We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Parsonage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Absolutely perfect stay”
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Room lovely, hotel lovely, staff lovely. Staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly, they booked a table for us at their sister restuarant and when I mentioned it was my partners birthday we were greeted with champagne and a birthday card from the hotel staff in the room!! Perfect location and worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddleDuck81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    183
    53
    23
    10
See reviews for
137
318
38
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Upfront I have to admit that my review is almost a year out-of-date, but I sincerely doubt that the place has changed (and hope not!).This is a truly charming hotel. It's in a very old building, in an excellent location. It's all big-beds and log-fires and wooden-beamed-ceilings. My wife booked this for my birthday, and it really didn't disappoint. The staff were exceedingly helpful- especially when helping to locate a lost makeup-bag (c'mon ladies- we all know how important *that* can be!) and nothing seemed like too much bother for them. I have to warn that the parking is exceedingly limited, but -hey- that's Oxford! Rather brilliantly, the hotel is in some way associated with "Gee's" restaurant (which is just up to road), so you can add the food to your hotel-tab ... all very convenient. And I have to mention that Gee's is about the finest eatery you will find in Oxford, or for a good many miles in any direction (for my money giving Raymond Blanc's "Manoir" a *damned* good run-for-its-money). No, really- Gee's is utterly brilliant and you really ought to book if you're staying at the Parsonage (I feel justified mentioning Gee's in this review, due to its association with the hotel). Also, the University parks are just a couple of miuntes' walk away, and these are just beautiful in the summer. We visited in August, and an early-morning wander around the parks was truly uplifiting. We absolutely loved our stay ... and we only live a few miles down the road! The only reason I'm giving it 4/5 instead of 5/5 is that it's quite pricey. On balance, though, I'd reccommend it to anybody ... just don't forget to: eat at Gee's, walk in the parks, and wander around the wonderful local bars and restaurants! YES!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thingumy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Stayed at the hotel for the weekend with family (11 in group). The hotel is beautiful, the service is fantastic and the staff are just so pleasant and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. The food was excellent and the hotel gave us private dining room and the service by the waitress was excellent. The rooms are lovely, well laid out and very, very comfortable beds. Everything about the Old Parsonage is great and the staff should be congratulated. I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I booked this visit only two weeks in advance, after a miscommunication with my other accomodations. Little did I know, this was going to turn out to be the BEST first visit to Oxford.

Deniz, the General Manager, was extremely helpful. I needed four rooms and a meeting room for three nights and we were in luck. Our meeting room was a lovely private room, adjacent to the charming lobby, which had a fire burning the whole time we were there. We had our morning and afternoon tea, and lunches each day in the meeting room. It was the perfect setting for a planning meeting. The staff accomodating your every need.

My room was spacious, again old world charm, with all the modern ammenities. Including a towel warmer in the bathroom. My clients also raved about the size and quality of their rooms. One even requested non-down filled pillows and had them minutes later.

The restaurant was fantastic! All of our meals were absolutely delicious. I would return to the Old Parsonage for business or pleasure. I've also recommended it to several colleagues. Enjoy! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AcqEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
196 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

I usually stay at the Old Bank, which is under the same management, but it was full. The Old Parsonage is the cosier, less trendy version, although every bit as comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were both very good. The bed is excellent, with very nice pillows and linens. It was the best part of the room, which is as it should be.

I was disappointed with the bedside lamps, which were not adequate for reading. A bit surprising, considering this hotel is in Oxford and I stayed there during the literary festival.

Very well situated for the Ashmolean, and not a bad walk from the train station.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon england
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We have stayed at The Old Parsonage five or six times whilst visiting our daughter who is at the university. I always look forward to my stay as I know I am going to be spoilt, it's a real treat. The rooms are really comfortable with lovely beds, soft pillows, well designed bathrooms with fluffy towels and good quality soaps and shampoos. Speciality tea and coffee and home made shortbread are provided in your room and the mini fridge is well stocked. The restaurant is excellent and we have had some very special meals during our stays. Afternoon tea is a delight and in the summer months you can eat on the lovely terrace at the front of the hotel or inside by the roaring log fire when the weather is colder. I shall be very sad when my daughter leaves Oxford but I'm sure I shall find an excuse to visit one of my favourite hotels.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Perfect location just a few minutes walk to the city centre and it’s attractions. The building itself is beautiful retaining lots of charming features, though I was disappointed to find there was just a small cramped public area inside with fairly limited seating, so we ended up having Afternoon Tea to get a seat! Though comfortable and well appointed our room was on the small side and also appeared to be in a ‘newer’ annex so lacked any historical or quirky features unlike the main parts of the hotel. It clearly pays to opt for one of the more expensive rooms or suites if this is what you are expecting. In comparison with other luxury hotels I have stayed, I found it overpriced and disappointing. Although I was satisfied with the service, and liked the restaurant, I will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldParsonage, Reception Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2010
Dear nic068,

Thank you very much for the review of your stay.

As you say in your review the Old Parsonage is really in a perfect location, just minutes walk from the city centre. We offer house bicycles to explore the city and a complimentary walking tour with our resident art historian Isabella Underhill. Due to the nature of the building, our standard rooms are not large, and the lobby, restaurant and bar although luxurious is not on the corporate scale. We strive for warm, friendly service, consistently excellent food and lots of extra touches as mentioned above. We hope this somewhat compensate for the size of the hotel, I’m sorry that you did not feel this or have the opportunity to experience all the extra touches that the Old Parsonage Hotel offers. Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that you will not return.

Regards,

Rhona Cheung
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
3.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.7 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Parsonage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Parsonage Hotel

Property: Old Parsonage Hotel
Address: 1 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#3 Family Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Parsonage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked as the best hotel in Oxford, the 17th century Old Parsonage is situated in the heart of this historic city at the end of the beautiful boulevard St Giles. The recently completed restoration combines the original charm and character of the building with the very latest comfort, amenity and technology available today. The Old Parsonage restaurant and bar, famous for its intimate, bohemian, clubby atmosphere, serves classic British food with a modern, light touch. Open every day of the year, breakfast, lunch, dinner and our famous afternoon teas can be enjoyed in the company of Oxford's academic and literary elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Parsonage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Parsonage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing