We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very warm welcome indeed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived a little late due to traffic, but were welcomed warmly and kindly, had a reservation for a late supper taken, and went up to our small but very comfy room (lovely classical music playing on the TV). We were hungry, so we inhaled the gorgeous complimentary chocs, then popped back down to the Morse bar. Menus were produced as we settled with a bottle of very nice white indeed and we placed our food order, sitting in the cute, very English, quirkily comfortable bar, then we were ushered to a table in the gorgeous restaurant for an unhurried meal; my wife had a beautiful cauliflower souffle and I had a delicious guinea fowl terrine. Back up to the room to a very comfortable bed, then a great cooked breakfast next morning, and back out into the world feeling refreshed and happy, and very very impressed with a faultless hotel, with great service, nice people, and lovely food. We will be back...

Room Tip: 355 is small, but very comfy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pxyzyzygy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,239 - 2,245 of 3,205 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

time for a savoy type makeover.this hotel seems tired and vulnerable but has a spark of life that is well worth rejuvenating.the staff seem very competent and of a higher caliber than the hotel fabric would suggest.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tylluan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Friendly welcome from the minute you step through the door. Old classic touches, corsierge taking your bags, pleasant receptionist Kelly. Calling from your room for milk and ice etc, delivered immediately, crystal glasses in room. Room 330 did not have a good view, but it was tastefully decorated, clean and quiet. Bathroom spotless with robes and slippers for use, luxury toiletries. We did not eat or drink in the hotel and it does seem to favour the older person looking for theses old traditions. Our friends had a room on the front good view over the Catherine cross monument, high ceilings and big windows however the room envy disappeared as it was noisy from the main road. The corridors are very creaky and could do with freshening up, but definately recommend as the location is brilliant

Room Tip: Front rooms bigger but noisy, back rooms qieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liver070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night, it's a 10 min walk from Oxford train station. The room was small but this is the nature of the hotel as it is an old building in the centre of Oxford. It would not create the same atmosphere and impression if it was modernised for example there was a free standing sink with no surrounding unit such as is found in modern design hotels but it was a traditional design bathroom. Small cracks in plaster and subtle signs of wear but nothing worse than to be expected in an old building. Staff very attentive, with all the usual high quality trimmings that one expects from a Macdonald. The spa costs extra which is a bit naughty considering the price of the rooms but I didn't have time to use it. Beautiful hotel with sweeping staircase. Morse bar very busy in the day with non resident tourists feels like the hotel is being taken over but we had a drink in the drawing room late in the evening after the bar was closed to non residents and it was perfect, a stunning room with genuine ambiance of old world England. The hotel is probably a little over priced but the location is central and if I were to visit Oxford again I wouldn't hesitate to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jivedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Having stayed at the Randolph a number of times on business and also with the family, we decided to have a weekend break in Oxford to celebrate my son's birthday and decided to stay at the Randolph again to be able to relax and take best advantage of the city.

The Randolph is a beautiful hotel set right in the heart of Oxford and with a great outlook over the Ashmolean Museum.

Right from the start with the greeting from the concierge and reception, the staff were friendly and attentive. This was particularly important given it was my son's birthday - they were kind enough to remember it was his birthday which he loved and were always great with both kids.

We had a lovely room overlooking the museum and also a beautiful breakfast the next morning (we went out to the nearby Brown's restaurant in the evening as more suitable with our younger kids) in the quite grand restaurant. Cooked breakfasts and the buffet were both superb and top hotel standard.

As others have mentioned the afternoon tea is also lovely if you have time - but make sure you reserve as there are limited tables!

Definitely will stay again and recommend as a great base for an Oxford trip!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkDavidWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have always lived in Oxford, having been to Balls, and Weddings here, this was my first experience of afternoon tea, the tea lounge is lovely very ornate, as you would expect but was a little cramped, like the idea of assorted chairs, but they are of different heights, so my tea party of 7 was a little bit unusual, as we had a settee and 2 different heights of chairs but nevertheless, if you are a two or three you do have chairs of the right height ! - we ordered the set afternoon tea for £20, (this was presented on the 3 tiered stand, oblong sandwiches, (I still prefer triangles) and I fear these were not freshly made as the bread was a tad try as if it they had been prepared and left under cling film, the little dinky cakes were lovely and the scones were good, and the jams & cream lovely, I would say that if you are not a big eater, you share the tea and pay for a separate pot of tea (they will also serve coffee) Over all, a nice tea, but I am afraid I have had better, but the ambiance of the place is lovely, and I would say, as always you make your own mind up, every person's preferences are so different

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank debscoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

You arrived the concierge greets you like an old valuable friend takes all your bags and off you go to reception ( for any help or advice see this man he is brilliant) where a rather frosty reception to a man or woman reads you the bill of rights.

Three areas of the Randolph are created by highly motivated staff, the concierge and front of house greeters. the restaurant staff and the ladies who are responsible for the upkeep of the rooms all these persons punch well above their weight and serve to belay the shortcomings of staff who are pretentious,and lack their high standards rather they mask themselves behind reputations made by other visitors.

On our travels to our room we thought the loudly creaking floor boards rather quaint, however these resonated loudly in the dead of night whenever persons traversed the corridor & quite disconcerting as it sounds like they are entering the room.

Overview:
My room 230 at the rear was once again a wall with a view. A yard of six enormous ventilation fans which likened sometimes being in a 737 preparing for take off. The internal air conditioning was extremely noisy and with the creaking floorboards made sound sleep almost impossible.

Heating wise the rooms were just bearable. In regards to the view I came to Oxford to see the beautiful sights so really another hotel with a wall view did not worry me the noise however did.

The room was large and spotlessly clean. Well appointed with a comfortable bed and period furniture / comfortable chairs. Very Nice indeed.

Afternoon Tea is a poor value affair run by persons who assume customer service to be a thing of the past or a dashed inconvenient nuisance.

The restaurant food was good however the 400% mark up and more on liqueurs and wine especially individually glasses is a disgrace and the management should be ashamed. More reasons to dine elsewhere.

Finally it would appear the hotel has a franchise with the Daily Mail newspaper which was supplied in lieu of the Times I ordered two days running. Taking the paper back to a very frosty receptionist I explained the error. The paper was promptly removed to the bin without comment on both occasions. Poor Very Poor.

Visitors go to Oxford it is a beautiful City. Clean and welcoming. Use the Randolph it is steeped in recent TV fame but I do think shopping around can get you a better deal. The hotel reputation for a TV series does not warrant it's obvious shortcomings.

Visit the great museums and colleges. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacclesfieldGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
715 reviews
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $215 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing