We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawkwell House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a really good hotel, It is set in pleasant, peaceful grounds in a village on the edge of Oxford. There is a nearby bus service to the City Centre. During our 5 day stay we found the Staff, without exception to be most friendly, efficient and always ready to be of help. The Breakfasts ( especially the Full English ) were great! The only slight downside was on the one night we had dinner - my steak was good, but my wife found her risotto to be almost tasteless and sent it back. Apart from that - this is a very good place to stay and reasonably priced, I'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogclarke36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    375
    166
    72
    33
See reviews for
166
428
32
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A variety of rooms, some in the main hotel and others in a large house 100m from the hotel but still within the grounds. Parking is a little tight. The room I had in the house was tiny, but modern, clean and comfortable. The rooms in the main hotel have been renovated and were nice. The food in the restaurant was above average for hotel food and drinks at the bar a little pricey which is usual for hotels. The wifi is included in the room rate which is not typical for many hotels. There's a deal with the David Lloyd sports centre a mile away if you've time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordsGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Perfect stay, great food, wireless worked without issue, helpful staff, friendly and speedy service. Only fault - TV didn't work in my room 308. I lived in Oxford for over 10 years and in all that time I enjoyed eating out at very few places better than the Hawkwell restaurant.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was at the hotel for 4 nights in September and it was a beautiful experience. The hotel is extremely clean, rooms are spacious, food was absolutely gorgeous - from the breakfasts to the dinners. I went there with no expectations at all and I was pleasantly surprised. The lovely lady at the reception allowed me check in early, check in was really fast too
The hotel itself is located in a leafy residential area, very quiet and safe for concerned solo female travelers. There is a bus stop close to the hotel and buses there go straight into the city centre.
I would stay there again and again. I could go on and on but I ll stop here for now. My Advice: Try Hawkwell House out and you would not regret it!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BouquiO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a work conference. Hotel in lovely peaceful grounds. Very welcoming atmosphere and friendly staff. Dinner was amazing! Excellent quality and breakfast was also second to none. Room very well kept, clean and nicely decorated, modern bathroom with large bath and decent powerful shower, car park spaces were a little awkward to get in and out off due to angles they were set at, but overall a very pleasant place to stay for business or pleasure, definitely recommended and will stay there again without doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindaburrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We arrived early at Hawkwell House and even though they had obviously had a wedding the previous evening there was no problem with us checking in. The staff are all cheerful, well mannered and helpful, The hotel is in a good location only ten minutes from the city centre by bus or a glorious 35min walk along the canal. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on that but the breakfast was excellent with plenty of staff on hand and a good choice of dishes. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable with a good shower and a fast running bath. (Heaven after a day walking around Oxford)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syren-princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caithness
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Hawkwell House recently to enable us to attend a graduation ceremony. We wanted somewhere just outside Oxford so we could leave the car and travel in by taxi. This hotel was perfect in its location, close to Oxford but in a gorgeous quiet setting.

Hawkwell House Hotel is situated in lovely surroundings a couple of miles outside Oxford in the idyllic little village of Iffley. Iffley is a really lovely little village so picturesque and relaxing. Lock & towpath only few minutes away, if you have time would recommend a really nice walk along river up to the head of the river for a few pints and back. Lots to see along the river, barges, canoeing , various other boats, plenty of people about having a good time cycling, jogging as well as swans, geese and ducks.

Iffley has a couple of pubs/restaurants and a little community shop.

We didn’t eat in the hotel apart from breakfast which was both buffet with fruit cereal etc and a nice choice of cooked breakfast. Service was pleasant but could have been a bit quicker.

A short distance away from the hotel is the Prince of Wales pub. Nice little pub for meals, great value and friendly

The reception staff were fine – friendly & helpful and booked us a cab one afternoon when asked to do so.

We stayed at Elm House which is separate from the main building and at the rear of the main hotel. The room was really nice, modern; clean (as was the rest of the hotel) tastefully decorated comfortable bed. Extras in the room like hot chocolate, tea, coffee, bottle of water, ironing board & iron, bathrobes, lovely soft towels and nice quality toiletries all helped to make the two night stay really good

No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaithnessJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.7 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Property: Hawkwell House Hotel
Address: Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the tranquil village of Iffley with the River Thames a mere 5 minute stroll from the venue, Hawkwell is a slice of country charm with the convenience of a city and major road networks on the doorstep. 2010 saw an extensive bedroom refurbishment. Guests can now enjoy contemporary bedrooms with modern bathroom facilities, complimentary wireless internet, flat screen TVs with Sky HD, welcome tea/coffee trays and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing