We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the shabby exterior”
Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Oxford Hotel
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the shabby exterior”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times. It's clean and comfortable. I like the spacious room, comfortable bed, complimentary fruit, water, tea, coffee, biscuits, wifi, pleasant reception staff. Handy for the station too. When I checked in the desk porter took my case up to my room. When I checked out the girl at reception was pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: There is no lift so top (2nd) floor rooms might be a hike for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slowloris1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    322
    106
    23
    13
See reviews for
128
201
74
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

From the outside the hotel looks shabby but once you get inside it's a different story. It's friendly and helpful staff showed us to our family room. The beds were comfortable with lots of pillows. They even made up the pull out bed when we went out! It was clean with plenty of towels and tea and coffee.
The only downside to the central location was the traffic noise but a pair of ear ifs sorted that!
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a great hotel, minutes away from the station and very central to all the attractions! We had a lovely family room with lots of biscuits, fruit and bottled water!! The staff were really friendly and helpful and overall would certainly return!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toffandmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are of an older taste but are spotless and the facilities are great (lots of biscuits!) very central location to the city centre! The staff couldn't be more helpful! Wonderful way to spend a family weekend :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Could not fault this hotel, exellent location, spacious well appointed bedroom, friendly helpful staff, great bathroom and towels. Nice gesture of fresh fruit, bottled water, good teamaking facilities. Comfortable beds, good cupboard space.

Would definitely return and recommend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were a little unsure when we arrived, as some of the exterior looks a little tired, but this was a beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean room, with nothing wanting. A refreshing change to hotel rooms that leave you the minimum. Fresh fruit, bottled water and more tea, coffee and biscuits than we could possibly need. The staff were extremely helpful. Its in the city centre, so if you want a quiet room, this is probably not for you. However, everything is on the doorstep for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We visited Oxford because we were watching Harry Hill that night at the New Theatre, usually we splash out on a luxury hotel but we're skint at the moment so we booked The Royal because the price was right.
We arrived by train and as we crossed the road from the railway station there was the hotel, brilliant as it was pouring down!
The room was basic but very clean and included fresh fruit, mineral water, tea coffee, hot chocolate and a large selection of biscuits.
The bathroom was spotless, the shower had good pressure and there was lots of hot water.
A very comfy bed, heavy blackout curtains and double glazing so we were able to catch up on some much needed sleep....I know that sounds sad but we had left 2 very noisy, small children at home with Nan.
The staff were all very friendly, they even loaned us an umbrella when they realised we hadn't got one.
The only reason we haven't given 5 stars is although the breakfast was delicious, with loads of choice, there is no heating in the breakfast room and it was freezing, so much so that my food was cold before I had chance to eat it.
This the only negative, if you want a clean comfortable room, with lots of added extras and a 5 minute walk to the town centre, without breaking the bank: book this hotel.....just don't have the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Property: Royal Oxford Hotel
Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#12 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing