We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,351)
Filter reviews
1,353 results
Traveler rating
441
467
237
134
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
441
467
237
134
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews iffley lock honeymoon suite memory foam iffley village walk along the river lovely hotel city centre tow path superior room full english booked this hotel the room was nice the bus hotel is situated oxford area visiting oxford two night stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,353 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

We were given a night at Hawkwell House Hotel in Oxford. Really easy to find and on arrival the staff were really friendly. The room was tidy, and had everything we needed. Getting into Oxford is easy. We took the bus, and then walked back. The bus was about 15 minutes into town and the walk back about 40 minutes. Plenty to do in Oxford and easy to walk around. We ate at the hotel and the food was excellent. Again friendly staff. Full English for breakfast. Would really recommend.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank GeorgeLadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkwellGM, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel by Accor, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear George,

Thank you for your find review following your recent stay at Hawkwell House Hotel by Accor, your words were really appreciated and such a huge morale boost to the team.

The hotel is full of history and is over 150 years old, originally a private and birthplace of one of the artic explorers, Francis Howard Bickerton. The house is situated a 5 minute walk from the river Thames and a 40 minute stroll along its bank will take you into Christ Church meadow, which is surrounded by the various colleges of Oxford University and leads direct into the main city centre.

Accor Hotels has taken over the management of the hotel in January and a major renovation of the hotel bedrooms and public areas is planned from the beginning of March onwards.

In closing, I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and we trust you had a safe journey home.

Kind regards

Peter

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

We spent two nights here, whilst visiting Oxford for a 60th birthday lunch.
We found the stay very comfortable and most peaceful. The staff were very attentive and dealt with us very kindly.
Must say I did enjoy my breakfasts!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with compasshospitality.com
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkwellGM, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel by Accor, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear Peter L

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at Hawkwell House Hotel.

The hotel is full of history and is over 150 years old, originally a private and birthplace of one of the artic explorers, Francis Howard Bickerton. The house is situated a 5 minute walk from the river Thames and a 40 minute stroll along its bank will take you into Christ Church meadow, which is surrounded by the various colleges of Oxford University and leads direct into the main city centre.

Accor Hotels has taken over the management of the hotel in January and a major renovation of the hotel bedrooms and public areas is planned from the beginning of March onwards.

In closing, I trust you had a safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Peter

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

Overnight stay at this hotel was booked for us as gift to visit Oxford and a show at the theatre. Hotel well located to visit the city. We had a deluxe king room and had a bottle of bubbly and fruit in room. Room was very clean and spacious huge bathroom. Cooked breakfast served to order and self service for cold items. We used the park and ride into Oxford but you can get bus also. Would stay again .

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkwellGM, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel by Accor, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear Sue C

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at Hawkwell House Hotel, really appreciated and a huge morale boost.

The hotel is full of history and is over 150 years old, originally a private and birthplace of one of the artic explorers, Francis Howard Bickerton. The house is situated a 5 minute walk from the river Thames and a 40 minute stroll along its bank will take you into Christ Church meadow, which is surrounded by the various colleges of Oxford University and leads direct into the main city centre.

Accor Hotels has taken over the management of the hotel in January and a major renovation of the hotel bedrooms and public areas is planned from the beginning of March onwards.

In closing, I thank you again for your kind words and I trust you had a safe journey home.

Kind regards

Peter

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

Nice hotel with lovely friendly and helpful staff who couldn't have been anymore accommodating. We had an accessible room and found it although a little dated and in need of modernising to be very comfortable. The breakfast was lovely. We had a lovely time and would definitely stay here again. Thank you for a lovely weekend

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkwellGM, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel by Accor, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2020

Dear Les

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at Hawkwell House Hotel.

The hotel is full of history and is over 150 years old, originally a private and birthplace of one of the artic explorers, Francis Howard Bickerton. The house is situated a 5 minute walk from the river Thames and a 40 minute stroll along its bank will take you into Christ Church meadow, which is surrounded by the various colleges of Oxford University and leads direct into the main city centre.

Accor Hotels has taken over the management of the hotel in January and a major renovation of the hotel bedrooms and public areas is planned from the beginning of March onwards.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and we trust you had a safe journey home.

Kind regards

Peter

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, was lovely hotel very dog friendly.

Slept really well and came back from breakfast on first morning to bed being made and room tidied which was lovely.

2nd night was lovely slept well in comfy bed however the breakfast this morning was well something to be desired I had to ask for bread as there wasnt any left, no pastries left out and staff having argument as one of them too busy on their phone to take our room number.

For pets I must say they are great we was going to take our dog but didnt in the end but arrived to a blanket a bowl and a ball waiting in the room and yes there is a £20 a night dog charge but that is made clear in your booking.

I also made the hotel aware when I booked that one of us was vegetarian however nothing other than standard breakfast so that was disappointing.

Overall I would recommend the hotel as the room was lovely and spacious just breakfast and the dining staff let the rest of the lovely team down.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank tobys744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkwellGM, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel by Accor, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2020

Dear Toby

Thank you for your recent review which I have responded to on Bookings.com website following your recent 2 night stay at Hawkwell House Hotel.

I do apologise for the lapse in standards and presentation of the breakfast buffet and team on your second night's stay, pleased be assured that your concerns have been noted and the appropriate action and training has been taken.

Accor Hotels is taking over the management of the hotel in 2020 when a major renovation of the hotel bedrooms and public areas is planned from the beginning of March onwards.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the added bonus of allowing dogs in the hotel, we are near the river and they are some beautiful walks and countryside within a 10 minute drive of the hotel or the city route into town along with river bank - ideal.

In closing, I wish you a Happy New Year, 2020.

Yours sincerely,

Peter

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews