We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building, good service, comfy beds and the wonderful, wonderful Gee's.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Parsonage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Beautiful wisteria covered building with a gorgeous terrace for al fresco dining. Nice details and a comfortable room with a deliciously comfortable bed. The room was a little smaller than we expected, but it was very nicely done out and comparatively the bathroom was a good size with everything we needed. To be honest Oxford offers so much to see and do we did not spend much time in the room so the size of the room did not really matter.
We took advantage of the dinner bed and breakfast package which perhaps should be made clear offers only £50 per night towards meals which with wine come in around £100 for two so is perhaps not as good a deal as it would initially appear. It does include a delicious and plentiful breakfast however and compared to other similar hotels in the area who charge for parking and breakfast did work out to be quite good value.
We would highly recommend the sister restaurant Gee's where you can choose to eat as part of the DBB deal. We loved it and it made a very special day even more perfect with fantastic service and food in a perfect venue (an old Victorian conservatory) We preferred the food and service at Gees to that we received at the hotel, it was just extra special there, but the maitre d' at the hotel was very good as well.
There were a few llittle niggles along the way, the meeting room is between the reception and the stairs to some of the rooms so if it is use you have to go outside to get to your room from the reception/restaurant area and the waiting staff in the evening were a little thin on the ground, but overall we had a wonderful time and we would definitely go back as long as we can eat at Gee's again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicknt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 721 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2010

We found this hotel to be completely charming and perfectly located for our easy walk to Wycliffe Hall up the road for a one week "summer school" experience and our walk into town for shopping and food. The room was beautiful and spacious compared to our little box in London. The bedding was exquisite -- we slept beautifully. The bathroom was very modern and inviting. Breakfast was a treat each morning. We were lucky to have six days of warm sunshine -- not a common experience in Oxford -- so we enjoyed the lovely patio for dining and wine at night (when it was still light at at 10 p.m.). There is also a special "back patio" to which we invited some friends for wine and cheese before walking to a local restaurant for dinner. (The only downside is the next-door church conducted a bell rehearsal that evening during the midst of our conversation -- but that created a story to bring home!) The staff was helpful insofar as ordering taxis or providing directions. I found this to be just a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would return again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

The Old Parsonage is a small and very classy hotel ideally situated for the quirky and bohemian Jericho district as well as the city centre, universities and museums which are all found with a 10 -15 minute walk. The hotel dates back to the 17th centrury and has a wonderfully old reception area and bar, and a small and elegant restaurant (think dining club ambience) . The rooms although not large are plenty big enough for a weekend and are furnished in keeping with understated style,with high quality beds, linen and toiletries that you would expect. The hotel also has a small library area off the reception / bar where you can read an eclectic range of books - and take books away to your room if required (on a trust basis). The hotel had live jazz (of thelaid back kind) on the Friday of the weekend we were there, which fitted in perfectly with the general ambience of old world elegance. And additional bonus was the free walking tour on the Saturday which we took up and was very enjoyable and informative, with the agenda tailored to what guests wanted. We were only there for 2 nights so didn't eat in the hotel as there were other restaurants and bars in Jericho we wanted to explore, but the menu looked very good, a little pricey but reflecting local demand and presumably quality. Service was efficient and understated. if I had one complaint (apart from the slightly small rooms and that would go with the teritory of an old building) it would be that some noise from the floor above us was noticeable on the first night - doors slamming etc (possibly someone checking out early to get to an airport). but the sound did seem to carry - no problems 2nd night though.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike196288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Room lovely, hotel lovely, staff lovely. Staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly, they booked a table for us at their sister restuarant and when I mentioned it was my partners birthday we were greeted with champagne and a birthday card from the hotel staff in the room!! Perfect location and worth every penny!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddleDuck81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Upfront I have to admit that my review is almost a year out-of-date, but I sincerely doubt that the place has changed (and hope not!).This is a truly charming hotel. It's in a very old building, in an excellent location. It's all big-beds and log-fires and wooden-beamed-ceilings. My wife booked this for my birthday, and it really didn't disappoint. The staff were exceedingly helpful- especially when helping to locate a lost makeup-bag (c'mon ladies- we all know how important *that* can be!) and nothing seemed like too much bother for them. I have to warn that the parking is exceedingly limited, but -hey- that's Oxford! Rather brilliantly, the hotel is in some way associated with "Gee's" restaurant (which is just up to road), so you can add the food to your hotel-tab ... all very convenient. And I have to mention that Gee's is about the finest eatery you will find in Oxford, or for a good many miles in any direction (for my money giving Raymond Blanc's "Manoir" a *damned* good run-for-its-money). No, really- Gee's is utterly brilliant and you really ought to book if you're staying at the Parsonage (I feel justified mentioning Gee's in this review, due to its association with the hotel). Also, the University parks are just a couple of miuntes' walk away, and these are just beautiful in the summer. We visited in August, and an early-morning wander around the parks was truly uplifiting. We absolutely loved our stay ... and we only live a few miles down the road! The only reason I'm giving it 4/5 instead of 5/5 is that it's quite pricey. On balance, though, I'd reccommend it to anybody ... just don't forget to: eat at Gee's, walk in the parks, and wander around the wonderful local bars and restaurants! YES!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thingumy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Stayed at the hotel for the weekend with family (11 in group). The hotel is beautiful, the service is fantastic and the staff are just so pleasant and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. The food was excellent and the hotel gave us private dining room and the service by the waitress was excellent. The rooms are lovely, well laid out and very, very comfortable beds. Everything about the Old Parsonage is great and the staff should be congratulated. I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I booked this visit only two weeks in advance, after a miscommunication with my other accomodations. Little did I know, this was going to turn out to be the BEST first visit to Oxford.

Deniz, the General Manager, was extremely helpful. I needed four rooms and a meeting room for three nights and we were in luck. Our meeting room was a lovely private room, adjacent to the charming lobby, which had a fire burning the whole time we were there. We had our morning and afternoon tea, and lunches each day in the meeting room. It was the perfect setting for a planning meeting. The staff accomodating your every need.

My room was spacious, again old world charm, with all the modern ammenities. Including a towel warmer in the bathroom. My clients also raved about the size and quality of their rooms. One even requested non-down filled pillows and had them minutes later.

The restaurant was fantastic! All of our meals were absolutely delicious. I would return to the Old Parsonage for business or pleasure. I've also recommended it to several colleagues. Enjoy! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AcqEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
715 reviews
1.8 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
3.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Parsonage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Parsonage Hotel

Address: 1 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#3 Family Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $274 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Parsonage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked as the best hotel in Oxford, the 17th century Old Parsonage is situated in the heart of this historic city at the end of the beautiful boulevard St Giles. The recently completed restoration combines the original charm and character of the building with the very latest comfort, amenity and technology available today. The Old Parsonage restaurant and bar, famous for its intimate, bohemian, clubby atmosphere, serves classic British food with a modern, light touch. Open every day of the year, breakfast, lunch, dinner and our famous afternoon teas can be enjoyed in the company of Oxford's academic and literary elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Parsonage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Parsonage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing