We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service.”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Hotel is charming, wonderful location, great staff. My room was on first floor facing the street and it was still totally quiet. Great library. Nice restaurant. Well-appointed. Definitely will stay here again.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
Thank hwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

I was in Oxford for a conference and had a great time at the Old Bank. Central location was great for conferenced attendance and site seeing. Staff were very welcoming on arrival and quickly responded to any requests I made during my four night stay. I arrived well before check in and left well after check out but they kept track of my luggage so I didn't have to drag it around town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Booked on an offer for my husbands birthday as Oxford is his favourite city. Asked for a room with a view and got it. 2 glasses and a half bottle of a lovely red wine and a card too.
Very well placed to walk to the sights.
Bed was very comfortable, breakfast a real treat and all staff welcoming and friendly.
We liked it so much we stayed on the Saturday too.
Would definately stay again if in the City. The luxury of a 1.5hr breakfast not to be underestimated in these stressful times.
The little jute bag hanging on your door with your paper was a lovely touch.

Room Tip: Our room at front overlooking the University Church. Good view but some noise as on High St. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst our daughter was attending an Open Day at the University. A delight from start to finish. Excellent location, welcoming and friendly staff who seemed to take pleasure in making your stay as nice as possible and more than adequate room with nice touches e.g. light dimmer. We ate dinner in Quod on first night and breakfast both mornings. Breakfast was fine with continental buffet or hot food cooked to order. Dinner was excellent and cocktails not bad either! The last hotel we stayed in was Ritz Carlton, Central Park, New York - The Old Bank Hotel and its lovely staff outshone this with genuine and unpretentious hospitality.

Room Tip: We were on Third Floor which afforded us delightful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the great reviews and boy oh boy we're they right. Not only was the room excellent and spacious but the small extra touches were really appreciated from the hand made biscuits to the choice of still or sparkling water. The service was second to none, the best we've ever had,staff who not only arranged the best table in any restaurant we booked but also phoned ahead to let them know it was for my husbands' birthday. We can't wait to return and will be bringing family next time. Can't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmlb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The hotel is very well located if you are looking to explore Oxford, although finding the car park can be a little challenging. All the staff were very welcoming, with every staff member we encountered taking the time to say hello. The rooms were clean and well equipped.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrevsterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is the best (and the most expensive) place I've stayed in Oxford and it was well worth the money! Wonderful service (very informative and helpful staff), excellent room and a prime location for touring the city. Nothing negative to say about our stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindsayRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thanks so much for your lovely review

Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
726 reviews
2.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
736 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $260 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing