We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawkwell House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Convenient...”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We'd been warned about the nightmare of having a car in Oxford so chose this hotel for its location, a £6 taxi ride to Magdalen College but far enough away to offer some peace and quiet as well as the need for easy parking for two nights. Reception staff were all very friendly, helpful and efficient. Check-in took less than 60 seconds! Our ground floor room overlooking the main car park and close to the dining room proved to be much quieter than I feared when I saw where it was. In any event it was convenient because we had a lot of luggage for a month long holiday. Neither the hotel or the room are anything special but the bathroom had been renovated and everything we needed was there. The hotel provides a choice of cooked breakfast included in the price which seemed reasonable. It's never going to win any prizes but it's cost effective.

As a bonus, a half a mile stroll down the quiet lane from the hotel is the Prince of Wales pub which provides not just lovely meals (we eat there both nights), but is especially great value and the hosts are the most friendly I’ve ever encountered in a pub.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    378
    170
    72
    33
See reviews for
168
431
34
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights to attend a wedding. We were the only guests of the wedding put in elm house despite reservations months in advance. The Room was terrible. Bad mattress, small, musty, steps down to the bathroom college dorm like. Internet never worked despite being told it was just overhauled. That was our main way to stay in contact with family in US. Our friends in main hotel we're happy with their rooms and the wedding was lovely in the main part of hotel. I would advise if you get a room in elm house go elsewhere.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RHB52053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkwell-Manager, Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry your bedroom didn't meet your expectations. We are working with our ISP to rectify the Wi-Fi issue in that room as all of the other areas have excellent signal strength. Thank you for highlighting this problem.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the wedding breakfast and that your friends were happy in their rooms. We have a variety of room types that vary in shapes and sizes, if you contact the hotel directly we will ensure any specific requirements are met.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I visited The Hawkwell House on my wedding day on 1st June 2013. It was a lovely location, good atmosphere and nice rooms. We had a few guests that were gluten and wheat free which we had told the hotel and wedding planner who had assured us they could cater for them. We had one guest who was my brother inlaw that was gluten, rye, wheat, barley and oat free which we had also explained and was told that he could be catered for. We had checked this with the wedding planner who had checked with his head chef and assured us right up until the day that all dietary needs had been carefuly noted and would be looked after on the day. Little did I know in actual fact they didnt look after the guests, mixed the staters up and made my brother inlaw violently ill for the rest of the night. This ruined my evening, my sisters and his. I was so dissappointed this had happened after being told he would be catered for and looked after. My sister had spent most the evenign in his room looking after him as he was so ill.
I had been warned previously by my manager who had her daughters wedding that they didnt cater for there guests that were gluten free on her daughters wedding day, so I then went to the extra effort of making sure this was ok with the hotel. After all the reassurance I felt extremely let down, service was poor in this respect. We did complain to the covering manager of the hotel the next day who didnt seem to care. The wedding planner called apologised and gave a full refund on there room which wasnt the point, this shouldnt have happened.
Over all I wouldnt reccomend this hotel especially if you have any guests with dietary needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkwell-Manager, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Jo,

We have investigated this incident and have, out of courtesy, refunded the guest in question their full accommodation costs.

However, as mentioned previously, we do not accept that we were responsible for any cross contamination. We went to great lengths to prepare a similar dish that was gluten free, and it was delivered to the right guest as was the gluten free roll with the starter.

As a matter of course, my staff go out of their way to make our Wedding parties happy, and I am proud of how much they care.

If you wish to discuss this further please contact me directly.

Tim Spittles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited this hotel as a cost effective means by which to attend a friends birthday party at Mal maison in Oxford City centre. Having had the benefit of seeing both Hotels I think we got a brilliant deal, as the cost, location and value for money we received was great.

The Hotel itself is lovely and strikes a great balance between old fashioned warmth, and contemporary decor, which I really enjoyed. Our room was light and comfortable, and the breakfast really hit the spot.

I think there was a wedding reception on on the day we arrived, but it was obviously managed pretty well as we were barely aware of it.

The only sour note for us, was a Hotel booked a Taxi driver who decided to charge us £16 to get into town. A reputable taxi on the way back cost us £6 at 2am in the morning so some shenanigans was definitely taking place, and we duly informed the Hotel. I hope they act on it.

Hopefully we'll get the opportunity to visit again, though whether we'd share the experience with our kids is another matter. I think this one is for grown ups only.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WidTheViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful in every way. It appears to have been refurbished quite recently. It is on a quite residential street, tucked back off the street with nice grounds & has a lovely atmosphere. The rooms are a very good size, bathrooms are tiled and new, & the beds are very comfortable as well. They have a clock with speakers for an iPod, ironing board & iron, plus an electric tea kettle. There is free Wifi which we found was rare to hotels stays in surrounding areas. There is no hair dryer & no air conditioning but you can open the window but there is heater.

If you like to walk/run ask the staff about the path down by the river or into Iffley.

The only pitfall is that walking into Oxford to shop or site see isn't a short distance. However, a taxi can be called and they are very prompt. The food is fine but you might not want to eat every single night if you have a long stay.

We took a group of 26 people and the staff handled it perfectly. It went very smoothly and we will be going back. If you are taking a group please be specific about what type of rooms and floor you desire to avoid any problems with the guests.

Room Tip: We had a family room on the 3rd floor, which was at the end of the hall. One twin bed, one queen be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Mum & I stayed 2 nights in a second floor twin room here and wished we could have stayed longer. Comfy beds and a warm room. Close to bus stop and short bus trip up to Oxford central or take a delightful stroll further along the road the hotel is on down to the lovely village of Iffley. Has a very old and interesting (Norman) parish church in a delightful setting. We ate in the hotel restaurant both nights of our stay. The meals and service were excellent. Good breakfasts also. No problems or cost parking our hire car. We would certainly stay here again. Loved watching the squirrels out the window in the morning even if they were not the elusive red variety.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Arrived at hotel and greeted by very friendly staff. Hotel seems to have been refurbished recently and is very bright and cheerful. In a quiet residential road surrounded by trees. Room was a good size with large very comfortable bed (memory foam) flat screen TV and complementary tea & coffee with quality biscuits. Lovely modern bathroom. Window was fine at this time of year but might be draughty in the winter as it didn't really close properly. Breakfast excellent served by very friendly staff. Five minute walk from hotel to bus stop to catch No.3 bus into centre - buses run every few minutes - cost £3.30 return. The only problem we experienced was that we left our car parked under a tree which deposited sticky sap all over it. However, when we requested a wet cloth to clean the windows one of the managers insisted on doing it for us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandCSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,738 reviews
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
4.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Property: Hawkwell House Hotel
Address: Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the tranquil village of Iffley with the River Thames a mere 5 minute stroll from the venue, Hawkwell is a slice of country charm with the convenience of a city and major road networks on the doorstep. 2010 saw an extensive bedroom refurbishment. Guests can now enjoy contemporary bedrooms with modern bathroom facilities, complimentary wireless internet, flat screen TVs with Sky HD, welcome tea/coffee trays and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing