We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Bank Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Euro Bar(Oxford)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,253)
Filter reviews
1,253 results
Traveler rating
832
324
71
19
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
832
324
71
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquod restauranthigh streetcar parkradcliffe cameramodern artmagpieuniversity churchwalking tourperfect locationlovely hotelcovered marketbodleian libraryboutique hotelsister hotelfresh milkcentral oxfordmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
553 - 558 of 1,253 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed in Oxford only one night, and the staff was very helpful giving us guidance for touring the city and recommending transportation to Blenheim Palace the next day. The hotel is centrally located, and has a lift with only one small stelp from the street level. The room was spacious and well equipped with a shower and tub. Though we did not test it, we acknowledged the warning that the water pressure is quite good, and not to leave a running bath unattended. The staff was very helpful, both at check-in and departure. This is not a bargain hotel, but if location is important, it is worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlaHockeyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Fantastic location in the centre of Oxford, with helpful and very friendly staff. We parked conveniently in the carpark at the back of the hotel and were directed by telephone there by one of the team - we probably wouldn't have found it without him - so thank you.

The room was lovely and had everything we needed and the breakfast included in our price was very tasty. I would certainly recommend a stay here. Complimentary champagne and afternoon tea as part of the package was also very well received - especially as it was husband's birthday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as we did have experience noise from passersby returning from a night out.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetoescape2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Old Bank Hotel captures the spirit of modern Oxford like no other place. Located right in the centre of the city, opposite some of its most iconic landmarks, this charming, warm watering hole with rooms gives you the real feel of a top university city which knows itself well.
The restaurant offers a wide choice - you can eat 'pub' grub or scrub up a bit to something more posh. The wine list is interesting and offers good choice between new world and traditional.
Having eaten well, sampled terrific service - often from warm-hearted students earning some extra cash - you can then retire to your room. Rooms can be cramped and a very 'city centre', but nonetheless adequate. You shouldn't go to Oxford and spend too much time in your room anyway. If it bothers you, ask for a big suite ( which will get you an average sized American room). A great spot to adventure from.

Room Tip: If you want a 'big' room, be sure to say this when you book.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

All the staff here can't do enough to help.
They Hotel is beautiful and modern. The beds are super comfortable. Convenient car parking.
The breakfast is fantastic with a choice of hot dishes and a great selection of pastries and cereals.
We also used the meeting facilities which were perfect for our small meeting.
Slightly expensive but great for treat.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theomillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We loved our stay at the Old Bank Hotel, while driving, we should have been more careful to find the entrance to the parking which is situated quite a long distance from the htel on the main road, as we had to turn back in town where circulation is forbidden! Anyway once the entrance was foynd, it is well indicated and the parking so well situated right in city centre, at back of hotel. We were gven a fantasstic room, overlooking he main road opposite the spires. We had a large bed and a convertible sofa or our 7 yr old child. She loved it. The reception staff, very professional and helpful. The room perfectly clean and totally silent. We loved evry mnute of our stay. We ate at the hotel brasserie where the food was good and the staff nice to children. The hotel is perfectly situated for discovering the town and the reception staff were very helful withtheir advice. We wish we can go back to Old Bank Htel next time for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranceMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews