We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place - loved it!”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

What a fun place!
Best location in Oxford! Great atmosphere! Good value!
We stayed in room 414 which had a nice view! We had fabulous cocktails at the bar. Breakfast is very good!
I will DEFINITELY stay in the Old Bank again if I'm in Oxford!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

Old Bank Hotel
We really enjoyed our stay at the Old Bank Hotel. The staff were welcoming from the moment we stepped in and were friendly, helpful and very courteous throughout our stay.

The Old Bank is located on Oxford’s high street and is thus central to almost everything and certainly very accessible by foot: Cornmarket, Broadstreet, High Street, St Aldates etc. The Oxford Tube has a stop just two minutes away from the hotel so the transit to and from London was very swift. The University offices are about a 15 to 20-minute walk away.

We were given a room on the top floor on the hotel. Straightaway, it reminded me of being a college student with a spacious yet cosy bed-sit. The Beige/Oak colours and the slanted ceilings added plenty of charm to our room. And from the semi-bay windows, we had exceptional views of St Mary’s Church, All Souls College and the Radcliffe Camera beyond, incredible!

The only disappointment was the shower which was a small pre-fab closet but other than that, a spacious bathroom.

Breakfast was in the hotel’s café which was bustling and not overly crowded. Food was good and service great.

This is a hotel I would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golftravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I have just enjoyed a two day break at the Old Bank Hotel in Oxford. The room was very comfortable, the bed, pillows and linen were divine, but Oxford at night can be a little noisy. I would recommend a room at the back of the hotel if you need your sleep. Oxford is a vibrant city and does not go to sleep early. The staff at the hotel were without exception very helpful. There is some great artwork to be admired as well, including in the bedrooms. We were really surprised that the hotel restaurant and bar were so busy at all times and had a real buzz. It was Oxford Literary Festival Week and so I'm sure that contributed to the numbers but it just seemed busier than other places. The food and service were excellent and we could not fault it. There is a car park for guests at the rear of the hotel which is really handy as the hotel is located in the High Street right in the middle of the town, with easy access on foot to all the colleges, museums and other attractions. The retail area is also easy to get to on foot.

It's not a cheap hotel to stay in but the quality of everything makes paying that bit extra worth while.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the hotel if you need your sleep as Oxford doesn't go to sleep earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely stay for four nights recently. The position of The Old Bank has to be one of the best in Oxford and staff were most friendly, obliging and efficient. Our spacious room overlooked High St, with views of St. Mary's and the corner of Radcliffe Camera. A beautiful room with high ceilings and very pleasantly furnished! Very well sound-proofed, too.The bed was really comfortable, as were the sofa and chairs.The only comment I would have is that this is really like a top-notch guest house, as the hotel public seating areas were in back of hotel [in a not really comfortable room], and you ate in the public restaurant and wine bar downstairs. This was sometimes extremely busy. They didn't take reservations, but we were seated rapidly most times. The breakfasts in the restaurant were excellent, but the evening menu a little limited. The room had tea, cofee etc, but in an awkward place, and we had to put the kettle on the floor to heat due to short lead. A minor complaint! We will definaitely return

Room Tip: Room 10 - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countrybumkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The room was quiet, spacious and well appointed. The staff of the desk were attentive, polite and helpful. A request for fresh milk for my morning tea was dealt with immediately. I would have liked a gin and tonic in the mini-bar and the bath could have been bigger, but otherwise a relaxing and comfortable one night stay. The hotel is expensive, but has an excellent location and service to match.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just spent 2 nights here with my wife. What a find and so central to oxford, it's the perfect location to explore this city.

We had a standard room looking over the high street. Very, very comfortable room, one of the best I've stayed in in the uk. Very comfortable bed and a great bathroom. The room had tea and coffee making facilities and the hotel will provide fresh milk on request- so much better than little cartons of uht. Also a big plus is the free wifi service which had the best download speeds Ii've experienced away from home.

We had breakfast both mornings of our stay and the selection and quality of the foods available was excellent and everything was very fresh.

Overall this is a vey nice, clean, comfortable and warm hotel; the artwork around the hotel is really interesting and quirky; liked it a lot.

I will definitely use the old bank hotel when I come to Oxford again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a wonderful overnight stay with breakfast the next morning .We also had dinner on the previous evening which again we thoroughly enjoyed in all a 1st class stay which I would recommend when in the Oxford area

Room Tip: we had a room at the front of the hotel on the main road and had no problem with even traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Joseph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
2.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
746 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $234 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing