We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,301)
Filter reviews
1,301 results
Traveler rating
864
332
75
21
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
864
332
75
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quod restaurant high street car park radcliffe camera modern art magpie university church perfect location lovely hotel bodleian library separate shower dreaming spires sister hotel boutique hotel reception staff fresh milk old parsonage
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,301 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2017

The Old Bank is a delightful boutique hotel in the centre of Oxford within easy walking distance of most sights and colleges. The rooms are luxuriously furnished with comfy beds and linens. The hotel service is very good and reception was welcoming. There is an excellent in-house restaurant called Quod where we ate an excellent meal one evening.
The rooms on the High Street can be noisy and it is recommended to request a rear room facing the car park.
The only issue was that there was a nasty smell of drains in our bathroom. It was quickly cleansed, but I suspect that the plumbing needs a more thorough "deep-clean", at least on the top floor where our room was located.

Room Tip: Rear room facing car park to avoid High Street noise
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CavalinoRampante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Thank you for your review and your kind words. I am very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you made the most of your time in Oxford.

We do receive a mixed response to rooms overlooking the High Street. The views of the Oxford skyline are unparalleled, though some people do find the noise from the High Street to be intrusive. I suspect it is dependent upon what one is used to? Naturally, rear facing rooms are quieter.

Apologies for the plumbing issue. Thankfully this was an isolated incident and has been rectified.

I am also pleased to hear how much you enjoyed Quod restaurant and note that you have left a favourable review; thanks again.

We do hope to see you again?

Best wishes, Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

Very friendly welcome and excellent service. My room was well-equipped and spotlessly clean but a bit on the small size considering the price. Free bottled water in the room as well as free WiFi and a daily newspaper of one's choice. Top class bed linen with a quality duvet. Lovely staff.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Admiralpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Thank you for your succinct and praiseworthy review! It is wonderful to hear such compliments for the staff and I have shared your comments with my colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you next time.

Kind regards

Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful, very clean and quit friendly. Across the street from Oxford University, very convenient to great pubs and shopping. Restaurant on site, so so for dinner, better for breakfast. Near Christ Church Oxford Cathedral which is beautiful.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review - delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. As innumerable previous reviewers have noted, our location is ideal for exploring all that Oxford has to offer.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dinner. You do not elaborate and we are always pleased to receive comments and constructive feedback.

Thank you again; we hope you will consider us when next in Oxford?

Kind regards, Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

The Old Bank Hotel lies right in the heart of Oxford. The hotel has interesting, original art throughout. The beds are just right for catching up on jet lag. The towels are some of the best I’ve used! We particularly enjoyed the Quod restaurant and had several meals there.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jjchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Thank you very much for your terrific comments! I have to concur with your opinion of the towels; they are luxurious...

Thank you too for your compliments for Quod Restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards, Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017

Spacious room, tastefully decorated, overlooking main street but not noisy. From the time we arrived until we left, staff were welcoming, friendly & eager to help in any way. We ate at the hotel's restaurant & though it was very busy, we were kept up to date on progress. The dinner was very good & one of the best we have had. Previous reviews had mentioned the lack of tea/coffee making facilities & it was pleasing to find that management had addressed this concern & provided these items. The other bonus was a car park at the rear of the hotel, which is quite a find for the town. We were give directions on how to find it which was very helpful. We would definitely recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: Good to have a view of high street & watch the world go by!
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review! We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your compliments to colleagues in Quod Restaurant.

I am especially pleased to hear how welcoming and helpful the staff were.

We do hope you will visit us again?

Best wishes, Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews