We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as I remember it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just as I remember it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed here 30 years ago and it is just as I remembered it. Although bathrooms etc have been modernised the ambience is still there. The staff are extremely pleasant and the concierge guys beyond the call of duty. Parking was done for us and there was great help with eating out or finding places to visit. We were allowed into our room earlier than stated as it was ready. The room was spacious and as requested we had a street view. Not sure why guest below says no double glazing as our room certainly had. Molton Brown in the bathroom always a winner. Extremely handy for all the major sights, shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for outward facing room and ask for upgrade when you arrive, just in case you are lucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yummies60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    816
    534
    282
    144
See reviews for
547
1,429
130
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel in the city centre. Got lots to do around the hotel....shops, bars, restaurants, supermarket next to it. The hotel is close to the bus station. The railway station is a bit further but can be walked. Staff was friendly and service was great. The hotel is a bit older but nice and clean. The bar is very nice. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanVanBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble in writing your review on tripadvisor. I was very pleased that you found the hotel to be in a very central location in Oxford. We are very lucky that the shuttle bus service to the center of London and the Heathrow and Gatwick airports, is just a few yards from the hotel. As you point out, the railway station is within walking distance, but taxis are also readily available.

It was nice to know that you found the staff to be professional, as well as the service.

Thank you once again for your feedback

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights recently and had a really lovely time.Without a doubt the staff are the greatest asset.We arrived before mid day and did not expect our room to be ready which it wasnt. The excellent customer service, however, kicked in immediately.We were shown into the drawing room where we were offered complimentary coffee and shortbread while we waited. Having spent a most relaxing 45mins we were told the room was ready and our luggage had already been brought to it.Great first impression.Our room was on the small side but clean and very comfortable. The breakfast choice was great as once again was the service.We ate in the hotel on the second evening of our stay and the meal was first class. Yes it is on the expensive side but then I suppose this is what you pay for central Oxford. All in all a very pleasant experience

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments about your stay at The Randolph Hotel. I was very pleased to learn how you felt that our staff were our greatest asset. I am very fortunate to have such a motivated and professional team here at the hotel.

Customer care is the hallmark of Macdonald Hotels, where the selection, recruitment and training of our staff is extremely vigorous.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Randolph and other Macdonald Hotels.

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel is wonderful, brimming with classic English elegance and style. Our suite room was exceptionally well furnished, an enormous comfortable bed and a lovely sitting room overlooking the Ashmolean Museum. The nespresso machine and ipod/iphone docking machine an added bonus.
The staff were all very welcoming and provided outstanding service. In particular, the concierge were very friendly, well informed and helpful.
We had dinner in the hotel, enjoying a relaxed drink in the elegant lounge before dinner. The dinner menu was inventive, the food was superb and beautifully presented. The staff welcoming and highly professional. Breakfast was equally as enjoyable.
The location is amazing, right in the heart of this lovely city. The colleges and shops are all just a short stroll away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutcliffe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for writing your very nice review on tripadvisor about the hotel. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found that the bedrooms were comfortable and you enjoyed the extra additions that we have recently added to the executive rooms inclusing Nespresso machines.

It was very pleasing to learn that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast in our restaurant.

Thank you once again,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Spent a lovely weekend in Oxford, where the hotel was well situated, our room very large and comfortable, but where the real star was the service. A special thank you to Will the Concierge who took special care to give our lovely Golden Retriever VIP treatment. Nothing short of exceptional, and we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GloballyLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
I was extremely pleased that you had a lovely weekend in Oxford and enjoyed the hotel. Thank you for your generous comment regarding the service.

I was very pleased that William, our Assistant Head Concierge was able to take special care of your golden retriever - as a dog lover he sometimes seems to get more excited about the dogs than the guests!

Thank you once again,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has its 150 year history on its side to give a unique atmosphere and character. It's heritage has been retained as far as possible and with a full compliment of 5-star staff, this hotel would be hard to beat. The friendly and highly professional team ensure a warm welcome for everyone whether you are a resident or just popping in for a drink. Afternoon tea in the lounge needs to be booked well in advance of your stay. Valet parking was very convenient if a little expensive.
If you prefer a 'room with a view' the compromise is noise from the streets below - Saturday night revelry lasts until Sunday morning!
The room was exceptionally clean, well appointed and even included a Nespresso. Turn-down service was also provided.
The restaurant is grand with high ceilings, yet was warm and cosy for dinner. The food was exquisite and the service superb.
Breakfast was excellent and with a service level to match. There is also a spa but we didn't visit as we walked around the colleges and shops.
Overall, a fabulous hotel where service is everything.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dumpybumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback - I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I am delighted that you found the team to be friendly and highly professional.

Afternoon tea at The Randolph is an Oxford institution and does get extremely busy. We always recommend guests to book in advance to avoid being disappointed.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I am sure in its heyday this was "the hotel" of Oxford. However the old and quaint colleges and other buildings, don't necessarily make travellers to Oxford want to stay at an establishment where everything seems well past it's sell by date.

Where do I start?
Well the entrance area is fine. The service is average and considering its so called 5 star rating, I would say poorish.
My real gripe is about the rooms. The sofa in my room had springs that wouldn't (spring I mean) and sitting on it mean't you were at risk of being consumed!. The floor boards creaked. The bathroom taps trickled tiny amounts of water only. The shower control was rock hard and if an elderly guest would try to use it, I suspect they wouldn't physically be able to. The bathroom floor was slippery and a hazard.
No double glazing and the central position in the busiest part of Oxford mean't that road noise was a major problem.
In the middle of a cold rainy winter, I had to switch the air conditioning on because the room was too hot and I certainly couldn't open a window.
Also every day I was there staff would knock at 6-30pm offering to "turn the room down". Does everyone go to bed by 7 in the Town or what?!

I think it could be a fantastic establishment but management need to refurbish it completely and obviously sympathetically. I suspect the outlay would be enormous and perhaps that is why it hasn't already been done.

The location is excellent but I will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salman_zaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time and trouble to write your review - I was sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at the hotel.

Firstly, I was concerned you felt that the service recieved from the staff was average. This is not our normal feedback - we strive to offer the highest level of care and service possible.

With regards to your room, I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed. We have a maintenance team within the hotel who strive to ensure that the hotel is kept to the highest standard.

Once again on behalf of the hotel I am sorry that we failed to live up to your expectations.

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Property: Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing