We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STYLISH AND COSY HOTEL IN HEART OF OXFORD”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was our choice for a weekend in Oxford, and the location is perfect, 2 minutes from Radcliffe Camera, 10 mins from Ashmolean and a few mins from the shops. It was a chilly December weekend so it was good to find the hotel so well heated, nice and cosy. Our room wasn't very big, but comfortable, with good lighting by the bed and overhead, and a very nicely fitted-out bathroom. Furnishings are muted/neutral and there are a lots of lovely paintings and prints on the walls. The Quod restaurant is quite buzzy, breakfast had huge choice and was cooked to order. We also enjoyed a nice meal here one evening. Free extras such as tickets for the Moore/Bacon at the Ashmolean and a free guided walking tour give real value for money. The staff were all young, friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Rooms at back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandieLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

We were three friends staying one night at The Old Bank, and what a wonderful place to stay!! (I was very disappointed last time I stayed at another hotel in Oxford..) Very friendly staff, lovely, clean rooms (we loved nr 4, a twin bed superior), the best location. We had dinner at the hotel's own restaurant while listening to jazz music - nice!

We'll be back!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank SunseekerOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights while lecturing at the College. So wonderful. The beds and the service was top notch. I really appreciated the recommendations from the staff on local places for a bite. .. Will continue to book here.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank jrsplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My mother, brother, and I stayed here for one night and for the price expected a bit more. I ended up with the nicer room -- quite large with two big windows facing High Street, but the other two rooms weren't that remarkable. I felt like the high expense of this hotel was really due to it's fantastic location. I don't know how you could be more in the center of things, so in that sense the value was excellent. Staff were all very helpful, especially in promptly routing us for parking. Beds and linens were quite comfortable and the bathrooms were fine. We had breakfast served in our rooms and it was also good. I would stay here again, maybe just close my eyes as I hand over my credit card . . .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is our favourite hotel in the UK. Situated in the centre of Oxford, the hotel is excellent in every way. The welcome is warm and attentive; the rooms modern, luxurious and comfortable; and the brasserie downstairs lively and high quality.

We have stayed here on many occasions over the years and the charm of this place never wanes. The mixture of traditional ambience with a modern and up-to-date feel is exactly what we like and, oh my goodness, what a wonderful location in this fantastic city. Within a short walk of all the major sights in Oxford, this has to be one of the best spots in which to be based. Everything of note can be reached on foot within just a few minutes.

Do we ever find anywhere that we like better? No.

We have recommended this hotel to numerous friends and family over the years, and everyone leaves with the same feeling that they have been incredibly well looked after and wanting to return again as soon as possible.

Please don't change anything. We love this place and like it just the way it is.

Room Tip: All of the rooms that we have stayed in are excellent but all are a little different, which is one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

In October, my husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the Old Bank Hotel while touring around Oxford. It is a smaller, boutique hotel that is luxurious in every way. It is an excellent city location, centrally located on High Street. Our room was a standard King, well-appointed with a French press for coffee, electric kettle. The bathroom was modern, yet charming with a separate shower stall and a large tub and plenty of counter space. The front desk service was superlative--very pleasant, professional and helpful in making reservations, arranging a walking tour, giving directions, providing umbrellas. Room service was also pleasant and attentive. Parking is very handy, right behind the hotel. We ate at the Quod restaurant - excellent service and food.
A friend recommended this hotel to us, I would definitely recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmv1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We recently attended a concert Oxford, and the Old Bank Hotel was the perfect choice for our lodging. It is in the heart of Oxford University, with entertainment, pubs, and nice restaurants in close proximity. The hotel is very well managed. We took advantage of a two hour tour of the campus of Oxford University conducted by David, and it was the highlight of our trip to England. The hotel provides this tour at no charge, and it is second to none. David was truly delightful, and the two hours passed by in a flash. While the Hotel is a little pricey, it is well worth paying extra for the incredible convenience and free convenient parking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmettotraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
735 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $253 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing