We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would like to return a.s.a.p!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would like to return a.s.a.p!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying one night at the Randolph. We were allocated a lovely suite with a very comfortable large double bed in the bedroom and a separate sitting room with digital tv with sky and satellite. The standard of the rooms and the bathroom were second to none with great attention to detail and our personal comfort. Every detail had been taken into consideration ensuring a very relaxing and homely atmosphere. Ben Lake the concierge was extremely attentive and highly efficient ensuring that at no time we had to carry our baggage and worry about parking the car....excellent service. Thank you. Mr and Mrs L

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    814
    531
    282
    144
See reviews for
545
1,426
130
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our night at the Randolph. Great downtown location allowed us to roam Oxford on foot. Delicious hot breakfast with lots of choices. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

We had stayed at the Randolph in November and had a room that could best be described as adequate. We booked the same room type for this stay but- were delighted to find a large, beautiful room with free high-speed internet. We found out that there was a section of the hotel which was "newer" and as a result had larger,more comfortable rooms.

The best part was the room was significantly lower in price than in November partly due to the economics of the times.

We also enjoyed a lovely high tea in the hotel to complete our "British" experience.
Convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chgowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

My wife and I visited the Randolph, something that we had planned for sometime and we were not disappointed, the position is superb, handy for everything in Oxford.
Food for both breakfast and dinner was very good and despite previous reviews we found the service to be spot-on.
Tips :- Pre-book Car Parking and also table(s) for dinner(s)
Bad :- I find £9.00 ($13) far too much for a glass of very mediocre wine, and with the cheapest wine on the menu at around £22.50 ($30) a complete ripoff

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerKingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Randolph in a suite which overlooks the art museum. It was gourgeous! The staff (manager, front and maidsservice) were immensely courteous and pleasant. I could not have asked for more from the suite--quiet, beautifully decorated, bed, pillows,and bed linens of the highest quality, big fluffy towels on a towel warmer, chocolates with turndown service, great spa-quality sopa/shampoo/etc, lcd tv in both front room and bedroom with speakers throughout the suite, refrigerator, robes and slippers...and then the breakfast : freshly baked breads, fruits, cheeses, hot to order full breakfast of choice of excellent preparation. After 2 weeks of hard travelling, this was just short of heaven. easy walking access to all the sites in Oxford as well as the train station. I could not imagine staying anywhere else in Oxford now because this hotel is so perfect --for that matter, it is going to be difficult to match this standard in London or anywhere else. Complements to the management for bringing back the romance and quality to the hotel experience. TIP: really suggest using th TI for tour of Oxford--we had Ursula for a guide through them and she was INCREDIBLE:funny, energetic, unbelievably knowlegeable! Also no matter your religion, try evensong at Christ Church-it is beautfiul.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Randolph for 9 days while in Oxford on business (and a bit of leisure). We found the hotel superb in nearly every way. We had originally booked a room for 4 days, but our secondary arrangements didn't work out and we re-checked in within an hour of checking out. The staff was not only understanding, but allowed us to check back in despite the hotel being full at the time. We even got to pick from among several rooms that were in the process of being cleaned. The variety of accomodation is amazing. Our first room was really two (a small suite). The second was a single room, but larger, with a much larger bathroom. We can't say enough about the staff. The day manager was extremely accommodating in allowing us to book into a full hotel with a promise that she would simply "work it out." The Morse Bar is a wonderful experience, and the people who work there are exquisitely trained (with a marvelous sense of humor). So too the concierge service. They handled practically every outing we planned while there and were the most solicitous and friendly we have yet encountered in our travels. The one letdown was the food. Breakfast was pleasant but the service was very slow. We took tea rather late in the day and found the cakes dry and the service not the best. And, we resisted the pricey hotel dinner in favor of local pub food (which is terrific). On the whole, a marvelous experience and one we would repeat without a moment's hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
254 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

It was 6 degrees C cold outside. Arriving mid afternoon our room was really cold and unwelcoming. The porter attempted to turn on heating, but by 5.00pm there was no heat. I called reception (with difficulty as no-one responds quickly here) and a nice east European lady brought a convector heater and explained that the heating had been turned off throughout the hotel a week ago. "In my country it is 20 below freezing, this isn't cold". While we were out to dinner the maids turned off and unplugged the heater again so we arrived back late at night to a freezing room. A further attempt was made by another reception staff to fix the blow heating, he denied it had been turned off. He failed. In order to retain heat the following night we left the convector on and put a 'do not disturb' notice on door, foregoing the turn down service.

Bathroom was cold of course and not big enough for two people to be in at same time. Nowhere to put washbags or indeed anything. Scarcely room to get out if bath/shower and stand up. The room itself was fine apart from cold draught through badly fitting sash window. The bed was a small double, a bit cosy when there was room for a bigger one.

The maids linen trolley remained in the middle of the corridor all weekend. The lift that was out of order, mentioned by another writer, was still out of order throughout our stay; the wait for the one remaining took a long time. But hey, what's time here? We waited half an hour for breakfast service. But that was nothing compared to the news that it was a full breakfast or nothing. I just wanted a coffee and a piece of fruit. No that wasn't possible, I could have the £17.50 brekkers or nothing. I ate nothing.

The last straw was the box of chocolates left in the room (was this because we complained about the heating?) The chocolates were mouldy.

This is supposed to be the finest hotel in Oxford. It's basically ruined by appalling service and meanness. They charge a full night's costs when you book then charge an extra £2 for paying with a credit card. £50 for 2 nights parking is another good wheeze isn't it? Macdonald hotels should be ashamed of themselves. A good concierge service and a nice bar were so overshadowed by the bad things we'll never go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wabamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Property: Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing