We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawkwell House Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stopped here on business as it's close to our new HQ building. Very friendly staff and good food with a very large room, comfortable firm latex foam bed and spacious modern bathroom. Good WiFi that was suitable for streaming media. I have already recommended this hotel to colleagues staying on business. i had the rib eye steak which was very good quality and really nicely cooked.

This hotel ticks all the boxes for me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Thanks again Trip Advisor. My wife and I were going to Oxford for one night. We would have stayed in City Centre (Mercure) , but all those hotels were booked or outrageously expensive. So, thanks to trip advisor, we ended up at Hawkwell House and delighted that we did. Tremendous huge room, beautifully decorated, wonderful bathroom, with freestanding bath positioned to look at stars, and probably the best beds we have exver experienced- (either equivalent or better than the Marriot). They were so good I had to take the sheets off to look at the mattress and discovered genuine Tempura original mattresses. This was the one drawback of the stay- it will be a pretty expensive overall trip, if we now have to shell out £2000 to buy those mattresses for our beds at home!! BTW breakfast was delicious and the service was outstanding.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for a two night break which was very good value. The room was a good size, bathroom modern and the bed had an extremely comfortable memory foam mattress. The food was delicious and staff very friendly. Our bedroom was really cold on the first night and we discovered that the heater was not working properly; the duty manager sent up a very efficient electric heater. This unfortunately disappeared the next day but the heating seemed to be working, but I was not as "toasty" as I would have wished. We also enquired about the lack of hot water; it appears you have to run the hot tap for a long, long time before any hot water comes through. I also though the hotel was a little mean with the toiletries, we only had one small tube of shower gel, shampoo and liquid soap for the two days - as the tubes were not see through you don't know whether you have enough left for the next shower! We did ask for some more soap and shampoo but they never appeared.
The hotel is well positioned and if you're up for it, the 2 mile walk into the city along the river is well worth the time. I would stay at the Hawkwell House Hotel but perhaps when it's warmer, and I would take my own toiletries!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We decided to stay at Hawkwell house as it was considerably cheaper than the city centre hotels/B n Bs that were available and it offered an inclusive breakfast. Just a short ride on the number 3 bus from the city, Hawkwell House was 5 mins walk from the bus stop. We were given a room in the Elm House annex to the main hotel which was perfectly comfortable. Room was clean and had all the facilities you would expect, including toiletries in bathroom. More upper 3 star than 4 star but still good. Decided to eat at the Arezzo restaurant on site for dinner as it was freezing cold and didn't fancy trek into town again. Dinner was perfectly passable, I had a rump steak which was pretty good. Breakfast in the morning was of a decent standard and not stingy. Service was polite, friendly and mostly efficient. I would recommend staying here and would do so again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bitten_by_the_bug_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had a lovely weekend at the Hawkwell Hotel upon arrival we were greeted by two very helpful receptionists and this high level of service continued throughout our stay.The room was well equipped for the disabled which we requested with walk in shower all on the level and parking outside.Room was very clean and spacious.
The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service extremely good .Would stay again and recommend.
Taxi into Oxford is £7.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank je4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel is around 2 miles from the centre of Oxford, we got a taxi there which was £7 and got the bus in to Oxford the next day. The number 3 bus stops just down the road on the main road and costs £2 for a single. You can also walk along the river into Oxford, the hotel gave us directions but as it was snowing we didn't feel like the walk.
We stayed 1 night in room 202. Upon arrival we were welcomed by the friendly reception staff and despite being there before check in (we arrived 30mins before) they managed to check us in. We were given information about local transport and they offered to take our luggage up for us.
The room was large with great facilities, bathroom was modern and clean and the shower was fantastic.
The room had a nice view and was well furnished. The room was fitted with an LCD T.V, tea/coffee, kettle, had access to free wi-fi, sofa, radio, large desk/mirror and had plenty of storage. The bed however was a tad too hard, found it difficult to sleep. I think it's a memory foam mattress so maybe it just wasn't for me.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening, had the Atlantic Cod from the bar menu, was delicious, staff were friendly and service was fast, however they did forget my drink but this was quickly rectified. The restaurant was welcoming and well decorated but was a little cold. We booked the table for 7 and the restaurant was quiet but by 8 it was getting pretty busy so it's best to book.
Breakfast was included in our room price, we went down early and ordered the English Breakfast with toast to start. The breakfast was a tad disappointing, not a very big portion and could have been warmer. On the menu it says the breakfast costs £12.45 and I wouldn't have been happy paying that if it wasn't included on the booking.
Overall it was an enjoyable stay, the room was nice, spacious and welcoming but being unable to sleep due to the bed was annoying and the breakfast could definitely have been better. Would consider staying there again though if I was visiting Oxford again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrackedTeapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Located in the Iffley area of Oxford it is like being in a village but with all the advantages of rapid access to the facilities of a city.

The hotel is in its own grounds and there is plenty of car parking.

The reception and indeed all the staff I had dealings with were pleasant and helpful.

We had a standard double room in the main hotel building and it was pleasantly decorated and well furnished. The bathroom was good but at certain times of the day it was necessary to run the water for quite a time before the hot water made an appearance.

We only had breakfast at the restaurant so could not comment on the evening meals in the restaurant. The service was friendly and efficient. The cooked breakfast was nice but could have been a tad warmer than it was and I have seen more comprehensive continental buffets but by and large it was quite acceptable.

My only complaint, which is probably too strong a word was that during the two days of our stay building work was going on (which I appreciate is necessary from time to time) and mainly seemed to involve the constant use of a club hammer. The work did not start until around 9am and finished promply at 5pm so didn't impact on sleep. It would have been nice if someone at check in had mentioned the daytime impact of the building work.

Out and about there is a nice walk down to the River and from thence along the riverbank to the centre of Oxford or the bus stop for the number 3 bus to the centre is about a 5 minute walk away and the journey time is 10 - 15 minutes. The busses are frequent.

So a few niggles, all of a minor nature, and I will certainly stay there again if I come back to Oxford.

Room Tip: We had room 107 in the main building which is well located for the restaurant, bar and reception whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,860 reviews
4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
570 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
2 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Address: Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
#15 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $103 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two magnificent manor houses dating back to the 19th century, Hawkwell blends tranquillity with contemporary elegance, making it the perfect venue for leisure, business, events & weddings. With availability for exclusive use and utter privacy for up to 150 guests, Hawkwell House and its grounds offers one of Oxford’s most picture perfect settings. Located in the quaint village of Iffley - just 2 miles from the historic city of Oxford and just a stone’s throw from the river Thames – here is where you will be met with the splendour of this setting. Situated in 3 acres of private gardens and steeped in history with seamlessly blending character with contemporary design, the hotel’s 77 bedrooms have been carefully designed to make you feel relaxed, comfortable and surrounded in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing