We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay until they tried to charge us for things we didn't have!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My Fiancé surprised with a 1 night stay here last week to celebrate my 30th. First impressions weren't great when we were advised by the concierge that the parking costs £26! After our shock we were warmly checked in by a lovely girl at reception. We were slightly early and changed our room so that we could settle in straight away. She asked what the occasion was and sent a bottle of free champagne to the room which was a lovely touch. That afternoon we explored Oxford and on our return the was a birthday card, wine and chocolates from the hotel! This was lovely! Again on check out the receptionist was very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We left with a fantastic impression of the hotel. Tonight we've received an email from the hotel trying to charge us for things we didn't have from the mini bar. After speaking to them we've been advised that its possible it was the customers who previously stayed in that room and they admitted that they need to have a better system in place for things like this. We loved our stay here, it was perfect but this 'mix up' is not something I'd expect from a 5 star hotel that cost a lot of money to start with. It's not left us with the amazing last impression that we previously had.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairesjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth T, Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Clair

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel for your surprise 30th Birthday treat. I am pleased that you enjoyed the service and the attentiveness of the team while you were staying with us. The birthday card and the champagne really help to demonstrate the proactive approach and thoughtfulness of the front office team that we are very proud of with regard to offering genuine hospitality. I am sorry that you were contacted to settle for minibar incidentals after your departure as this was clearly an error on our part. We have a robust system in place to ensure these mistakes do not happen which we will of course now place under review to ensure that incidents of this nature are avoided in the future. I hope that this will not cloud your memories of what sounded like a thoroughly enjoyable short stay. I hope to welcome you back to The Macdonald Randolph in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Gareth Tebbutt, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,088 - 2,094 of 3,275 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Having just returned from a trip to New England, a weekend break with friends in Oxford back in 'old' England was a treat for us. Having just experienced the delights of American hotels we were prepared for something a little less at the Randolph. But from the time we arrived we were treated excellently, we walked in at 2pm but our room was not ready so we received complimentary coffee, tea and biscuits, very welcome! Our room at the front of the hotel, overlooking the magnificent Ashmolean Museum was not quite as big as our recent American experience but was very pleasant indeed and bigger than most UK hotel rooms, the bathroom was large even by US standards, with Molton Brown soaps and shampoos as well. We had booked a meal on a deal costing £25 per head and were pleasantly surprised by the quality and range of choice, this was a real bargain. The breakfasts are great and a full cooked breakfast sets you up for the day, we did not need to eat again until the evening.
The Randolph is ideally situated for a walk around Oxford City centre which was not only spared Hitler's bombs but more thankfully the depredations of 1960s-70s architects and town planners (who probably went to Oxford so didn't want to spoil it!)

The Randolph was a great place to stay and offers a first class experience with very attentive staff in a very busy hotel. Parking the car for £26 a night seemed at first a bit steep but when compared with town centre parking in Oxford it was quite reasonable, and the car was valet parked for us. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is very popular but try and get a room at the front. We rang a few days beforehand and wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth T, Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Paul d

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I am pleased that your “old” England experience did not disappoint and that you felt well looked after during your time with us. Our Head Chef and food and beverage team will be most motivated by your comments and I will be sure to share these with the teams at our weekly management meeting to ensure that they receive the praise that they deserve. Our signature breakfast really is a feast and sets you up perfectly for a day of retail therapy and sightseeing. Our central location is the ideal base to enjoy the city which has so much to offer and as you have said we are directly across the road from the famous Ashmolean Museum. Thank you again for your kind words and I hope to be welcoming you back The Macdonald Randolph Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Gareth Tebbutt, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I had a chance to stay at this hotel on business. The service was impeccable and breakfast was always great. The room was spacious for one person. The toiletries was from Molton Brown. They provided water in the room free of charge with a choice of natural or sparkling along with a box of truffle chocolates. A pair of slippers and bathrobe were provided. The location is excellent and close to other restaurants and shops. If flying from London Heathrow, you could arrange directly through the hotel for a private airport transfer (132£ one way). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkiebax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth T, Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear yorkiebax

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and made use of the little extras that come as standard here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. Molten brown toiletries are a little touch of luxury that helps us to raise our standards from most of our competitors and we feel that the little touches and attention to detail can make a guests experience that little bit more comfortable. We are proud of our service levels and are always striving to improve so thank you for your kind words regarding this aspect of your stay. I hope to be welcoming you back The Macdonald Randolph Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Gareth Tebbutt, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel built in the 1860's. The rooms are very large and luxurious. The location is wonderful, near the colleges and High Street. The hotel has a bar, restaurant, and mini bars in the room. The staff was very helpful and they had a car service to take us to London. The driver was also very nice. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendySanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth T, Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear WendySanAntonio

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. We are in the fortunate position where we can cater for almost all of our guests needs while staying with us and I am pleased that the driver we arranged for your transfer to London was agreeable. I hope to be welcoming you back The Macdonald Randolph Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Gareth Tebbutt, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had the good fortune to stay at the Randolph for one night whilst visiting Oxford. From the moment we arrived the friendliness and professionalism of the staff were apparent. The concierge parked our car on site (at extra cost) and our mini-holiday really began. The hotel is in the perfect location for exploring Oxford and very handy for dropping your shopping bags back to when you can't carry any more! The room was spotlessly clean and really comfortable with all the little essentials supplied-such as a hairdryer, kettle and iron.
Everyone was very friendly and helpful, ensuring our stay was memorable. The Hotel has an elegant atmosphere but not so much so that you felt uncomfortable.
We would love to stay here again, very soon we hope!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth T, Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Jeff W

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback at our weekly Managers meeting as we all strive to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable time while staying with us. Our central location is certainly hard to beat and where better to relax after a hard day’s retail therapy that the Macdonald Randolph Hotel, May I suggest a visit to our Spa on your next visit to bring your levels of enjoyment and relaxation even higher. I hope to be welcoming you back The Macdonald Randolph Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Gareth Tebbutt, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Randolph for one night to go to a concert at the Oxford Theatre just along the road. There were lots of things to like about this hotel - good central location, efficient check-in, a nice spacious room (we booked an executive double) which looked like it had recently been refurbished and a pleasant restaurant for breakfast (and good food and service) the following morning. However, I don't feel it's worth more than an average rating because of two things. Firstly, while our bathroom was clean and modern, the shower had just about the weakest water pressure we've ever experienced - more of a dribble than a power shower - not the best way to start the day! Secondly, the much-acclaimed Morse bar was a bit of a let down. We were keen to enjoy a drink in the bar after our concert but found that the bar area (which seemed incredibly small for a hotel of its size) was absolutely packed out with just one bar man running around in a frenzy trying to serve everyone. We were dispatched (by the bar man) to sit in the tea lounge along the corridor but, despite his promises to come in and serve us a drink in there, nothing happened so we eventually went off to our room. This is no criticism of that member of staff - he was clearly run off his feet - but it seemed slightly mad that he had been left on his own to try and cope with a huge number of people. Given that this is not a cheap hotel, we felt that getting a decent shower and being able to get a drink at the bar should be taken for granted.

Room Tip: We'd definitely recommend going for an executive double to get the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatashaHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth T, Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Natasha Hertfordshire

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments regarding your stay at our weekly Management meeting and will certainly be investigating why your water pressure was lacking and the Morse Bar appeared understaffed for the evening that you spent with us. I hope that you will return in the future to allow us to restore your faith in The Macdonald Randolph Hotel.

Yours sincerely

Gareth Tebbutt, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The good: Service was generally good, room very clean, comfy bed and towels were exceptionally fluffy.

Now for the not so good:
- The elevators really do need replacing. They are incredibly slow.
- The "Morse Bar" does not sell real ale on draught (Note to hotel management: John Smiths is not real ale). Given that its namesake was a real ale aficionado, this is unforgivable and I'm surprised Colin Dexter allows the association. How about something from a local brewer?
- Service in the Morse Bar was very slow.
- Coffee at breakfast was just awful.
- Bathroom was far too small. It was impossible to get in and out of the shower without opening the shower screen over the floor, which of course puts water all over the floor.
- Shower water pressure was far too low. Surprising since the pressure from the bath taps was very good.

None of the above are really things you'd expect to criticise in a 5 star establishment.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Random_Person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth T, Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Random_Person

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed the general service levels and the fluffiness of the towelling that we supply. The lifts at the Randolph do appear slower than others but our ceilings are also double the height of your usual building so in effect they are travelling over two floors to the usual one which is easily forgotten while in the lift waiting for the floor you desire to be displayed and for the doors to open. Real Ale in the Morse bar is certainly something we have considered and delivered on many an occasion but it simply does not sell and the wastage involved is unfortunately and unviable option. Colin Dexter still frequents the Morse Bar on a regular basis and has nothing negative to say about the association. I will be addressing the coffee comment with the Restaurant Manager to ensure our consistency and am at a loss to why you experienced a lack of water pressure as this is not our usual feedback. Thank you once again for your constructive comments which will certainly help us refine our offering. I hope to be welcoming you back to The Macdonald Randolph in the future should your travel plans bring you back to the City of Oxford.

Yours sincerely

Gareth Tebbutt, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $182 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing