We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum”
Review of The Rose

The Rose
Ranked #208 of 628 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Rose is a small restaurant and tea room in High Street in Oxford, which serves First class, fresh prepared organic food.From our breakfast,lunch to our afternoon teas, we take great care in choosing the best ingredients available and preparing our food from scratch. We as The Rose Team try to give 100% to our customer form chefs preparing the food from scratch,and the team at front door so we can give you the best relaxing time and enjoying experience. Thank you The Rose Team :)
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

The full cooked breakfast was lovely, being organic everything tasted great and served piping hot and quickly. Nice to have a drink and toast n jam included in the price too, made it good value for a great breakfast. Wish we'd gone here sooner" of the three places we had breakfast this was by far the best

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    58
    29
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Tiny little eatery to retreat to for cream tea.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This tiny little tea room in Oxford is a lovely place to retreat to for cream tea in the afternoons, and it serves delicious cakes and sandwiches as well as a zillion different teas. It's very bijou and rather charming, and well worth popping in to if you are in the area and want a teacake and a latte.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daenelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome soups!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Lovely little place tucked away on high street. Highly recommend the soups here. The service is pretty good as well.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sulzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
“No record of our booking for mothers day”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had made a booking for 3 adults and a toddler for afternoon tea for a mother's day surprise over the phone 3 weeks prior to the date. I had even called a second time to change the time and request a high chair - I was told we were booked in except they didn't have any high chairs, to which I replied it didn't matter as she could sit with one of us.

Upon arriving at the Rose cafe, with our mum unaware of the surprise, we were met by the manager who told me there was no record of my booking, I explained I had called twice and the booking was confirmed both times - I'm even sure it was the manager who took the booking.

He was extremely unhelpful and pointed out that the cafe was fully booked (hence why I had taken the initiaitive to call 3 weeks in advance to ensure a table on mothers day) he offered us the chance to wait for a table but said it was unlikely we would be seated.

Unfortunately, there was no afternoon tea surprise for our mum as we had to leave and the majority of places in Oxford were unsurprisingly booked up.

The Rose cafe just offered a very weak aplology, which wasn't good enough for spoiling a surprise we had been looking forward to.

We will not return and don't rate their customer service at all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RozelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent leisurely brunch”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A group of four of us visited The Rose for the first time last Sunday for brunch. I had the light organic breakfast with breakfast tea, toast and jam, which was absolutely sensational, and my fiancé had the buttermilk pancakes with blueberry syrup. Also a hit, and such a generous portion.
We sat there four four hours with our friends and ended up having cake later on - also delicious.
A great find and we will definitely be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose also viewed

 

Been to The Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing