We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in reasonable, clean and welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Booked a single room and this was a queen sized bed. Very clean, all amenities you would expect. Very good and welcoming service. Close to central Oxford with good bus service in all directions. Breakfast extra but worth it. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thirty_nine39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. I have passed on your comments to my team here and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 813 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Very pleased we chose this hotel.
Good sized, clean room, like a premier inn, just what you need.

TV in room, fan (perfect as it was a hot night!) bath, double and single bed. Bed very comfortable. Ironing facilities I'm room. Ample tea and coffee and milk etc.
Very friendly reception staff and excellent cleaning staff (we were in room 225). Happily gave us more tea coffee once we'd ploughed through several cups. Nice chap!

Hotel is 20 mins pleasant walk to centre of town or buses run every 5 minutes and cost £3 for a return ticket.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zippythailand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you very much for such a positive review. I have passed on your comments to our team here.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Kind regards,
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here with work in May of this year, Its a nice cosy little hotel which is a nice, pleasant 20 minute stroll away from the city/universities.
Breakfast was a standard affair however the food in the evening was delicious and well presented.
The bar area was a nice place to chill out my only criticism is that at the time I stayed draught beer was unavailable.
Room was clean and staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarfieldArmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am really pleased you had a good time. With regard to the draught beer this will be available within the next couple of months.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel; we look forward to perhaps welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed there for two nights. I have to say that, apart from our room, I did not like the rest of the hotel.

Starting with the good, our room was clean, spacious, had avery nice and big TV, view to the garden, and in general it was fine. He slept very well.

Apart from that though, the rest of the hotel was quite old, the elevator really old, small and "weird", the reception dull and old-fashioned. We were not impressed by the breakfast, I would say that even the large variety of things, the quality was poor at some of them.

In general I would propose that the hotel had the common areas renovated, and then it would be a really nice place to stay. If you would take somebody blindfolded to the room, then he would be very pleased! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midiangr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you very much for your review, all of your comments have been taken onboard and passed onto the relevant departments - the hotel is under going a refurbishment in the next 18 months and your comments will be taken into account.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review the hotel
Kind Regards
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

A standard 3 star hotel in a lovely quiet location. The rooms were a bit small but very clean and bathroom was very good. It was very useful to have an iron and a fan already in the room. Normally you have to request these. Breakfast was definitely the best part. Excellent ingredients and huge selection. The sausages were particularly good. The rooms were meticulously cleaned each day and the restaurant, bar and cleaning staff were friendly unlike some at reception!

Only downside was that some of the reception staff are pretty cold and unhelpful. I arrived around half an hour before check in time and no one attempted to check if the room was ready, I was simply told to leave my bags and come back later. I felt that I was bothering certain reception staff so a few more smiles and warmth would be nice from a couple of them (not all)!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you very much for your review about Linton Lodge Hotel Oxford. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments on our bedrooms and breakfast.

Your experience at reception has been noted and is being looked into

Once again thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Booked to stay here and was given a minute single room that you could not close the door without trapping the bed spread in the door. The room was £75 a night but for the same price other people I was staying with had much larger rooms with double beds and baths. The room was directly over the kitchens which had extractors next to the window, so if you opened the window you got a lovely aroma of grease.
Bathroom was clean, shower only "please put used towels in the bath if you want them changed" was not exactly sure where to leave them.
Room 117 is the room to avoid.
I would have expected this room to be much cheaper than others.

Room Tip: Not room 117
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V1go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you very much for your review, sorry that you didn’t find everything up to your expectations during your stay. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments and are being looked into.

Once again thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at 11 am on 22 Jun 12. We had requested an early occupancy of a second floor room. The reception was in a word "frosty" and we were informed that our room was not ready. We were offered a room on the first floor which would indicate that no arrangements are in place to service rooms earmarked for early occupancy as a priority. Both receptionits (namely "Karen" and "Christina") were totally disinterested in our predicament and were unable to forecast when our room would be ready. In fact we had to wait one and a half hours before being informed that it had been serviced.

The final straw occurred when payment was requested in advance for our two night stay. We were informed that it was "hotel policy". We were not even allowed to inspect our room for suitability before being charged. This was a first for us having stayed in hotels worldwide. If this "policy" was explained when booking accommodation we feel it would drastically impact on the hotel"s business!

Despite information to the contrary the Free WiFi did not work in our room. To obtain internet connection we had to resort to a dongel which incurred an unecessary additional expenditure of £10.

Our visit to Oxford was to attend a relative's wedding. Had we been there for any other reason we would not have stayed at this hotel.

To many American tourists visiting Oxford the standards encountered would vindicate their belief that faulty Towers was a documentary.

The only good oint of the hotel was the young man who helped us with our luggage. He was helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Go for a second floor room - all the floors squeek!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your email, I am glad that your enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Keith Walford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
532 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,115 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
735 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
7.4 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel

Address: Linton Road, Oxford OX2 6UJ, England (Formerly Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: $104 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Linton Lodge Hotel, previously 3 Edwardian houses still with some original features but fully converted, set in one and a half acres of gardens, in a quiet suburb yet just a mile from the city centre. Our brand new bright, airy and contemporary Restaurant, Lounge Bar and Reception have now been supplemented by our brand new Executive Bedrooms, many overlooking the Gardens, all adding to create a new vibrant look for the hotel. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon where you can see for yourself the changes that we have made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Linton Hotel Oxford
Oxford Best Western
Best Western Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing