We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic position”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic position”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Lovely hotel and wouldn't hesitate to visit again
Most importantly a problem we had was dealt with by the manager who was clearly concerned there had been an issue with the quality of some of our food. He dealt with matters in an exemplary way and I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel or to visit again
Room rate includes parking which is great in Oxford also bicycles available to borrow.
The complimentary walking tour of Oxford the Hotel offers with Isabella was fantastic.
We stayed over May day which had no impact on our stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thanks so much

Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    303
    66
    19
    6
See reviews for
209
617
47
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woking
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Old Bank for our Anniversary and to say the least the customer service could not have been better. From the moment we checked in we felt really special, nothing was too much trouble and all of the staff seemed very happy to be working there. The room was very clean, comfortable and had some really nice touches. It would be very difficult to find fault with this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

In late February we decided to leave London for three days to explore Oxford. An hour by train from Paddington and a walkable town for all ages upon arrival. We found Oxford a fun mix of academic buzz and Harry Potter sets. Our younger ones found the city exciting and a fun place to play. We found it a nice place to remember having been students and to take in the built environment, open spaces and lovely music.

Old Bank was a great place to stay for us. Its location and scale were very nice for a young family. No site was too far to find and it was always easy to come back to our room for a rest. The building is new, quaint and quirky in a nice way. The staff is young and energetic.

We took a suite for the four of us. Our daughters had single beds to themselves.
The room was on the street side on about the third floor and we had no issue with road noise.
There were double windows which helped keep the room quiet and warm.

Our sense while we were there was that we were paying for convenience of location.
The pricing felt on the high side for the value but as our stay was short and we shared a suite we did not notice too much.

We opted not to take the breakfast option.
There are very many places in the immediate neighborhood for a cup of coffee and breakfast at a more reasonable price. We used going out for breakfast as a reason to start our exploring for the day.

On our first evening we opted to attend Evensong at Christchurch on the recommendation of a staffer. It was a lovely experience. The college and building are lovely to be in and the music of the boys choir was divine. Evensong lasted about 90 minutes. We were fading and ready for dinner at its close so we chose to eat at Quod at the hotel's street level. It was just what we needed. Simple, quick and family friendly (crayons, etc). We opted for salad and pizza, which fit the requirement well. The food was nice and the crowd was international; a mix of business and tourist.

The next afternoon we opted for the Old Bank free walking tour. We expected there was some risk our girls would tire of the excursion but it turned out to be a terrific success for them. Our tour guide was careful to balance grown up interests with Harry Potter details. As a result we all thought the tour was one of the highlights of our trip. Do bring some funds with you on the tour. The tour itself is free but some of the places visited have entrance fees (nothing significant but more than zero).

While I do not expect that we will return to Oxford soon we would stay at the Old Bank again if we did. Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJexpatLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Norfolk
Level Contributor
239 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a well run hotel, good informative, friendly staff. Colour schemes and art works help to transform this old building into a tasteful, boutique hotel. Car park at rear is a big plus. There is a bubbly sence of enthusiasm amoungst the staff which ensures a good welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at the Old Bank earlier in the year on a business trip and it was a pleasant experience. The staff were welcoming and attentive.

However, I and a colleague decided to return and we booked weeks in advance. Two days prior to our arrival the hotel sent an email advising of the historic May Day celebrations that would impact on our stay. This apparently involves revelling through the night, choral singing very early in the morning, thousands of people on and around the High Street and, at the Old Bank, a limited breakfast service. Whilst, I accept that the people of Oxford have every right to get all jolly about May Day, I was disappointed that the hotel did not feel it necessary to warn its guest at the time of booking to allow us to consider alternative arrangements.

To add insult to injury, when we informed the hotel that we preferred to seek a quieter hotel (see the irony in my Randolph hotel review) we were informed that we would have to pay for the first night because we didn't give them 48 hours notice of cancellation.

At the prices the Old Bank charges, I would expect better customer service. This was not a good experience and left me reflecting that my previous impression was, perhaps, somewhat superficial and this may be no more than an arrogant and complacent hotel.

I will not return (and they don't care).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TwitchyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thanks so much for your review

I'm so sorry you feel aggrieved. To be honest May Day does not tend to be overly disruptive to our guests so while we do warn our guests that it is happening we don't expect there to be much of an issue. Mainly we want to alert guests to an alternate route for arrival and departure early in the morning on the 1st. In your case it seems as though you received the warning later than i would have like and so I feel you have a good point. I'll refund the cancellation charge.

I do hope we see you again.

Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We recently booked a weekend break at this city hotel right in the heart of Oxford. We were impressed by the professionalism and courtesy shown by all the staff throughout our stay as well as the well equipped rooms and standard of décor.
We had included breakfast in our package and on both mornings, the food and service was excellent. However, we chose to eat in the restaurant the second night of our stay and the meal was not very good quality but was still on the expensive side. Having said that, we would stay here again without any hesitation and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for your review

Glad you enjoyed your stay on the whole. So sorry you were not impressed with our restaurant. Perhaps you can try Gee's or The Old Parsonage next time.

Looking forward to seeing you.

Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level Contributor
516 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Old Bank is an interesting building and the check in and welcome were good. However, the room I was allocated was overpriced (almost twice the price of the neighbouring Mercure). Nothing worked! There was no trouser press, no iron and board and the TV is at right angles to the bed. The tea making supplies aren't on a tray and are placed inconveniently in the bottom of a cupboard - underneath,of course, everything on sale!!! This hotel is great at 'up selling'. There are things for sale everywhere in the room but when one has paid for a room one wants simply to relax - not to feel as though you're sleeping in a shop with staff using high pressure sales techniques! The bed was uncomfortable and pillows too thin. Kitchen smells invaded the room.

I did complain and the staff brought me an iron and board - they were the cheapest of the cheap (Tesco branded) and of course the iron was full of dirty water that exploded all over my shirt. There is wifi but it has an overly complicated password system and drops out constantly.

The duty manager was charming and did apologise and reduce my bill but this hotel needs a radical overhaul. It needs to meet the needs of business customers. Until these changes take place I can't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your review

Sorry to hear we weren't your cup of tea. I shall certainly review all your comments and see where we can improve.

Thanks once again.

Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Property: Old Bank Hotel
Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing