We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly dissatisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly dissatisfied”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here in December 2013, for one night. The room we were assigned was supposed to be for two people, it would not have been a comfortable single room. Bathroom was tiny, plumbing truly awful and space so cramped we had to take turns to pass each other in the room. Car park at the rear of the hotel was primarily occupied with a giant skip which had a conveniently placed sofa behind it, handy for the weary traveller. Will not be returning in the foreseeable future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for submitting your response on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future. I apologise for the contractors refurbishment skip which was in a temporary position during your stay.
We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    278
    183
    88
    46
See reviews for
112
254
53
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

While the hotel was undergoing renovations while I stayed here, I can see the potential. My room was lovely and spacious and spotless. Breakfast was delicious with all the trimmings! Staff friendly. Can't complain!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bronwen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for submitting your response on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful time in Oxford .
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Hotel was comfortable and staff pleasant and helpful. Except for Manager who was unconcerned when we said we would have appreciated notice of building work and lack of lift. He said it was on web sites such as Booking.com. But Best western site we looked at did not mention it. It will make us very wary of Best Wgestern in future.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren’t able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.

We have endeavored to complete our ongoing refurbishment programme with as little disruption as possible to our guests and I accept your observations on the lift situation for which corrective action will be taken. We have advised on our website of the refurbishment work being carried out but it is clearly a very fine line between advising potential clients or putting them off.

Once again my sincere apologies.

Yours sincerely,

Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Ok hotel, in a residential area of Oxford. Hotel is a 5-10 minute bus ride to the center of the city, with no amenities in the area. Beds are super firm, which pleased me and tortured my wife.

The breakfast buffet is 10 pounds, with a reasonable selection of hot foods, a coffee machine, and fruit.

As of January 2014 the hotel is under renovation, so have to come in the back alley service entrance.

Room was clean and nicely sized. Noise level in the morning was high, though - could hear our upstairs neighbors close to perfectly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for submitting your response on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful time in Oxford .
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Staff made the best of it, but it would be helpfull if they advised of the building works when you book. No bar available....If you like sitting in your watching telly its fine. Nowhere nearby to fill in for the lack of bar either.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for submitting your response on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
I am sorry that you were dissapointed in your stay. We have advised on all of our websites that refurbishemnt work is currently underway which will improve the facilities for all of our guests. We also do offer a full bar service as well as having our Bar and Lounge available.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
4.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#9 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#16 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel

Property: Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
Address: Linton Road, Oxford OX2 6UJ, England (Formerly Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Linton Lodge, previously 3 Edwardian houses still with some original features but fully converted, set in one and a half acres of gardens, in a quiet suburb yet just a mile from the city centre. Our brand new bright, airy and contemporary Restaurant, Lounge Bar and Reception have now been supplemented by our brand new Executive Bedrooms, many overlooking the Gardens, all adding to create a new vibrant look for the hotel. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon where you can see for yourself the changes that we have made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Linton Hotel Oxford
Oxford Best Western
Best Western Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing