We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2013 Carol Concert” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2013 Carol Concert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Once again I held an annual carol concert at this hotel and once again it proved the perfect choice. We were accommodated in the newly refurbished dining room which was just the right size for our function. The Chef put together a perfect traditional Christmas menu & considering there were 76 people to serve everyone had a hot & delicious Christmas dinner.
My heartfelt thanks to all the waiting, reception, kitchen & bar staff for making our visit so enjoyable & special thanks to the chef,Paul,for organising it all.
I will be booking again for 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Brian - Thank you for submitting your response on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am glad that your Carol Concert went well and I have passed on your very kind comments to all of the team here. By telling us what you liked about your visit and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope look forward to hosting your event in 2014.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    271
    181
    88
    46
See reviews for
109
252
53
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

If ever a hotel needed a make over, this is it. Everything is very dated. That said, the staff are friendly and my room was comfortable and clean with dead on black out curtains.

The standalone electric heater in the room was a bit odd. What really makes the place lose marks is the woeful breakfast. You're never going to get cooked to order grub at a Best Western but the dross on offer was particularly sub-standard I'm afraid.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Uncle_Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for submitting your response on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We are currently undergooing a major refurbishment at the moment, for completion in March 2014, to include a brand new Restaurant, Reception and Bar as well as 15 additional Bedrooms. I am dissapointed that you did not enjoy your breakfast and I will certainly look into the issues that you raise.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

My son and I were looking for accommodation close to Keble College, where he was attending for interviews, so we wouldn't need to drive or park during the morning rush hour. The location of this hotel was ideal. A 20 minute walk to Keble and a further 15 minutes into the City centre. For convenience, we had dinner in the hotel's restaurant where the menu was basic but the food good, if a little overpriced. Had we known that the Summertown area, some 10 minutes walk away, had a decent range of restaurants, we might have gone there instead. Breakfast, which was included in the price, was self service with a good selection of cold and hot food. The staff were all pleasant and helpful and the place was spotlessly clean. Our twin room had the largest single beds I have ever seen! We stayed for one night and paid £92, which I think was fair value, and I would certainly go there again.

Room Tip: Room 212 had two very large twin beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for submitting your response on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful time in Oxford .By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I've stayed here several times before and been disappointed, but the location is ideal for my purposes, so with a heavy heart I booked again. And was very pleasantly surprised ! The room, no.4 was spotless and clearly recently decorated. Staff were helpful and attentive, and it was good value at £82 for one inc. breakfast and there's even a car park.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for submitting your response on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful time in Oxford .By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire,UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at the Linton Lodge. The staff were very friendly but the room was quite small and the sound insulation was very poor. The room was clean and reasonable quality. The hotel is too hot. The radiator was off in our room all the time we were there but we had to open the window several times as it was so hot.

The hotel is a 30 min walk from the centre of Oxford but there is a frequent and good bus service from Banbury Rd.

We didn't have breakfast as we thought it was too expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50_s0methings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for submitting your response on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Enjoyed a 2 night stay here. Clean and comfortable room but very very warm. Breakfast was average and to me it seemed rather dear considering the price of the room.
The hotel is in a good location and an easy 20 min walk into the city with regular buses just around the corner.
The staff were friendly and welcoming and the onsite parking a huge bonus.

Room Tip: Our room at the front of the hotel was fine. No complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claire h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for submitting your response on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful time in Oxford .
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future and I have noted your comments regardiing the Breakfast.
We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Linton Lodge is a pleasant hotel is a good location (in a leafy residential area that is a walkable distance from Oxford's city center). The breakfast buffet was excellent. I was happy with every aspect of my stay, but what impressed me most was the alacrity and generosity with which the staff responded when I discovered after my return to the United States that I had left an item in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for submitting your response on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful time in Oxford .By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
4.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#20 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#17 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel

Property: Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
Address: 11-13 Linton Road, Oxford OX2 6UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge, previously 3 Edwardian houses still with some original features but fully converted, set in one and a half acres of gardens, in a quiet suburb yet just a mile from the city centre. Our brand new bright, airy and contemporary Restaurant, Lounge Bar and Reception have now been supplemented by our brand new Executive Bedrooms, many overlooking the Gardens, all adding to create a new vibrant look for the hotel. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon where you can see for yourself the changes that we have made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Linton Hotel Oxford
Oxford Best Western
Best Western Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing