We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawkwell House Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I have just had a one night stay and loved every minute of it. The bubbly receptionist was a good start and the bedroom airy, well decorated, good size, extremely comfortable bed and pillows with beautiful bathroom just made it complete. We took a taxi to Oxford and back (only around £6 each way) and had a very tasty, filling meal in the hotel restaurant. There are plenty of cosy areas to sit and take a drink. Every part of the hotel was clean and well kept.
We intend to visit again in the autumn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ENicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hawkwell House is situated some distance outside Oxford, in the village Iffley. The hotel garden and rural surroundings are quite nice - a bonus is that it is very quiet at night, so you have good sleeping conditions even with windows open.

Another good thing is the walk along the river into Oxford. You go down to Iffley Lock for a start. The path along the river is very picturesque and nice, though of course it is a bit of a walk - somewhere between 45 minutes and an hour before you reach Oxford itself, depending on your walking pace. The bus service is quite frequent and gives you good options for getting back and forth to town.

But: When going for our first trip into Oxford, we walked. I asked at the reception which bus stop we should get off at on our way back, and was told "Rose Hill". This should prove to be wrong, as we rode the bus all the way out to Rose Hill we had suspicions that we were going too far. And quite right, we should have got off at Iffley Turn. So after our day in Oxford, quite late in the evening, we had half an hour walk back to the hotel in a quite stressful mood.

The food is good at Hawkwell house. Breakfast quite OK, we enjoyed dinner there one night (after our walk back from Rose Hill, we were the last guests in the dining hall) and we had some lighter snack in the garden when we arrived the first day. But service was at times unexplainably slow. For a light snack in the garden - a sandwich, a cheese platter and a wrap - we had to wait about half an hour before it was served. On our second morning, there had been a wedding celebration and the guests had a separate breakfast buffet in the next room. This caused quite a delay in serving cooked breakfasts in the ordinary breakfast room.

And when leaving, there was confusion about the check-out and the bill. First I was presented with the bill for just one of the two rooms we had. When I pointed this out, they eventually produced a more complete bill for both rooms and meals. I paid this, but when checking it more specifically I found we had been charged quite a bit more for one of the rooms than stated in our reservation. I had to go back and get this corrected.

So: What could have been a very nice stay was marred by recurring incidents of slow service and mistakes, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NielsKlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We would like to say a huge thank you to all the staff at Hawkwell House Hotel.
Our wedding day was truly memorable and we give a special thanks to Gary our wedding co-ordinator who has been a great support right from first planning, up until the actual day.

As a bride I felt all the pressure and stress was alleviated by the excellent planning and organisation, I was so well looked after. An example is that it was not clear if it would rain for our outdoor ceremony but staff were all prepped to make a last minute dash if it did, luckily it was sunny!

All our guests had a great time and loved the food so a big thanks to the Chef and kitchen staff. Our gluten intolerant guests were very well looked after, so thankfully no ill health to report! As both vegan, we the bride and groom we were well looked after too! The buffet was amazing, so much food. The bar staff and waiting staff were attentive, friendly and subtle. The staff even laid on a private breakfast the morning after, for all our guests, which was such a lovely touch and a great way to catch up with anyone we had missed the day before.

The memory foam mattresses were a big talking point amongst guests, they were very comfortable. You must get them in all the rooms! The rooms are spacious and very clean. The grounds and surrounding areas were perfect for our needs and look fantastic in the photo's. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a lovely down to earth and fun wedding without any snobbiness!

Apologies to anyone who had any dealings with a couple of unruly guests in the evening/early hours. Thank you for being utter professionals, so sorry that had to happen!

Kind regards from Martin & Julia Mulchrone - Wedding Date : 27th July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here on the hotel's summer 2 night deal at the beginning of August. It is located in the idyllic Iffley Village and the lock and towpath walk are only a few minutes walk away. The hotel is only a 20minute bus ride or 10minutes in a cab from Oxford and gave us the best of both worlds.

We ate in the hotel one evening as part of the deal and the food was great, particularly the main courses. Wine was over-priced, but that's par for the course in hotels so it doesn't bother us. There were conferences and weddings during our stay but they did not cause a great deal of disturbance to us, although the evening music from the wedding was fairly loud which you might want to bear in mind if you retire before midnight.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful in calling us cabs, looking after our bags after we had checked out and recommending restaurants for us to try. The room was perfectly clean and well decorated, plus there was water and chocolates supplied in addition to tea and coffee. It was a little hot at noght, but we were just at the end of the little heatwave in Britain so can't really fault the hotel for that!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had a bit of difficulty locating it but once we did, it is a beautiful. It is located a bit out of Oxford and is suggested to take the bus into the city centre which is about £2.50 return trip. The hotel is currently being renovated but the room we had was magnificent and spacious and we would return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kawt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I've just returned from a night away with my partner, can't praise the hotel more - clean spacey light rooms, helpful staff and lovely breakfast

I can't comment on value as my partner paid for my birthday but would definitely stay here again if I were to visit Oxford

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireLass P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A lovely hotel in a great location. Walking distance to the river and easy access into Oxford. The room was a good size and nicely decorated. Only downside was that it had an interconnecting door to the next room which was not very soundproofed and we had noisy neighbours. We mentioned this disturbance to the reception staff and we were given a discount on our stay. Without this disturbance the sleep quality would have been very good and therefore I have rated it as this even though we didn't sleep well! All staff were very helpful and efficient. There was a wedding taking place on the weekend of our stay but it didn't detract in any way from the service we received. Breakfast was reasonable, good choice but the cooked not as hot as it could have been. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ensure you don't have an interconnecting room unless you actually want one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InckyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,860 reviews
4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
565 reviews
2 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Address: Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
#15 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $102 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two magnificent manor houses dating back to the 19th century, Hawkwell blends tranquillity with contemporary elegance, making it the perfect venue for leisure, business, events & weddings. With availability for exclusive use and utter privacy for up to 150 guests, Hawkwell House and its grounds offers one of Oxford’s most picture perfect settings. Located in the quaint village of Iffley - just 2 miles from the historic city of Oxford and just a stone’s throw from the river Thames – here is where you will be met with the splendour of this setting. Situated in 3 acres of private gardens and steeped in history with seamlessly blending character with contemporary design, the hotel’s 77 bedrooms have been carefully designed to make you feel relaxed, comfortable and surrounded in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing