We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Center of Oxford”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

All the great reviews are well deserved. This is a very comfortable hotel in the heart of Oxford. Our daughter is attending Oxford and this hotel was close to her College. It is in the heart of Oxford and walking distance to virtually everything. There is no better location. The rooms are very comfortable if a bit small -- but they have everything you need. The bathrooms are modern, the beds comfortable, and the service from the front desk to all the help were very professional and accomodating. We also ate several times at the restaurant and were pleased with that as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DHCWESTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thanks so much for your review
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here over Christmas 2013 with my kids (grown up). The staff here are so friendly and helpful, the rooms were perfectly fine for us, we had one double and a triple that slept three adults very comfortably. The restaurant and food were fabulous. Great location. All in all staying here made our Christmas special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tennistaitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thanks so much for your review

I hope to see you very soon.

Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel has an excellent localization, in walking distance of all the main attractions in Oxford. The room is of average size, not too big. The bathroom, the bed and towels are very good. There are coffee facilities and free wi-fi. The breakfast (paid separately) is good, with a la carte options or the continental or English breakfast. The brasserie downstairs has good options of english food and a reasonable wine list, it is very OK to have lunch or dinner. It is a good option to know Oxford, even on business or leisure

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raferria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thanks so much for your review

See you very soon.

Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We had a really nice time here. It's a boutique place with a reasonably good restaurant in a stunning location. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, really went out of their way to accommodate us. The room and bathroom were very tastefully done and we like the art exhibited throughout the hotel. The bedding was fantastic and we had a good nights rest, quite too.
We ate dinner at the QUOD restaurant in the same building, very nicely located in a stunning setting looking on to high street and beyond. Food was good, very nice presentation but not of outstanding.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank viceroy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thanks so much.
I'm really glad you had a lovely time with us.
Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Old Bank.The location is perfect for getting anywhere in Oxford and our room though small had everything we needed.Plenty of plug sockets including a neat 4 way adaptor on the desk.Really good toiletries in the bathroom and no outside noise at night,quiet and peaceful. A special mention for the staff who gave us a great welcome on arrival and were all extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay.Look forward to the next visit!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MM1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thanks very much for your review
See you soon
Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We loved the hotel having stayed one night in a great room at the front of the hotel. The room was beautifully furnished with a very comfy bed, great little touches abound, the bathroom is fairly small but still fine. We loved the original artwork in the hotel which gave it a really individual feel.
We liked the buzzy atmosphere in the Quod brasserie attached to the hotel and the breakfast was excellent, although the buffet was a little sparse at the time of our visit.

The worst thing about the whole experience was navgating the horrendous Oxford traffic system. I'm convinced I have a fine coming for driving in a road I was not supposed to.

If you staying in Oxford you should stay here, we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thanks so much for your review

Really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I do hope you didn't receive a fine from the traffic restriction. We do always suggest guest call us if they are in any doubt so we can guide vehicles in.

See you soon.

Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a glorious weekend in Oxford and our stay at the Old Bank Hotel could not have been nicer. It is everything that the reviewers say and more. We were given a wonderful upgrade so that we could have a beautiful view over the spires of the city and I shall remember waking up to gargoyles and the Radcliffe Camera for a long time to come! The bed was super comfortable, the room quiet, spotlessly clean and had everything you could want for a comfortable and luxurious stay. Particularly loved the delicious bath and shower gels, shampoos and a wonderful little pack of creams. There was a real sense of adding extra value to your stay at no extra cost which we really appreciated.

MOST of all though, I have to say that the staff at this hotel are among the most efficient, polite, helpful I have come across (I travel a lot for work and stay in many hotels around the world so this is saying something!!) We really felt they went above and beyond to be helpful at every juncture, EVEN cleaning our car and windscreen before we left - all with a smile and super efficient, slick way. We particularly liked meeting Harry and wish him all the best with his studies!! :)

Thank you so much to all the staff at the Bank Hotel for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 40 - beautiful view towards the Rad. Cam. and gargoyles just outside the window. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tumtumtutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $272 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing