We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing at check out”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing at check out”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall very good but when checking out the receptionist tried to charge an extra £100 for the fold-down bed that we had in the room. We had booked through trivago and when I booked I was told that I could be charged for extras - I thought that meant the minibar etc. The booking stated for 3 people in the room so I did not think I would then be charged extra for the third person. It was still an expensive stay so did not want to pay even more. Think the hotel need to stop using trivago or phone the clients themselves to make sure that they understand they will be charged extra and for how much.

The receptionist in the end did not charge us but it left a bitter taste.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princess090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your review.

I'm really sorry about the confusion. There is an additional charge for an extra bed. However, this should be clearly stated at the time of booking. We have been experiencing some problems with the online travel agents concerning this matter but hopefully it is now resolved. So sorry you left with a bitter taste; this is certainly not what i would want.

Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    300
    65
    19
    6
See reviews for
207
606
47
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Top rating for personnel , service and quality of rooms. The breakfast and food or somewhat disappointing but not bad .
Location is excellent in the high road and even the rooms at the street side are perfectly isolated.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Claude W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Lovely stay , All staff were great. Nothing to much trouble, nice room. Good food and wine, cocktails a bonus. A perfect chill-out break , will be booking again soon. Would recommend this hotel for that special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glendally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a city break, we had a very warm friendly welcome by a receptionist who coulnt have been more helpful. The room vary cosy and well thought out for its compact size, nice and quiet at the back of the hotel. Parking was included( pne of the only places in Oxford that offers parking) we didnt eat in The Quod, chosing to eat out, would have been nice if breakfast was included in the room rate as it was premium rate. All in all very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here for my birthday, having been recommended the hotel through a friend staying at the sister hotel (the Old Parsonage which is equally as sublime apparently). In addition, the Quod brassiere is a staple for breakfast when I stay with family in Oxford.

The hotel itself is fabulous- ren products, a beautiful surprise bottle of wine for my birthday and a handwritten birthday card in a spectacular room, but what sets this hotel apart from any other is the service. It is superb. The staff are not only welcoming, but will go out of their way before even asked to help, they all know/ remember your name and what you might like to do in the hotel and the city and even asked after my son and suggested a late check out so that he could come and have some time in the room/hotel the next day. They make you feel as if you are the only guest in the hotel that matters and do it in such a way that doesn't feel as if they're making a big deal out of it. I have stayed in many hotels around the world- big chain ones, boutique ones, and nowhere compares to here which is why I felt I had to write a review!

In addition, the bar staff are able to make you a cocktail of your choice, breakfast and dinner are fabulous (even the waiting staff knew that it was my birthday) and the service in every aspect of this hotel sets it apart.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the front of the hotel are beautiful and you wake up to a view that makes you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildchild24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here over the Easter weekend, and have to say this must be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in ( and without name dropping we have stayed in some leading ones around the world. )
The room was at the back overlooking the entrance to the reception, it was very quiet. Beautiful bedroom with a lovely soft bed and delghtful bathroom with a separate shower cubicle.
Cleanliness of the room and maintenance was top notch, with a turn down service if wished.
Original oil painting on the wall, others are hung throughout the hotel.
Staff were very helpful and polite.
We ate in the hotel dining room Quod on the first night, and although we had booked up three weeks prior we were shown a rather cramped table, the only sour note of our stay.
The breakfasts are excellent with everything cooked freshly to order.
The guest library had a coffee machine with jug of fresh milk.
Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a fantastic hotel with free parking in the centre of Oxford.
Also would recommend the hotel's free guided walking tour conducted by an enthusiastic lady who really knew Oxford.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, choose one that overlooks the entrance to reception, (we had 207 on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Borthwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

What a fun place!
Best location in Oxford! Great atmosphere! Good value!
We stayed in room 414 which had a nice view! We had fabulous cocktails at the bar. Breakfast is very good!
I will DEFINITELY stay in the Old Bank again if I'm in Oxford!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Property: Old Bank Hotel
Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing