We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid, good for a "do"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawkwell House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawkwell House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Manchester
Level Contributor
648 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Solid, good for a "do"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Went to my partner's work do here and it was a good, solid corporate hotel. The rooms were standard, not spectacular, but the beds were large and comfy. The bar area was pleasant and the staff consistently friendly, on the ball and smiling (always helps!). The food was pretty bog standard and the wait between courses was longer than acceptable.....I think they were overstretched in the kitchen as there were a number of parties in that evening, but overall it was very suitable for the occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    372
    161
    71
    32
See reviews for
162
423
31
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva
Level Contributor
232 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was recently in Oxford for a business meeting and our small group chose Hawkwell House as both our residence and working place. An excellent choice: very good meeting amenities with attentive professional service and full equipment and support (including reliable wifi), an attractive bar/café for breaks and lunches, comfortable lounges with a traditional English touch. Excellent breakfast in bright dining room.The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed, with good bathrooms. The hotel itself, an attractive big house, is located on spacious well-kept grounds -- and is only a 10-minute bus ride from High Street Oxford. Iffley Village offers a superb traditional pub a short walk away - great atmosphere and good pub food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muverans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I would like to share our fabulous experience felt at The Hawkwell House Hotel. To say the experience was amazing does not do the Hotel or Staff any justice at all. Our wedding day was made extra special by the time spent there. The Hotel arranged our every needs with great ease through Mr David Cole, The Events Manager. From the outset, no task was too problematic, in fact he made some very good added suggestions and saw that that day ran smoothly and that our guests were made to feel important and cared for throughout! The staff were extremely polite, curtious and proffessional. Although they worked tirelessly they always managed to keep a smile on their faces, something you do not always see these days! Our dining room in The Cherwell Suite, was made up in a very grand fashion and the food served was at a very high standard of quality, presented beautifully on the plate and tasted simply wonderful. We had the pleasure of meeting the Head Chef, Mr Christopher Kennedy prior to the event, whom was very occommodating in whatever we required. His vast knowledge in catering shone through on the day and we were certainly not let down. I would like to extend my thanks to him for creating dishes fit for Royalty, stylish, lavish and tasty! Overall I would happily recommend this Hotel and it's fine dining to all who seek 'The Perfect Day'. It was an experience we will never forget thanks to them. Regards, Mr Anthony Higginson.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks. UK
Level Contributor
392 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We organised an event for the Fan Circle International here in May. The hotel were very helpful in advance and met all our requirements. The hotel has been recently refurbished and the rooms were in very good condition. The food was excellent at all times. There are nice grounds and it's very convenient for the bus into central Oxford. It's quiet, although there were some complaints about music for parties they were all finished by midnight.

Two complaints - during the event things did not all run as well as the planning had suggested and things we had booked had to be chased up. They could have done with an "MC" to co-ordinate but it seemed that they didn't work at weekends. And at breakfast they could not cope with a large influx of guests and kept running out of food and china which did not get replenished rapidly. Again, poor on-the-ground management.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenakitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for the weekend for a wedding (elsewhere in Oxford). I arrived tired and the room was just lovely. Spotlessly clean, spacious, well-appointed and comfortable. I needed tea and a hot bath, and was pleased that the bath was generous in size with plenty of piping hot water, and that I could fill the full-sized kettle easily from the handbasin tap. Result!
Dinner in the restaurant was well-prepared and tasty, my only slight criticisms there were that (a) there could have been a broader range of desserts (they all had dairy in); and (b) the staff were a bit too attentive! The restaurant was not over-warm though (conservatory construction, frosty night). This was in contrast to the bedroom which was very warm - but for those who dislike this, there is a control on the radiator to turn it down.
Staff friendly and helpful; stylish and comfortable hotel, just what we had been looking for. Would stay again.

Room Tip: rooms near the restaurant are on a tiled corridor, which gets a bit echoey with passing footfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missflis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, modern rooms and bathrooms. Lovely breakfast and would definitely return. Went for a romantic weekend and is a perfect place to share with someone special, great Christmas tree and decorations too.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VivaLasVegasLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in the main building. Parts are nice but the lounge seems very cold and sterile. Our room had carpet over the most noisy floor I have ever walked on. When I was in the bed and my husband walked towards the bed, I could feel the floor move- from the bed! When I asked reception she said no one had ever mentioned this. When we checked in our room wasn't ready. So he directed us to wait in the lounge and forgot about us. We were awakened about 11PM with a room service order that wasn't for us. The bathroom was very nice but up a couple of stairs. A quiet location near Oxford is very nice. The canal walk was fun and the buses were frequent. It did have the feel of a business hotel with events like weddings. The wedding event when we were there didn't affect us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.7 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Property: Hawkwell House Hotel
Address: Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the tranquil village of Iffley with the River Thames a mere 5 minute stroll from the venue, Hawkwell is a slice of country charm with the convenience of a city and major road networks on the doorstep. 2010 saw an extensive bedroom refurbishment. Guests can now enjoy contemporary bedrooms with modern bathroom facilities, complimentary wireless internet, flat screen TVs with Sky HD, welcome tea/coffee trays and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing