We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oxford Stopover”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Old Bank Hotel with another couple for I night in September 2012. We were each impressed with our comfortable rooms and the location of the hotel itself. The highlight for us was the free walking tour organised by the hotel; the lovely gentleman who escorted us was very knowledgeable and also attentive to our questions. We didn't have any meals at the hotel but staff we encountered were friendly and the hotel itself had a lovely ambience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Everything about the hotel is great. Due to illness we ended up eating in the hotel restaurant for all but one meal. The food was good (not exceptional), the service was lovely, even thought the place was packed. The rooms are good sizes, clean, and the service was efficient, helpful, and pleasant. We spent some time in the new lounge, which was also lovely. The only suggestion I have is that they put security locks on the inside of the doors. Housekeeping woke us up twice and once while in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed there for my daughter's wedding. The Old Bank staff were exceptional in their helpfulness in every way. Rooms small and compact but comfortable. Internet did not work for me and staff offered an iPad for use. Access to the parking a little trickery. Fresh milk for morning tea rather than the little plastic milk containers in the room. Good breakfast selection. Location near Teddy Hall.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is my third time to stay in this hotel. I found it's cozy, warm, and the location is very convenient. The only thing is you have to aware the driving route to the hotel because it's in the restrict area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Only spent 1 night there, we were lost while driving to town , trying to avoid the restricted road but there is no way you can get into the car park to our understanding . Called the hotel and their reception was already waiting there at a special gate to let our car in and guide us by walking in front . Very impressive of their attentive service .

Rooms are standard size with a good size bathroom having both bath tub and shower. After we checked in, the city and university tour guide was already there waiting for us , it was complimentary by the hotel as well as using their bicycles but better reserved your preferred dates of tour before your arrival .

We enjoyed our 1 hour city walk with detailed explanation of the surroundings but when talking about dining places, it took us at least 15 mins to go where we wanted on the other side of the town because driving is not advised even night time to find a parking spot .

I think the hotel is very nice in a convenient lication for sightseeing but i think it's a bit pricy if I compared with another city like Bath but I will still recommend for travellers after reading comments on other hotels in Oxford.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful night-stop in central Oxford. Location could not have been better for an evening stroll around the City, having ditched the car in their secret car park. I loved the quirky artwork throughout the hotel and in my room and revelled in the huge bathroom. All staff were really helpful, from my initial phone enquiry, through the tiny jug of fresh milk delivered to my door on a tray, to check-out. No disappointments, no suprises. Everything was crisp, clean and fresh and I enjoyed working in the room, overlooking the courtyard. Blissful night's sleep. I'd recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank with_bags_packed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have just stayed at the Old Bank hotel and I whilst it's a nice clean hotel, with good location and friendly service. it is just that, nothing special, very simple rooms and facilities. Don't get me wrong, there is nothing bad about that, if it was not because of the price!! Almost 300 pounds for a double room?? Without even breakfast? It's totally not worth it. I would definitely recommend it as a nice hotel if they charged 150pounds, but nnot more. Definitely nothing special and I wouldn't recomend it for a special occasion or something like that.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mzun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
2.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
747 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $235 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing