite sensitive to noise myself. I would certainly stay here when visiting Oxford again. I did not have the breakfast, but ate out at the fabulous Organic Deli Cafe, a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheffieldgirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Madam
Thank you very much for finding the time to write the review and I am pleased that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. We are looking forward to be of service to you in the future.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Excellent hotel! Friendly reception staff, comfortable and clean room, wonderful free wifi. Good location, near to the rail and bus station. Have free snacks in the room. I would stay again if I come back again.
a bit too hot in the room





  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiawen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you very much for your review and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in a very near future.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The room and service were much better than we have received in far more expensive hotels. Lots to see and do within walking distance, plus loads of great restaurants. A great central place to stay in Oxford- we will be back.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you very much for your review and I am please that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Property: Royal Oxford Hotel
Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#12 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing