We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Clean, well equipped room. Lovely venue, centre of city. Only downside is expensive valet parking, plenty of car parks nearby. Staff were fantastic, professional and really friendly. Breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
2  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The team will be delighted by your comments. Parking in the city centre is limited and we offer valet overnight parking at £28.50 per night. The council car park adjacent to the hotel charges £30.00 for 24 hours and the city is served by a user friendly park and ride system to allow guests and visitors to avoid the heavily congested city centre.

I do hope we can be of service to you again.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,858 - 1,864 of 3,238 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

As usual everything was perfect. Wonderful staff, lovely room with view of the Ashmoleon.
Food first class.
Very sad to read comments about the hotel being too formal, it is lovely to stay somewhere that certain standards are adhered to. In the dining room it may seem a little formal however the staff are very welcoming and friendly..
It is good not to have people sitting at table glued to electronic equipment and actually indulging in the sometimes forgotten art of conversation.
The Morse bar is cosy and has a nice ambience.
Of course in a hotel of this age some areas could maybe do with a spruce,I was told the lifts are to be updated, but overall one would be hard put to find the same quality ambience and caring staff elsewhere. My husband is quite sick but staying here always lifts his spirits.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is always good to receive feedback from our guests but especially from returning guests.

Here at the hotel we offer traditional service and accommodation with all the modern amenities guests expect from a hotel. We do have a dress code in our restaurant and ask diners to refrain from using their mobile phones.

Thank you for kind comments regarding the service and I know the team will be most motivated by your comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We spent two nights here in a suite in July 2014. Everything was functional. A very pleasant ambience and perfectly located (could not ask for better). I think it is expensive but location! location! location!

Room Tip: Higher floors enjoy lovely views over Oxford
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LukeHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I know the team will be delighted by your comments. We are indeed located right in the heart of the city.

Accommodation is at a premium especially during the peak summer season. It is always best to book in advance and check on our website for any special promotions we may be running at the time of booking.

I do hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very comfortable large room, attentive polite friendly staff, very good central Oxford location, high quality restaurant. Parking elsewhere by reception staff, at a significant charge! Overall quite expensive but thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuidoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for posting a review. I know the team will be delighted by your comments. In the city of Oxford accommodation is at a premium at weekends. We offer our rooms on a best available rate structure similar to an airline. The council car park which we can provide tickets for (but not guaranteed space as we do not control spaces) is charged at £30.00 per 24 hours. We offer a limited parking facility at a cost of £28.50 for overnight valet parking at the hotel. Pre-booking is essential.

I do hope that we can be of assistance in the future when your travel plans bring you back to the city of Oxford.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Wonderful place across the street from Ashmolean. Walk to the sights. The room was a trek but large with a snappy looking bathroom with lots of light. We begged the chambermaid for more chocolates and she complied. A bit pricey but the location can't be beat.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank mtroner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your kind review following your stay with us at the hotel. The hotel is indeed located right in the heart of the city centre and in walking distance of all the major attractions.

Here at the hotel we offer 40 executive bedrooms in our Worcester Wing built some 9 years ago. These are a slight distance from the main reception but as you point out boast large bathrooms which separate baths and showers.

I do hope we can be of service you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here and were able to walk to all the sights easily. We had a very nice room and excellent service. The staircase is a grand showing . Try to avoid the rooms that are a long way from the center .

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bayard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for posting a review. I was pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The room you stayed in I believe was in our Worcester Wing of the hotel which boasts 40 executive bedrooms which albeit are some distance from the main body of the hotel, are spacious and contemporary in style.

The staircase is indeed very beautiful and is regularly used by wedding guests for their group photos.

I do hope that we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed for our second anniversary, and it was just superb all over. We didn't mention our anniversary to anyone apart from the concierge as they ordered a taxi for us to take us out for a meal. When we returned we had a bottle of champagne in our room and a card from the manager. This was really thoughtful and much appreciated. The bar staff were great. The Morse Bar is just a perfect place to sit and enjoy a rest and a cocktail. Some things are worth paying for, a beautiful building and hotel is one. The place was so good it was a pleasure to skip the lift and enjoy the stairs up and down, perfect for us.

Room Tip: Anywhere but a view of the surroundings is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for kind review and I was pleased we could be apart of your anniversary stay at the hotel. We pride ourselves in offering the highest levels of care and service and I was pleased the concierge team noted your anniversary whilst at the hotel.

Wishing you once again a very Happy Anniversary and do hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
726 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $196 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing