We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night so that we could go to a friend's 50th birthday party nearby. We booked a twin room as neither my husband or I are very good at sharing the small doubles normally found in hotel rooms. We were very surprised by the size of the beds we had - enormous! Although they were a little too hard for us (this is a matter of personal taste), they were nicely made and the linen beautifully clean and fresh smelling. The room itself was well equipped and meticulously clean. It had very pleasant decor. My only comment about the room provision was that the complimentary toiletries were perhaps a little lacking. I hadnt bothered to bring my own as we were only staying one night, and it did say on the website that they were provided. Whilst the ones that were there were nice, there wasnt anything to wash my hair with as both bottles contained liquid soap. Also as the dispensers are fixed to the wall, it was a little irritating to have to keep on standing up to get some whilst in the bath!

As for breakfast the next morning, this was very chaotic. There is a very good selection of food available, but the hot food wasn't perhaps the best. The meat items e.g. Sausages and bacon were hard and dry suggesting that they had probably been hanging about in an oven a bit too long. Also, it was hard to find all the items as the dishes were mostly empty. Other guests had to ask for things to be replenished when really the staff present should have kept an eye on it to ensure that nothing was missing and that fresh food was put out. Even the new food that was put out still gave the impression that it had been lingering somewhere in the kitchen for a bit too long. However, there definitely was plenty to eat and we didn't leave the place starving!

As for the staff and service we received, it was tip top. The gentleman on reception was very friendly and helpful as we're the other members of staff we came across. There is also a lovely garden out the back of the hotel which would be very nice to sit in for a drink in the sunshine.

Overall this is a nice place to stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank eleanorknechtli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel; all of your comments have been passed onto the team here and we are discussing ways to restructure breakfast. Should you find that you need to stay with us again; we have a wide range of complimentary toiletries available from either reception or housekeeping.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 813 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

Although quite expensive and a rather quirky building, its easy to find, free to park and just 5 minute walk to an easy bus trip into the centre.The city boasts a lot in a small walkable area:the Ashmolean(with excellent cafe) and a good small Botanic garden by the river Cherwell. Staff very helpful. Food OK but nothing special.Pretty small garden out the back to sit when warm.
Ideally situated as well to visit Bicester with its excellent chic shopping outlet.

Room Tip: My room was up some windy stairs even if you used the lift so you needed to be able to carry your lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiggersuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your review; our location is one of the reasons guests stay with us time after time. I have passed on your comments to the staff here and look forward to perhaps welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Kind regards
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

stayed two nights with my wife on our way back from Wales to Belgium. Good hotel. A comfy room, very very clean and in a quiet part of the hotel - only think I made the wrong choice as we had a rather small double bed, but as there was a single bed in the room as well we solved it that way ! Friendly AND accurate staff who all spoke very decent English, a bit of an exception these days in Britain. Good breakfast buffet. The hotel is only a 15-minute walk from the city centre so we could leave our car in the (free) car park at the front door, a luxury in Oxford ! Do I have to mention something negative ?? Eh... the barman ran out of lemon - which is a sin with a gin and tonic !

Room Tip: room at the back = far away from any possible noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickKortrijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us; one reason people stay with us time after time is our close proximity to Oxford and our free car park.

We are glad your stay with us was positive and look forward to perhaps welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Kind regards,
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

fourth time in this lovely hotel and we will be back, great helpful staff and very clean and very easy to get into town which we did alot, 10/10 once again thank you, oh yes and a big thank you to richard

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for such a lovely review; it's great to see you coming back again and again. I have passed on your comments to all our staff here.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hotel was everything you would expect and staff all charming. Scrambled eggs made to order were the best I've had other than at home! Ample parking. 24 hour bar service available. We wanted to be near Cherwell Boathouse so this could not have been bettered. Advance booking gave very reasonable rate for B&B in Oxford in summer. We walked into town which was a pleasant half hour stroll along bike route and through parks. Would certainly use again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank optmaxLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. Our close proximity to the town is one of the reasons our guests continue to stay with us. I have passed on your comments to my team here and we are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Booked a single room and this was a queen sized bed. Very clean, all amenities you would expect. Very good and welcoming service. Close to central Oxford with good bus service in all directions. Breakfast extra but worth it. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thirty_nine39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. I have passed on your comments to my team here and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Very pleased we chose this hotel.
Good sized, clean room, like a premier inn, just what you need.

TV in room, fan (perfect as it was a hot night!) bath, double and single bed. Bed very comfortable. Ironing facilities I'm room. Ample tea and coffee and milk etc.
Very friendly reception staff and excellent cleaning staff (we were in room 225). Happily gave us more tea coffee once we'd ploughed through several cups. Nice chap!

Hotel is 20 mins pleasant walk to centre of town or buses run every 5 minutes and cost £3 for a return ticket.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zippythailand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you very much for such a positive review. I have passed on your comments to our team here.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Kind regards,
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
532 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,115 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
735 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
7.4 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel

Address: Linton Road, Oxford OX2 6UJ, England (Formerly Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: $105 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Linton Lodge Hotel, previously 3 Edwardian houses still with some original features but fully converted, set in one and a half acres of gardens, in a quiet suburb yet just a mile from the city centre. Our brand new bright, airy and contemporary Restaurant, Lounge Bar and Reception have now been supplemented by our brand new Executive Bedrooms, many overlooking the Gardens, all adding to create a new vibrant look for the hotel. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon where you can see for yourself the changes that we have made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Linton Hotel Oxford
Oxford Best Western
Best Western Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing