We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, but tired”
Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Oxford Hotel
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Convenient, but tired”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

On the plus side, the hotel is very convenient for those travelling by train, being only minutes from the station, the staff were very helpful, the bed was comfortable, the complimentary fruit a nice touch, and I thought that the cafe was good value - the full english breakfast is enormous!

On the minus side - while the entrance lobby gives the impression of a modern functional hotel - all glass and pale wood, as soon as you check in and start up the original (?) oak staircase, you enter a time warp. You feel that all the modifications for fire or quality have been done on a v tight budget. They have clearly had to install fire doors all over the place, enclosing the staircase (there is no lift), which is tricky when you have heavy cases. My room was a study in beige, and really badly proportioned - high ceiling and narrow - a function of having to build a bathroom into the room and it felt drab. The air con units have been added later. The bathroom was basic - institutional linoleum floor and tired fittings (they were clean, however).

Having said that, I had a comfortable night, which is the most important thing. I would not recommend it as a destination, merely as somewhere to rest, and if your eyes are shut, you cannot see the drab colour scheme!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    310
    101
    23
    12
See reviews for
126
195
68
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here one night on business and needed somewhere near the station, and was very impressed by the quality of the rooms & service. Little touches like free fruit, choice of free newspaper, free wi-fi, tea & biscuits etc go a long way. Clean, spacious enough, friendly helpful staff. Saw comments on Tripadvisor about rooms overlooking the street being noisy, so asked for a room facing the other way, which they provided, and it was as quiet as you like.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattMGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is very convenient, comfortable and has the added benefit of a great restaurant attached. An ideal place to stay for visitors who want to be able to walk to most desinations - also conveniently located near coach and train stations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellotmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here as a couple whilst visiting our son at University. The hotel is well located by the train station and the main high street area. the reception staff were very pleasant, efficient and friendly. We had a double room with en-suite on the second floor and found it to be light and airy, comfortable and immaculately clean. Although the room was not luxurious, it wanted for nothing. Fruit, water, tea, coffee and biscuits were provided in the room as well as a free morning newspaper and air conditioning. Check out time was midday, which was nice because you are not rushed in the morning, we did not opt for the breakfast which meant that we had plenty of time to eat elsewhere. All hotels in Oxford are comparatively expensive, so value for money is never going to score high, but we had no complaints. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellbeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The outlook of Royal Oxford Hotel is quite old but the equipment inside hotel are quite new and clean and new. The location is excellent. Only takes 1 minute to railway station and 5 minutes walking time to town center.

Room Tip: If you want to have a good view room, please specify the requirement in advance. However, higher co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnommah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is situated centrally in Oxford, close to both the station and the town centre. Staff here are all very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable and all furnished with bottled water and fruit.The rooms also have air conditioning. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very central for bus or walking around Oxford also hotel has a resturant as first night was raining so ate a nice salmon & salad drinks 2 for 1 at happy hour. the room had complimentary fruit and biscuits and bottled water, very nice clean room they have double glazing on windows you need to close up on saturday night and use air-con staff very helpful i would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Property: Royal Oxford Hotel
Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#12 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing