We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed and well managed”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed one night before the May Bank Holiday weekend to visit the Ashmolean. Our superior room was well appointed with a comfortable large bed, coffee/tea facilities, and wifi.Their on-site parking is a bonus in Oxford and the hotel staff were organised and effective. We dined in the evening next door at the separately managed Quod which was disappointing with average food priced at a premium. Breakfast was served in Quod as part of our hotel package and it was chaotic with slow order taking and confused service. Better management of the apparently inexperienced staff would have been beneficial. We would recommend the hotel unreservedly. They deserve better catering arrangements

Room Tip: Our superior room was bright and sunny and on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thanks for your review

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry you felt the breakfast was not as smooth as the rest of your stay. Obviously breakfast is a very important part of the stay. I will certainly review our procedures.

Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Old Bank Hotel for two nights during a holiday in the area. When we first made our reservations, the hotel was sold out. After a few subsequent calls, the hotel informed us the handicapped room was available if we didn’t mind. Upon arrival, the staff was just wonderful. Unfortunately for us, late at night, a wedding party was having an after-party in the “Library” and all the exuberant guests had to walk past our room. The disturbance was too much for any possible sleep and the hotel staff went out of their way to ensure we had the opportunity to move to a beautiful available room where we could sleep. This couldn’t be our room for the entire stay due to other guest reservations but at least we got some rest that evening. The next day we were moved to a room that became available on the 2nd floor with a view of the church. We were delighted with this gorgeous and spacious room with an absolutely spectacular bath with large tub and separate shower. Breakfast each morning in the restaurant was so quick, delicious and well-served. The wait staff attentive and pleasant. We cannot state enough how wonderful the staff was during our stay and how beautiful this property is. We’ll definitely stay here again if visiting Oxford in the future. Kudos to the staff at the Old Bank Hotel!

Room Tip: Any room but the handicapped room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thanks very much for your review

I'm so glad the front office staff were able to sort out the issue with room 2. Being on the ground floor it is not the quietest room in the hotel and we try to inform guest of this fact at booking as we do understand that most guests would prefer not to be on the ground floor. I'm really glad you liked your second room.

See you soon i hope.

Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A pleasant surprise in the town centre. The accomadtion was comfortable and clean. My room, number 14, was large and pleasant. It overlooked the main street, but inspite of tha it was reasonably quiet. WiFi in the room was free.
There is a large modern dinning-room bar area, which has excellent and well prepared food (breakfast, lunch, tea, and dinner). The front office staff are polite and helpful, and the dinning staff are well trained, and efficient.
The hotel also organized a two hour walking tour of several of the university colleges. It was directed by a well informed and whitty guide. It is not to missed.
The only minor inconvenience was the parking area. It was difficult to find, located part way down a narrow medieval passage, and once found a maneuver worthy of a top rate ralley driver is required to get through the gate without destroying the car.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Oxford.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jock1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thanks so much

Great to hear you enjoyed.

The car park is a little tricky to get in to but once you are in there is plenty of room. It is also definitely worth planning your trip in to Oxford. The staff will be very happy to assist.

Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Not cheap, but stylish (with plenty of original artwork) comfortable, and excellently located in the heart of historic Oxford. Staff are attentive and friendly & the restaurant is good too. The only minuses are that there's no gym/pool & the car park's a bit hard to find !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 886RTWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thanks very much for your review

I'm afraid we don't have a gym or pool on site. However, we do offer entry to a local gym free of charge. You need only pick up a voucher from reception.

Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Lovely hotel and wouldn't hesitate to visit again
Most importantly a problem we had was dealt with by the manager who was clearly concerned there had been an issue with the quality of some of our food. He dealt with matters in an exemplary way and I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel or to visit again
Room rate includes parking which is great in Oxford also bicycles available to borrow.
The complimentary walking tour of Oxford the Hotel offers with Isabella was fantastic.
We stayed over May day which had no impact on our stay

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thanks so much

Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Old Bank for our Anniversary and to say the least the customer service could not have been better. From the moment we checked in we felt really special, nothing was too much trouble and all of the staff seemed very happy to be working there. The room was very clean, comfortable and had some really nice touches. It would be very difficult to find fault with this Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

In late February we decided to leave London for three days to explore Oxford. An hour by train from Paddington and a walkable town for all ages upon arrival. We found Oxford a fun mix of academic buzz and Harry Potter sets. Our younger ones found the city exciting and a fun place to play. We found it a nice place to remember having been students and to take in the built environment, open spaces and lovely music.

Old Bank was a great place to stay for us. Its location and scale were very nice for a young family. No site was too far to find and it was always easy to come back to our room for a rest. The building is new, quaint and quirky in a nice way. The staff is young and energetic.

We took a suite for the four of us. Our daughters had single beds to themselves.
The room was on the street side on about the third floor and we had no issue with road noise.
There were double windows which helped keep the room quiet and warm.

Our sense while we were there was that we were paying for convenience of location.
The pricing felt on the high side for the value but as our stay was short and we shared a suite we did not notice too much.

We opted not to take the breakfast option.
There are very many places in the immediate neighborhood for a cup of coffee and breakfast at a more reasonable price. We used going out for breakfast as a reason to start our exploring for the day.

On our first evening we opted to attend Evensong at Christchurch on the recommendation of a staffer. It was a lovely experience. The college and building are lovely to be in and the music of the boys choir was divine. Evensong lasted about 90 minutes. We were fading and ready for dinner at its close so we chose to eat at Quod at the hotel's street level. It was just what we needed. Simple, quick and family friendly (crayons, etc). We opted for salad and pizza, which fit the requirement well. The food was nice and the crowd was international; a mix of business and tourist.

The next afternoon we opted for the Old Bank free walking tour. We expected there was some risk our girls would tire of the excursion but it turned out to be a terrific success for them. Our tour guide was careful to balance grown up interests with Harry Potter details. As a result we all thought the tour was one of the highlights of our trip. Do bring some funds with you on the tour. The tour itself is free but some of the places visited have entrance fees (nothing significant but more than zero).

While I do not expect that we will return to Oxford soon we would stay at the Old Bank again if we did. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJexpatLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $274 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing