We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Old Parsonage in Oxford”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Parsonage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Old Parsonage in Oxford”
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Stayed at the hotel for the weekend with family (11 in group). The hotel is beautiful, the service is fantastic and the staff are just so pleasant and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. The food was excellent and the hotel gave us private dining room and the service by the waitress was excellent. The rooms are lovely, well laid out and very, very comfortable beds. Everything about the Old Parsonage is great and the staff should be congratulated. I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    188
    53
    23
    10
See reviews for
143
327
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I booked this visit only two weeks in advance, after a miscommunication with my other accomodations. Little did I know, this was going to turn out to be the BEST first visit to Oxford.

Deniz, the General Manager, was extremely helpful. I needed four rooms and a meeting room for three nights and we were in luck. Our meeting room was a lovely private room, adjacent to the charming lobby, which had a fire burning the whole time we were there. We had our morning and afternoon tea, and lunches each day in the meeting room. It was the perfect setting for a planning meeting. The staff accomodating your every need.

My room was spacious, again old world charm, with all the modern ammenities. Including a towel warmer in the bathroom. My clients also raved about the size and quality of their rooms. One even requested non-down filled pillows and had them minutes later.

The restaurant was fantastic! All of our meals were absolutely delicious. I would return to the Old Parsonage for business or pleasure. I've also recommended it to several colleagues. Enjoy! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AcqEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

I usually stay at the Old Bank, which is under the same management, but it was full. The Old Parsonage is the cosier, less trendy version, although every bit as comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were both very good. The bed is excellent, with very nice pillows and linens. It was the best part of the room, which is as it should be.

I was disappointed with the bedside lamps, which were not adequate for reading. A bit surprising, considering this hotel is in Oxford and I stayed there during the literary festival.

Very well situated for the Ashmolean, and not a bad walk from the train station.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon england
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We have stayed at The Old Parsonage five or six times whilst visiting our daughter who is at the university. I always look forward to my stay as I know I am going to be spoilt, it's a real treat. The rooms are really comfortable with lovely beds, soft pillows, well designed bathrooms with fluffy towels and good quality soaps and shampoos. Speciality tea and coffee and home made shortbread are provided in your room and the mini fridge is well stocked. The restaurant is excellent and we have had some very special meals during our stays. Afternoon tea is a delight and in the summer months you can eat on the lovely terrace at the front of the hotel or inside by the roaring log fire when the weather is colder. I shall be very sad when my daughter leaves Oxford but I'm sure I shall find an excuse to visit one of my favourite hotels.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Perfect location just a few minutes walk to the city centre and it’s attractions. The building itself is beautiful retaining lots of charming features, though I was disappointed to find there was just a small cramped public area inside with fairly limited seating, so we ended up having Afternoon Tea to get a seat! Though comfortable and well appointed our room was on the small side and also appeared to be in a ‘newer’ annex so lacked any historical or quirky features unlike the main parts of the hotel. It clearly pays to opt for one of the more expensive rooms or suites if this is what you are expecting. In comparison with other luxury hotels I have stayed, I found it overpriced and disappointing. Although I was satisfied with the service, and liked the restaurant, I will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldParsonage, Reception Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2010
Dear nic068,

Thank you very much for the review of your stay.

As you say in your review the Old Parsonage is really in a perfect location, just minutes walk from the city centre. We offer house bicycles to explore the city and a complimentary walking tour with our resident art historian Isabella Underhill. Due to the nature of the building, our standard rooms are not large, and the lobby, restaurant and bar although luxurious is not on the corporate scale. We strive for warm, friendly service, consistently excellent food and lots of extra touches as mentioned above. We hope this somewhat compensate for the size of the hotel, I’m sorry that you did not feel this or have the opportunity to experience all the extra touches that the Old Parsonage Hotel offers. Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that you will not return.

Regards,

Rhona Cheung
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed for one night whilst visiting our daughter at Keble College which is just over the road.
It was very welcoming and the bar/restaurant very well appointed, comfortable and the breakfast of high standard, but not too cheap at £14 each(we paid it as an extra on our deal)
The price we paid allowed us to dine at neaby Gee's restaurant (£50 towards dinner)which is in the same ownership and that was an excellent evening good food, and drink, nice music and cheery, attentive waiters.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPDEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2010

My partner and I had a fantastic stay in this hotel which is ideally located for shops, bars e.t.c. We had a very warm welcome (service was impeccable throughout our stay) the log fire, lovely paintings and comfortable seating make for a really cozy atmosphere in the restaurant and bar area. While our bedroom was a little on the small size the beds are AMAZING.... really comfortable. You do pay for quality here but it's worth every penny. A real gem!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
679 reviews
3.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.8 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Parsonage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Parsonage Hotel

Property: Old Parsonage Hotel
Address: 1 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#3 Family Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Parsonage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked as the best hotel in Oxford, the 17th century Old Parsonage is situated in the heart of this historic city at the end of the beautiful boulevard St Giles. The recently completed restoration combines the original charm and character of the building with the very latest comfort, amenity and technology available today. The Old Parsonage restaurant and bar, famous for its intimate, bohemian, clubby atmosphere, serves classic British food with a modern, light touch. Open every day of the year, breakfast, lunch, dinner and our famous afternoon teas can be enjoyed in the company of Oxford's academic and literary elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Parsonage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Parsonage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing