We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Bank Hotel - Oxford gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Old Bank Hotel - Oxford gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

First time staying here, not for lack of wanting to in the past.
Everything excellent from the moment we arrived.
Nice room (No.21) - spacious, sofa, separate bath and shower, reasonably quiet being towards the back of the building. The bed was a bit soft for my liking, but still a good night's sleep.
Cooked breakfast good, albeit a slightly stingy portion. The breakfast "buffet" table was pretty poor compared to many hotels I've stayed at, with only a few items to choose from.
What made the stay memorable was the service. Genuine smiles and attention from all staff, all the time - be it front desk, breakfast or house-keeping.
Have previously stayed at Malmaison, which probably has better rooms for less money, but service there not as good.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the rear of the hotel - they're quieter. And I would probably avoid the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    292
    63
    19
    6
See reviews for
197
590
46
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Would really recommend this hotel, perfect location and really helpful staff- when we checked in they gave us loads of tips on what to see in Oxford. The hotel is nicely decorated, I enjoyed checking out the variety of modern art on every wall and in the room, all very individual and well selected, and the bar/brasserie Quod is good and very popular with locals. Would also recommend the residents library bar, a nice touch which made us feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Gathered with family for a wedding weekend in early January 2013. The hotel is well located and the staff seemed eager to please. The rooms were nicely appointed although very very small. (I have traveled extensively and know that European rooms tend to be smaller -- this room was exceptionally small) My room was also extremely hot. I was told by the front desk to turn on the air conditioner, but when it failed to cool down the room, I was advised that only option was to open the window, which was not satisfactory because it opened onto the street ... which seemed to have pedestrians, traffic, and revelers (not wedding related) late into the night --- tough to relax and even get a bit of sleep. I had to work to find a spot in the small room to dry my hair because I also had an iron plugged in and there was no outlet in the bathroom -- very inconvenient all the way around. Other reviewers have mentioned checking their bills for unwarranted breakfast charges -- and I too experienced that. However, when I checked out I pointed out this discrepancy and it was promptly removed. I'd also like to mention that reaching the hotel parking lot is a challenge - if you're driving, I recommend calling ahead and asking for explicit instructions from the motorway to the parking lot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greyrockgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fittleworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The staff are all delightful and nothing is too much ....even 4 in a room !
We had comfy beds ,lovely linen ,ren products and complimentary water
in tastefully decorated bedroom.
The breakfast is lovely with lots of options and delicious coffee.
Would return !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelina688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Yes it's a boutique property, but definitely now the best place to stay for Oxford city centre. The rooms are very well appointed with luxurious touches (such as the gourmet mini bar). Everything you would need for a relaxing or business stay (Internet included, free parking, room service, use of fitness club nearby, full service and hip bar/restaurant below). The location on High Street just can't be beat for access to local gems like the Covered Market, Radcliffe camera, the Bodleian, and colleges.

I stayed for business with my young family in tow, and the efficiency of staff is much appreciated with baby in hand. As it is a historic building, the lift is tiny and there are many mid-steps on the way to the rooms - so leave your push-chair in the car if you can do without.

Breakfast at Quod was good, waiting staff obliging to our baby needs and the food excellent as ever.

As a bonus there are many art pieces in the hotel - I recommend a wander!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - the rooms at the front can get noisy at night from student revelry
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PG_Cumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is number 1 of hotels In Oxford and I can see why. We have stayed in the hotel when visiting Oxford a couple of times. I find it difficult to fault. The rooms are tastefully decorated, the beds are beautifully comfortable and the service is second to none. I happened to mention that we were in Oxford for a couple of reasons, the receptionist made a note of this and left a card and gift in each of our bedrooms in recognition of this. I have never had that sort of service in any hotel in any country I have ever stayed in.

I honestly could not imagine staying anywhere else and I cant wait to go back !

Room Tip: All the rooms have a little taste of Oxford just outside the window. The back is peaceful, the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lily23007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a great hotel with helpful staff. The rooms are clean and modern in feel - if a little small but this is not a disadvantage. The restaurant is very lively as it opens onto the street and is popular with all the locals. If you have to go to Oxford for business then this is a great place to stay - central, fun and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finewine63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Property: Old Bank Hotel
Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing