We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located”
Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Oxford Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Straight and to the point, this is a series of bedrooms with a place for breakfast for those so inclined. Nice to have fresh fruit in the room. Furnishing is fine as are all the bits and bobs. It is no a nonsense place which ticks the boxes if you are looking for a place between the station and the colleges to rest your head.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaviddwrOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 708 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel had a very traditional feel to it although it has gone through some changes since I worked there in 1975 having lost it's large front bar to a restaurant.
The rooms were clean, spacious, and freshly decorated, the mattresses deep and comfortable. Water and a bowl of fruit was included in addition to tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits.
It was very nice to be able to open the windows for ventilation; they have a secondary double glazing. The street was a little noisy at night but it was Mayday Eve and the windows were open!
The receptionists were very pleasant and accommodating. Check out was by 12 midday and we were able to leave our luggage for collection later.
Very good value for money!

Room Tip: I liked room 107 on the end of the building as it had a dual aspect and interesting space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppytoadfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Quite a decent place to stay if you're visiting Oxford for a weekend. Very close to the train station and only a 7 min walk from the high street. Great value for money.
The ladies at the reception were very nice and helpful.
The room was quite comfortable and clean. The heating could have been a bit better though as it was still cold in the room even with the heating being on full blast.
Nevertheless we had a good stay and would definitely go back when we visit Oxford next.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imadzafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We needed a hotel near Oxford station for an overnight stay and, although there were several B&Bs nearby which were cheaper, we thought we'd pay a bit more as the reviews were good. We arrived late at night, and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. Our room was immaculate and, although not huge, was big enough for two of us and had everything we needed. Like other reviewers, the free fruit and newspaper were welcome extras! Unfortunately, we weren't able to stay for breakfast so I can't comment on the quality of the food, but I have no reason to think it wouldn't have been very good. We will certainly choose this hotel next time we visit Oxford, and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

For a three star we thought this Hotel fared better than most.
In a fairly central location near the station about 5 mins walk to the centre.
We were greeted very politely and taken to our rooms( which i have to say are sizable and comfortable.) The bathroom is probably the biggest i have seen in a hotel of this rating.
The rooms had all the mod cons - was warm ( with radiators and air conditioning ) You get fresh fruit and bottle water daily- lots of coffee/ tea and biscuits, Freeview TV with loads of channels.

OK theres no bar and the breakfasts in the cafe next door could be better - but for a short stay i thought this hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front as you get 3 windows- plenyt of light and the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonto40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

That is how I would describe this hotel. It is not fancy, it is not overtly elegant, but it comfortable and you can feel at home here. As others have said, the people here are really terrific, and will help you do anything they can help with in their abilities. That included taking your luggage up and down two or three flights of stairs, which is a great help since they have no lift. And the rooms are nice - not great, and not bad, but you are getting what you pay for, and since you are at Oxford, who spends that much time in the room anyways?

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the street if possible, but it is not THAT big a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h2opolodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a good 3 star hotel. I was traveling with my 15 year old daughter. We had a twin room. The beds were comfy, the room was small in that it was challenging with 2 suitcases. The bathroom was outdated but clean and a good size. The hotel was clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Note: there is NO lift in this hotel, it wasn't an issue for us. The hotel staff were happy to carry our suitcases to the second floor. Also note, this hotel is located on the corner of 2 pretty busy roads. I only mention this because a couple of nights I was woken up by police sirens. It was a great location to the train station as we had just travelled from London, very do-able to pull our suitcases. When leaving we needed to get the bus to Heathrow, again great location for us to manage our luggage to the bus station. Close to restaurants and movie theater. Free Wi-Fi, fresh fruit and cookies in the room. For the money, this is good value.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the center of the hotel to avoid outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 413AngieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
753 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#7 of 44 in Oxford
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#12 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $153 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing