We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawkwell House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here on the Autumn package which was terrific value compared to anything else in Oxford. We personally found the modern decor beautiful We stayed in a superior double room which was very large, the bed and pillows superbly comfortable, the bathroom was gorgeous, spacious and ultra modern, with a bath and separate large walk in shower. Two easy chairs and a coffee table gave the bedroom that extra wow factor. Breakfast was excellent, with a very good choice and we ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay.
The location could not be better, assuming you don't want to stay right in town. 10 minutes into the centre on the number 3 bus, or a gorgeous 30 minute walk via Iffley Lock along the Thames. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. The staff were delightful and most helpful!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLJDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    374
    164
    71
    32
See reviews for
164
427
31
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor, it lived up to its reputation as a great place to relax. I booked the honeymoon suite for three nights as my girlfriend is in between chemo treatments and we wanted somewhere quiet to just chill out. We both had the best sleep ever as it's so peaceful with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The breakfast was fantastic with everything you could possibly want from fruit freshly baked pastries, omelettes, pancakes, full English, yoghurt or cereal. I was disappointed with the restaurant in the evening but I spoke to the manager and he sorted it out. The staff were very polite helpful and couldn't do enough for you. We will definitely be back in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Organised a ball here last weekend and everything was brilliant. The staff were all very attentive and helpful. The food was fantastic even though they were serving up 110 meals with everyone having three choices. If you want to hold an event or eat here I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is a nice hotel about 40 minutes walk (or 10 minutes on a bus which runs every 5-10 minutes) from Oxford city centre. Iffley village is lovely, with a good pub close by (the Prince of Wales). The staff were lovely and helpful. The breakfast, while busy (and perhaps, as a result) a little chaotic, was good; though the buffet part was a bit dull and didn't seem to get replenished. The only issue was the room we were given. It was a bit small, but the main issue was the HIDEOUS decor. Purple walls with one covered in the most atrocious wallpaper of purple flowers and butterflies. Frankly, when we walked into the room, we both burst out laughing! They'd also hung a huge TV on the wall: so big that it was disconcerting and so close to the bed that the poor quality of the screen was completely obvious.

They really need to redecorate the room a little more neutrally.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddieflintstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHH1865, Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to read that although you didn't like your bedroom, you found the staff to be helpful and thought breakfast was good. We do have a number of requests for this bedroom but understand if it is not to your taste, I would urge anyone that isn't happy with their bedroom to contact the hotel reception. We hope to welcome you back to Hawkwell House Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have seriously never slept in a more comfortable bed. I was perfectly cuddled in with the perfect sized pillows and warm blanket. The internet worked wonderfully as well and the breakfast was really lovely. Service was brilliant in the restaurant and front desk as well. The room included biscuits, hot chocolate, tea, milk, coffee, and decaf. The bottled water in the rooms was also nice. An added plus was that I showed up much earlier than check in time, but was sent to my room nonetheless. Lovely.

Things I would have changed would be the lack of water pressure in the shower and the location wasn't ideal for a quick trip into town. Also, my room looked onto a fire exit - not really a view at all. But really, this was not a big deal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with stunning newly refurbished bedrooms and beautiful public areas. It is very convenient for Oxford, only a 30 minute walk or short taxi drive. The staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly and the food at the Iffley Blue restaurant is just great. I had the slow roasted pork belly - truly mouthwatering. If you are looking for a hotel in the Oxford area - don't hesitate, this is the one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viva_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, a birthday treat for my husband. The hotel was clean, the room was spacious, well equipped, very comfortable bed! There were a few cracks in the ceiling in the bathroom but didn't spoil our stay and seen as some of the areas of the hotel was undergoing painting maybe this was on their list to do soon?? Anyway none of this had a negative effect on our stay what-so-ever! We would happily stay there again!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
1.8 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.7 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Property: Hawkwell House Hotel
Address: Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the tranquil village of Iffley with the River Thames a mere 5 minute stroll from the venue, Hawkwell is a slice of country charm with the convenience of a city and major road networks on the doorstep. 2010 saw an extensive bedroom refurbishment. Guests can now enjoy contemporary bedrooms with modern bathroom facilities, complimentary wireless internet, flat screen TVs with Sky HD, welcome tea/coffee trays and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing