We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Oxford”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Central Oxford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful night-stop in central Oxford. Location could not have been better for an evening stroll around the City, having ditched the car in their secret car park. I loved the quirky artwork throughout the hotel and in my room and revelled in the huge bathroom. All staff were really helpful, from my initial phone enquiry, through the tiny jug of fresh milk delivered to my door on a tray, to check-out. No disappointments, no suprises. Everything was crisp, clean and fresh and I enjoyed working in the room, overlooking the courtyard. Blissful night's sleep. I'd recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank with_bags_packed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    297
    64
    19
    6
See reviews for
205
599
47
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I have just stayed at the Old Bank hotel and I whilst it's a nice clean hotel, with good location and friendly service. it is just that, nothing special, very simple rooms and facilities. Don't get me wrong, there is nothing bad about that, if it was not because of the price!! Almost 300 pounds for a double room?? Without even breakfast? It's totally not worth it. I would definitely recommend it as a nice hotel if they charged 150pounds, but nnot more. Definitely nothing special and I wouldn't recomend it for a special occasion or something like that.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mzun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location and we weren't disappointed. Although our room was extremely small and we expected bigger, it was very enjoyable due to the great staff who were extremely helpful and courteous. We only had 24 hours to enjoy Oxford so the staff were able to advise on things to see and do. Due to the location of the Hotel, we were able to easily walk to the loations we needed to get to. Would recommend this Hotel for anyone staying in Oxford.

Room Tip: Request a large size room that does not face the eating courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in a standard room on a Sunday evening prior to our daughters graduation. The room was small but Had everything we needed. In fact the bed was very comfortable. We sat in the bar and listened to some jazz and then ad dinner. The service was a little slow but it was very busy.
Overall a great stay- would recommend to others. Added bonus was the carpark!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Love the hotel interiors, sympathetic to the historic buildings but nice complementary modern design. The restaurant is inventive and we had 4 lovely dinners and breakfast every day there.The location is absolutely perfect for enjoying the best of Oxford. We were travelling with a toddler, so it was very handy to have so much to see within 10 minutes' walk and be able to dash back to the hotel for something forgotten, or lunch. The staff is wonderful--really service-oriented. Not fussy, self-conscious, "waiting on you hand & foot madam" service, but warm, understated, helpful, and efficient. They really think about guests' needs. A staff member saw my husband grappling a suitcase and stepped in to help him out to the car before he could ask. It was only afterward that we learned he was the hotel manager. Desk staff were always happy to whisk our stroller into storage when we returned to the hotel and back out again. Although it seems to be a popular hotel for business travellers, they were very accommodating to us with a child in the hotel and restaurant, without sacrificing the elegant adult ambience. We accompanied my husband on a business trip this time, but the trip was such a pleasure, both Oxford and the Old Bank, that we're planning a holiday trip back. Would love to try their other hotel, the Old Parsonage as well. Although you might find lower room rates in this bracket, the Old Bank really delivers on value--we had a charmed stay and it was well worth it. PS Don't miss the guest services binder in the rooms, the insider suggestions about things to see and do in Oxford are so good, it has the makings of a great guide book!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a great view of the University Church of St. Mary and the Radcliffe Camera b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTraveller956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Old Bank on a Friday night because we did not want to have rush back to London after a concert we had been attending. I chose the Old Bank because of the positive reviews here and we were very pleased with our choice. The location could not have been better and was within easy walking distance of just about everything. Importantly, access by car was outstandingly easy with clear directions and a large, free car park at the back of the hotel. The setting of the hotel is absolutely delightful and although there didn't seem to be much in the way of public spaces, it was perfectly the comfortable. We had a standard double room (206) which was at the back so very quiet and spacious enough, but not huge.

If I were to nit-pick, the restaurant (Quod) seemed a bit detached from the hotel and entering from the hotel, you found yourself wandering around the restaurant trying to attract someone's attention. I also found the shower (over the bath) somewhat hard work compared to the monsoon showers that Hotel du Vin (a competitor, I would say, of Old Bank) tend to have. I also thought that £261/night B&B was a touch on the steep side and it is this which makes me downgrade Old Bank from Excellent to simply Very Good. I think I would have overlooked the aforementioned niggles were it not for the price tag.

Old Bank is nevertheless a lovely place to stay and I would certainly stay there again if I were in Oxford since it is so pleasant, convenient and well-located.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SW19Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at Old Bank Hotel for two nights in May 2013. The location is perfect for exploring the campus of Oxford University and the surrounding area of canals, bookstores, restaurants, and shops. We stayed in Room 45, top floor, facing the High Street and the university and experienced no street noise whatsoever, although I was worried about it because of other reviews. Elegant furnishings, a knowledgeable and deferential staff, and enticing art on the walls, good food in the restaurant (although breakfast is not included). This hotel is expensive, but it delivers. The hotel even offers a complimentary 2-hour tour of the campus by an official guide, well-worth taking.

Room Tip: Despite warnings, High Street-facing rooms on a high floor are quiet, and the view of the campus is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptravelBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Property: Old Bank Hotel
Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing